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Notices of Rulemaking and Proposed Rules

NEW MEXICO AGING AND
LONG-TERM SERVICES
DEPARTMENT

NOTICE OF PUBLIC RULEMAKING
HEARING

The New Mexico Aging and Long-Term
Services Department hereby gives notice
that a public hearing will be held on
Tuesday, June 15, 2004 at 9:00 a.m. in
Hearing Room # 1 at the department’s
offices, 2550 Cerrillos Road, Santa Fe,
N.M.

The purpose of the hearing will be to
receive comments on a proposed new rule
relating to patient care monitoring (i.e.,
“granny cams”) in long-term care facilities:
9.2.23 NMAC - Patient Care Monitoring
Act Regulations.

Any person requesting a copy of the pro-
posed rule or wishing to testify at the hear-
ing should contact Andrea Allen by mail at
1410 San Pedro NE, Albuquerque, NM
87110, by toll-free telephone at 1-866-842-

9230, or by e-mail at
Andrea.Allen@state.nm.us. Any person

wishing to submit written or e-mail com-
ments may do so by submitting them to Ms.
Allen on or before the date of the hearing.
No written or e-mail comments will be
accepted after 5:00 p.m. on the date of the
hearing.

Persons requiring special accommodations
at the hearing are asked to contact Ms. Allen
by June 1, 2004 so that arrangements can be
made.

ALBUQUERQUE /
BERNALILLO COUNTY
AIR QUALITY CONTROL
BOARD

ALBUQUERQUE/BERNALILLO
COUNTY AIR QUALITY CONTROL
BOARD
NOTICE OF HEARING AND
REGULAR MEETING

On June 9, 2004, at 5:15 PM, the
Albuquerque/Bernalillo County Air Quality
Control Board (Board) will hold a com-
bined public hearing in the basement level
Council/Commission Chambers of the
Albuquerque/Bernalillo County
Government Center, 400 Marquette Avenue
NW, Albuquerque, NM. The hearing will
address:

* Proposal to amend 20.11.100

NMAC, Motor Vehicle Inspection-
Decentralized, (Part 100) and incorporate
the complete and amended 20.11.100
NMAC into the SIP.

* Proposal to amend 20.11.102
NMAC, Oxyfuels, (Part 102) and incorpo-
rate the complete and amended 20.11.102
NMAC into the SIP.

* Request for Board approval of the

State Implementation Plan (SIP) Revision:

Limited Maintenance Plan for Carbon
Monoxide (CO): Albuquerque/Bernalillo
County, New Mexico. The Clean Air Act
requires that, 8 years after redesignation to
attainment status, areas shall submit a main-
tenance plan revision for the second half of
the 20-year maintenance plan commitment.
Bernalillo County was redesignated to
attainment status for CO on June 13, 1996.
This revision covers the second planning
period of 2006-2016.

* Proposal to incorporate the State

Implementation Plan (SIP) Revision:

Limited Maintenance Plan for CO:
Albuquerque/Bernalillo  County, New
Mexico, into the New Mexico State
Implementation Plan (SIP) for air quality.

The purpose of the Part 100 phase of the
combined hearing is to receive testimony on
proposed changes to 20.11.100 NMAC,
Motor Vehicle Inspection-Decentralized,
and to receive testimony on placing amend-
ed Part 100 into the SIP. The Part 100 pro-
posed regulatory change would remove the
current contingency measure that requires
annual vehicle testing if an EPA-confirmed
violation (two exceedances) of the federal
ambient carbon monoxide standards occurs
within Bernalillo County. The changes are
proposed to be effective on the later of June
13, 2006 or when the SIP revision becomes
effective.

The purpose of the Part 102 phase of the
combined hearing is to receive testimony on
proposed changes to 20.11.102 NMAC,
Oxyfuels, and to receive testimony on plac-
ing amended Part 102 into the SIP. The pro-
posed regulatory change would establish a
contingency measure that requires the oxy-
genate content in fuels to increase from
2.7% by weight to 3.0% by weight if carbon
monoxide levels in Bernalillo County
exceed 85% of the federal ambient carbon
monoxide standards. The proposed revi-
sions also include elimination of existing
contingency measures. The changes are
proposed to be effective on the later of June
13, 2006 or when the SIP revision becomes
effective.

Following the Part 100 and Part 102 phases
of the hearing, the Board will be asked to
approve the State Implementation Plan
(SIP) Revision: Limited Maintenance Plan
for Carbon Monoxide (CO):

Albuquerque/Bernalillo  County, New
Mexico.

Following the combined hearing, the Board
will hold its regular monthly meeting. The
Board is expected to consider adopting the
proposed revisions to 20.11.100 NMAC,
Motor Vehicle Inspection-Decentralized,
and 20.11.102 NMAC, Oxyfuels, incorpo-
rating both amended regulations into the
SIP, and approving the  State
Implementation Plan (SIP) Revision:

Limited Maintenance Plan for Carbon

Monoxide (CO): Albuquerque/Bernalillo

County, New Mexico.

The Air Quality Control Board is the feder-
ally delegated air quality authority for
Albuquerque and Bernalillo County. Local
delegation authorizes the Board to adminis-
ter and enforce the Clean Air Act and the
New Mexico Air Quality Control Act, and
to require that local air pollution sources
comply with air quality standards and regu-
lations.

Hearings and meetings of the Board are
open to the public and all interested persons
are encouraged to participate. All persons
who wish to testify regarding the subject of
the hearing may do so at the hearing and
will be given a reasonable opportunity to
submit relevant evidence, data, views, and
arguments, orally or in writing, to introduce
exhibits and to examine witnesses in accor-
dance with the Joint Air Quality Control
Board Ordinances, Section 9-5-1-6 ROA
1994 and Bernalillo County Ordinance 94-
5, Section 6.

Anyone intending to present technical testi-
mony is asked to submit a written notice of
intent before 5:00 pm on Wednesday June 2,
2004 to: Attn: June Hearing Record, Mr.
Neal Butt, Albuquerque Environmental
Health Department, P.O. Box 1293,
Albuquerque, NM 87103, or in person in
Room 3023, 400 Marquette Avenue NW.
The notice of intent shall identify the per-
son’s name, address and affiliation.

In addition, written comments to be incor-
porated into the public record should be
received at the above P.O. Box, or
Environmental Health Department office,
before 5:00 pm on June 2, 2004. The com-
ments shall include the name, address and
affiliation of the individual or organization
submitting the statement. Written com-
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ments may also be submitted electronically
to clehner@cabg.gov before 5:00 pm on
June 2, 2004 and shall include the required
name, address and affiliation information.
Interested persons may obtain a copy of the
proposals at the Environmental Health
Department Office, or by contacting Mr.
Neal Butt electronically at nbutt@cabg.gov
or by phone (505) 768-2660.

NOTICE FOR PERSON WITH DIS-
ABILITIES: If you have a disability and/or
require special assistance please call (505)
768-2600 [Voice] and special assistance
will be made available to you to review any
public meeting documents, including agen-
das and minutes. TTY users call the New
Mexico Relay at 1-800-659-8331 and spe-
cial assistance will be made available to
you to review any public meeting docu-
ments, including agendas and minutes.

Human Services Department toll-free at 1-
888-997-2583, in Santa Fe at 827-3156, or
through the department TDD system, 1-
800-609-4833, in Santa Fe call 827-3184.
The Department requests at least 10 days
advance notice to provide requested alterna-
tive formats and special accommodations.

Copies of the Human Services Register are
available for review on our Website at
www.state.nm.us/hsd/register.html . or by
sending a self-addressed stamped envelope
to Medical Assistance Division, Planning &
Program Operations Bureau, P.O. Box
2348, Santa Fe, NM. 87504-2348.

NEW MEXICO HUMAN

SERVICES DEPARTMENT
MEDICAL ASSISTANCE DIVISION

NOTICE

The New Mexico Human Services
Department (HSD) will hold a public hear-
ing at 9:00 a.m., on June 14, 2004, at the
New Mexico State Library (1205 Camino
Carlos Rey) Santa Fe, New Mexico. The
subject of the hearing will be Reserve Bed
Days for Residents of Nursing Facilities.

Medicaid pays to hold or reserve a bed for
an eligible Medicaid resident in a nursing
home when the resident leaves or is absent
from the facility for a short time.

Currently, Medicaid covers six (6) reserve
bed days per calendar year for every nursing
home resident without prior approval, and
covers an additional six (6) reserve bed days
per year with prior approval to enable resi-
dents to adjust to a new environment as part
of a discharge plan. The proposed regula-
tion changes the number of reserve bed days
to three (3) days without prior approval and
three (3) days with prior approval.

Interested persons may submit written com-
ments no later than 5:00 p.m., June 14,
2004, to Pamela S. Hyde, J.D., Secretary,
Human Services Department, P.O. Box
2348, Santa Fe, New Mexico 87504-2348.
All written and oral testimony will be con-
sidered prior to issuance of the final regula-
tion.

If you are a person with a disability and you
require this information in an alternative
format or require a special accommodation
to participate in any HSD public hearing,
program or services, please contact the NM

NEW MEXICO HUMAN

SERVICES DEPARTMENT
MEDICAL ASSISTANCE DIVISION

NOTICE

The New Mexico Human Services
Department (HSD) will hold a public hear-
ing at 10:30 a.m., on June 14, 2004, at the
New Mexico State Library (1205 Camino
Carlos Rey) Santa Fe, New Mexico. The
subject of the hearing will be Reserve Bed
Days for Residents of Intermediate Care
Facilities for the Mentally Retarded.

Medicaid pays to hold or reserve a bed for
an eligible Medicaid resident in a
Intermediate Care Facility For The
Mentally Retarded (ICF/MR) when the res-
ident leaves or is absent from the facility for
a short time.

Medicaid covers 65 reserve bed days per
calendar year for every resident in an
ICF/MR without prior approval, and covers
an additional six (6) reserve bed days per
year with prior approval to enable residents
to adjust to a new environment if this is part
of discharge planning. The proposed regu-
lation changes the number of reserve bed
days without approval to eighteen (18) days
and three (3) days with prior approval.

Interested persons may submit written com-
ments no later than 5:00 p.m., June 14,
2004, to Pamela S. Hyde, J.D., Secretary,
Human Services Department, P.O. Box
2348, Santa Fe, New Mexico 87504-2348.
All written and oral testimony will be con-
sidered prior to issuance of the final regula-
tion.

If you are a person with a disability and you
require this information in an alternative
format or require a special accommodation
to participate in any HSD public hearing,
program or services, please contact the NM
Human Services Department toll-free at 1-
888-997-2583, in Santa Fe at 827-3156, or
through the department TDD system, 1-

800-609-4833, in Santa Fe call 827-3184.
The Department requests at least 10 days
advance notice to provide requested alterna-
tive formats and special accommodations.

Copies of the Human Services Register are
available for review on our Website at
www.state.nm.us/hsd/register.html . or by
sending a self-addressed stamped envelope
to Medical Assistance Division, Planning &
Program Operations Bureau, P.O. Box
2348, Santa Fe, NM. 87504-2348.

NEW MEXICO
BOARD OF NURSING

NEW MEXICO
BOARD OF NURSING

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING
Notice is hereby given that the New Mexico
Board of Nursing will convene a Rules

Hearing to amend:

16.12.3
Programs

NMAC Nursing Education

This Hearing will be held at New Mexico
Junior College, Ben Alexander Student
Center, 5317 Lovington Highway, Hobbs,
NM 88240, on Friday, June 25, 2004 at 8:45
a.m.

Any person wishing to present testimony at
the Hearing is requested to submit, to the
Board of Nursing Office, 4206 Louisiana
NE, Suite A, Albuquerque, NM, 87109, a
written statement of intent (10 copies) to be
received no later than June 4, 2004

The Statement shall provide:

Name of Witness:

Who Witness represents:

Brief statement of subject matter of testimo-
ny; & anticipated length of presentation.

Notice: Any person presenting testimony,
who is representing a client, employer or
group, must be registered as a lobbyist
through the Secretary of State’s Office
(505) 827-3600 or do so within 10 days of
the Public Hearings.

Persons requiring special accommodations
at the hearing are asked to call the Board
office (841-8340) no later than May 17,
2004 so that arrangements can be made.
Hearing impaired persons call TDD 1-800-
659-8331.

Drafts of proposed changes may be down-

loaded from our website:
www.state.nm.us/nursing or requested

through the Board of Nursing office.
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NEW MEXICO OIL
CONSERVATION
COMMISSION

NOTICE OF RULE MAKING

STATE OF NEW MEXICO
ENERGY, MINERALS AND NATURAL
RESOURCES DEPARTMENT
OIL CONSERVATION COMMISSION
SANTA FE, NEW MEXICO

The State of New Mexico, through its Oil
Conservation Commission, hereby gives
notice that the Commission will conduct a
public hearing at 9:00 A.M. on June 17,
2004 in Porter Hall at 1220 South St.
Francis Drive, Santa Fe, New Mexico, con-
cerning the amendment of 19.15.1 NMAC
to adopt a new section to be codified at
19.15.1.21 NMAC. The new section, which
applies to the Chihuahuan desert areas of
Otero and Sierra counties, New Mexico,
prohibits the use of pits and imposes addi-
tional location, construction, operation and
testing requirements on injection wells and
related facilities used to dispose of pro-
duced water. Copies of the text of the pro-
posed amendment are available from
Division Administrator Florene Davidson at
505 476-3458 or from the Division’s web
site at
http://www.emnrd.state.nm.us/ocd/what-
snew.htm. Written comments on the pro-
posed amendment must be received no later
than 5:00 P.M. on Tuesday, June 8, 2004.
Written comments may be hand-delivered
or mailed to Ms. Davidson at 1220 South St.
Francis Drive, Santa Fe, New Mexico
87505, or may be faxed to Ms. Davidson at
476-3462. If you are an individual with a
disability who is in need of a reader, ampli-
fier, qualified sign language interpreter, or
any other form of auxiliary aid or service to
attend or participate in the hearing, please
contact Ms. Davidson at (505) 476-3458 or
through the New Mexico Relay Network (1-
800-659-1779) as soon as possible.

Given under the Seal of the State of New
Mexico Oil Conservation Commission at
Santa Fe, New Mexico on this 22nd day
of April, 2004.

STATE OF NEW MEXICO
OIL CONSERVATION DIVISION

Joanna Prukop, Cabinet Secretary
Acting Director, Oil Conservation
Division

NEW MEXICO OIL CONSERVATION COMMISSION

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING

STATE OF NEW MEXICO
ENERGY, MINERALS AND NATURAL
RESOURCES DEPARTMENT
OIL CONSERVATION COMMISSION
SANTA FE, NEW MEXICO

The State of New Mexico, through its Oil Conservation Commission, hereby gives notice
that the Commission will conduct a public hearing at 9:00 A.M. on July 15, 2004 in Porter
Hall at 1220 South St. Francis Drive, Santa Fe, New Mexico, concerning the amendment of
19.15.5.307 NMAC to allow the operation of wells and gathering systems at below atmos-
pheric pressure in appropriate circumstances. The amendment will have state-wide appli-
cation. Copies of the text of the proposed amendment are available from Division
Administrator Florene Davidson at 505 476-3458 or from the Division’s web site at
http:/www.emnrd.state.nm.us/ocd/whatsnew.htm. ~ Written comments on the proposed
amendment must be received no later than 5:00 P.M. on Thursday, July 8, 2004. Written
comments may be hand-delivered or mailed to Ms. Davidson at 1220 South St. Francis
Drive, Santa Fe, New Mexico 87505, or may be faxed to Ms. Davidson at 476-3462. If you
are an individual with a disability who is in need of a reader, amplifier, qualified sign lan-
guage interpreter, or any other form of auxiliary aid or service to attend or participate in the
hearing, please contact Ms. Davidson at (505) 476-3458 or through the New Mexico Relay
Network (1-800-659-1779) as soon as possible.

Given under the Seal of the State of New Mexico Oil Conservation Commission at
Santa Fe, New Mexico on this 26th day of April, 2004.

STATE OF NEW MEXICO
OIL CONSERVATION DIVISION

Joanna Prukop, Cabinet Secretary
Energy Minerals and Natural Resources Department
Acting Director, Oil Conservation Division

NEW MEXICO PUBLIC EDUCATION DEPARTMENT

NEW MEXICO PUBLIC EDUCATION DEPARTMENT
NOTICE OF HEARING AND PROPOSED RULEMAKING

The Public Education Department (“Department”) hereby gives notice that the Department
will conduct a public hearing at Mabry Hall, Jerry Apodaca Education Building, 300 Don
Gaspar Ave., Santa Fe, New Mexico, 87501-2786, on Friday, June 18, 2004, from 9 a.m. to
noon regarding the following proposed rulemaking actions:

Rule Number Rule Name Proposed
Action
6.75.2 NMAC RELATING TO THE STATE Amend rule
DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC
EDUCATION INSTRUCTIONAL
MATERIAL BUREAU

Interested individuals may testify at the public hearing or submit written comments to Rose
Marie Sherman, Director, Instructional Material Bureau, Public Education Department,
Jerry Apodaca Education Building, 300 Don Gaspar, Santa Fe, New Mexico 8§7501-2786
(rsherman(@ped.state.nm.us) or telefaxed to (505) 827-6411. Written comments must be
received no later than 5 p.m. on the date of the hearing. However, the submission of writ-
ten comments as soon as possible is encouraged.

Copies of the proposed rules may be accessed on the Department’s website
(http://ped.state.nm.us/) or obtained from Rose Sherman, Director, Instructional Material
Bureau, Public Education Department, Jerry Apodaca Education Building, 300 Don Gaspar,
Santa Fe, New Mexico 87501-2786 at (505) 827-6414.

Individuals with disabilities who require this information in an alternative format or need
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any form of auxiliary aid to attend or partic-
ipate in this meeting are asked to contact
Ms. Sherman as soon as possible. The
Department requests at least ten (10) days
advance notice to provide requested special
accommodations.

NEW MEXICO PUBLIC
EMPLOYEES
RETIREMENT
ASSOCIATION

NOTICE OF P.E.R.A. RULEMAKING

The Public Employees Retirement
Association (“PERA”) will consider
changes to its rules promulgated under the
Public Employees Retirement Act.  The
changes will implement statutory amend-
ments to the Public Employees Retirement
Act enacted during the 2004 regular session
of the New Mexico Legislature. Changes
are proposed for the following Rules:

2.80.400 NMAC Employee Membership
2.80.500 NMAC Remittance of
Contributions

2.80.600 NMAC Service
Purchase of Service Credit
2.80.700 NMAC Normal Retirement
2.80.1100 NMAC Retired Members
2.80.1200 NMAC Legislative Retirement
2.80.1400 NMAC Reciprocity

2.80.1500 NMAC Appeal of Denial of
Claim of Benefits

Credit and

Copies of the draft rules are available for
inspection in PERA’s Office of General
Counsel. Hard copies of the draft rules may
be purchased for $3.00. E-mailed copies of
the draft rules will be provided free of
charge in Microsoft Word format. Written
comments, inquiries or requests for copies
should be directed to PERA’s Office of
General Counsel, P.O. Box 2123, Santa Fe,
New Mexico, 87504-2123, (505) 827-4783
or 1-800-342-3422. Written comments or
requests for copies may be submitted elec-
tronically to:_jaolson@pera.state.nm.us. To

attend. Lobbyists must comply with the
Lobbyist Regulation Act, NMSA 1978,
Section 2-11-1 et. seq. (1997), which
applies to rulemaking proceedings.

Individuals with a disability who are in need
of a reader, amplifier, qualified sign lan-
guage interpreter, or any other form of aux-
iliary aid or service to attend or participate
in the hearing may contact Jane Clifford at
(505) 827-1232 or toll free at 1-800-342-
3422 seven days prior to the hearing or as
soon as possible.

NEW MEXICO
COMMISSION OF
PUBLIC RECORDS

NOTICE OF REGULAR MEETING

The NM Commission of Public Records has
scheduled a regular meeting for Tuesday,
May 25, 2004, at 9:00 A.M. The meeting
will be held at the NM State Records Center
and Archives, which is an accessible facili-
ty, at 1205 Camino Carlos Rey, Santa Fe,
NM. Pursuant to the New Mexico Open
Meetings Act, Section 10-15-1(H)(2)
NMSA 1978, a portion of the meeting may
be closed to discuss a limited personnel
matter. If you are an individual with a dis-
ability who is in need of a reader, amplifier,
qualified sign language interpreter, or any
form of auxiliary aid or service to attend or
participate in the hearing, please contact
Ruben Rivera at 476-7902 by May 17,
2004. Public documents, including the
agenda and minutes, can be provided in var-
ious accessible formats. A final copy of the
agenda will be available 24 hours before the
hearing.

NOTICE OF RULEMAKING
The Commission of Public Records may
consider the following items of rulemaking

at the meeting:

Amendment

be considered, written comments, argu-
ments, views or relevant data should be sub-
mitted by 5:00 p.m. June 15, 2004. The
PERA Board will review and consider all
written comments addressing the proposed
rule changes.

A formal rulemaking hearing will be held
on July 13, 2004 at 8:30 a.m. in the PERA
Board Room of the PERA Building, 1120
Paseo de Peralta, Santa Fe, New Mexico.
Oral comments will be taken at the public
hearing. Final action on the rules will occur
at the monthly meeting of the PERA Board
on July 29, 2004, which will be held at 9:00
a.m. in Apodaca Hall of the PERA Building.
All interested parties are requested to

1.15.2 NMAC GRRDS,
General Administrative Records

1.17.218 NMAC JRRDS, New
Mexico Magistrate Courts
1.18.333 NMAC ERRDS,

Taxation and Revenue Department

1.18.378 NMAC ERRDS,
State Personnel Office
1.18.419 NMAC ERRDS,

Economic Development Department

1.18.665 NMAC ERRDS,
Department of Health

New

1.19.11 NMAC LGRRDS,

Soil And Water Conservation Districts and
Watershed Districts

NEW MEXICO PUBLIC
REGULATION
COMMISSION

BEFORE THE NEW MEXICO
PUBLIC REGULATION

COMMISSION
IN THE MATTER
OF THE ADOPTION g Ocoaj;}lf{}‘T""'
OF RULES )
REGARDING
EX PARTE
COMMUNICATIONS

NOTICE OF PROPOSED
RULEMAKING

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN
that the New Mexico Public Regulation
Commission ("Commission") proposes to
adopt rules regarding ex parte communica-
tions. This matter comes before the
Commission on its own Motion, as set forth
in the Commission’s Notice of Inquiry,
which was issued on March 16, 2003. In its
Notice of Inquiry, the Commission invited
interested persons to file their Comments
and Responses, together with any proposed
rules, no later than April 9, 2004. Having
considered those Comments and Responses,
and the draft rules attached to those filings,
and being fully advised in the premises,
THE COMMISSION FINDS AND CON-
CLUDES:

1. The Public Regulation
Commission Act (“Act”) authorizes the
Commission to "adopt such reasonable reg-
ulatory and procedural rules as may be nec-
essary or appropriate to carry out its powers
and duties.” NMSA 1978, Section 8-8-
4(B)(10). In particular, the Act, as amended
by the New Mexico Legislature in its 2004
Regular Session, in Senate Bill 369, (See
Laws 2004, ch. 81, S.B. 369, as amended)
vests in the Commission the duty to estab-
lish, by July 1, 2004, rules regarding how a
party to a proceeding may consult with the
Commission’s advisory staff. NMSA 1978,
Section 8-8-17(C)(5).

2. The following persons
have filed comments, responses, or both in
connection with the Commission’s Notice
of Inquiry:

Alltel, Voicestream Wireless,
d/b/a T-Mobile, and Western Wireless (joint
filing), (presented as “Motion to
Intervene.”)

American Association of Retired
Persons (AARP),

Association of Commerce and
Industry (ACI) and Greater Albuquerque
Chamber of Commerce (joint filing),

Coalition for Clean Affordable
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Energy,

Commission’s  Utility  and
Transportation Division Staff (hereinafter
referred to as “Staff”),

Communications Workers of
America (CWA) Local No. 7011,
International Brotherhood of

Electrical Workers IBEW) Local No. 611,

MCI,

New Mexico Attorney General,

New Mexico Industrial Electric
Consumers (NMIEC),

New Mexico Internet
Professionals Association (NMIPA),

New Mexico Public Interest
Research Group (NMPIRG),

PNM,

Qwest,

Senator Phil Griego, and

Southwestern Public Service
(SPS).

3. The following persons
have filed copies of proposed rules in
response to the Commission’s Notice of
Inquiry: MCI, PNM, Qwest, and Staff.

4. The Commission finds
that it should consider adopting such rules
as Staff proposes, and that Staft’s proposed
rule should, in substance, be adopted as the
Commission’s proposed rule.

5. The Commission has
formatted Staft’s proposed rule to be more
closely consistent with the language of the
Act and the requirements for compilation
into the New Mexico Administrative Code.
The Commission has also made certain sty-
listic changes to the language of Staft’s pro-
posed rule.

6. If the proposed rules
are adopted, they would be contained in
Title 1 of the New Mexico Administrative
Code.

7. The Commission will
take written comments on the rules pro-
posed in this Notice from any interested
person. Interested persons shall file their
written comments no later than May 14,
2004. Any person wishing to respond to
comments may do so by submitting written
response comments no later than May 25,
2004. Comments suggesting changes to the
proposed rules shall state and discuss the
particular reasons for the suggested changes
and shall include all specific language nec-
essary or appropriate to effectuate the
changes being suggested.

8. Specific proposed lan-
guage changes to the proposed rules shall be
in legislative format. A copy of the pro-
posed rule in electronic format may be
obtained from the Commission to facilitate
this requirement. Any proposed changes to
Exhibit 1 shall be submitted in hard copy,
and the Commission strongly encourages
all persons proposing such changes to file

an additional copy in electronic format (3.5-
inch floppy disk in Microsoft Word 95 or
Microsoft Office 97 formats). The label on
the floppy disk shall clearly designate the
name of the person submitting the proposed
changes and the docket number of this pro-
ceeding. All pleadings, including com-
ments and suggested changes to the pro-
posed rules, shall bear the caption and dock-
et number contained at the top of this
Notice.

9. Comments on the pro-
posed rules shall be sent to, and additional
copies of the proposed rules can be obtained
from:

Mr. Ron X. Montoya

New Mexico Public

Regulation Commission

224 East Palace Avenue

P.O. Box 1269

Santa Fe, NM 87504-1269

Telephone: (505) 827-6940
Copies of the proposed rules may also be
downloaded from the Commission’s Web
Site, www.nmprc.state.nm.us.

10. The Commission will
review all timely submitted written com-
ments and will hold public hearings to take
oral comment regarding the proposed rules.
The schedule and locations for these public
hearings is as follows:

>i) Wednesday, May 5,
2004 at 10:00 a.m., at Marian Hall, 1st floor
hearing room, 224 East Palace Avenue,
Santa Fe, New Mexico; and

(ii) Tuesday, May 25, 2004,
at 1:30 p.m., at the P.E.R.A. Building, 1120
Paseo de Peralta (located at the corner of
Old Santa Fe Trail), 4th floor hearing room,
Santa Fe, New Mexico; and

(iii) Tuesday, June 22, 2004,
at 1:30 p.m., at the P.E.R.A. Building, 1120
Paseo de Peralta (located at the corner of
Old Santa Fe Trail), 4th floor hearing room,
Santa Fe, New Mexico.

11. Interested persons
should contact the Commission to confirm
the date, time and place of any public hear-
ing, because hearings are occasionally
rescheduled.

12. Any person with a dis-
ability requiring special assistance in order
to participate in a hearing should contact
Ron Montoya at (505) 827-6940 at least 48
hours prior to the commencement of the
hearing.

IT IS THEREFORE
ORDERED:
A. The rules regarding ex

parte communications, attached to this
Notice and labeled as Exhibit 1, are pro-
posed for adoption as permanent rules as
provided by this Notice.

B. Interested persons,
including Staff, shall file their written com-
ments on the proposed rules as provided in
this Notice.

C. Any late filings, includ-
ing comments, responses, and proposed
rules, that were made pursuant to the
Commission’s of its Notice of Inquiry but
filed before the issuance of this NOPR, are
hereby excused.

D. Public hearings shall be
held as provided in this Notice.
E. Staff shall mail a copy

of this Notice, excluding Exhibit 1, to all
persons listed on the Commission’s ordi-
nary service lists for gas, electricity, water,
sewer, telecommunications, and transporta-
tion, and to any other person requesting
service. Staff shall cause this Notice to be
published in four newspapers of general cir-
culation in the State and in the New Mexico
Register, shall provide the Notice by e-mail
or facsimile transmission to those persons
who have so requested, and shall post a
copy of the proposed rules on the
Commission’s Website.

F. Because of its length,
the Certificate of Service for this Notice
shall be attached only to the original of this
Notice, which shall be available for inspec-
tion by any interested person at the
Commission’s Records Office, 224 East
Palace Avenue, Santa Fe, New Mexico
87504.

G This Notice is effective
immediately.

ISSUED wunder the Seal of the
Commission at Santa Fe, New Mexico,
this 20th day of April, 2004.

NEW MEXICO PUBLIC REGULA-
TION COMMISSION

HERB H. HUGHES, CHAIRMAN

DAVID W. KING, VICE CHAIRMAN

JEROME D. BLOCK,
COMMISSIONER

LYNDA M. LOVEJOY,
COMMISSIONER

E. SHIRLEY BACA, COMMISSIONER

NEW MEXICO RACING
COMMISSION

NEW MEXICO RACING
COMMISSION
NOTICE OF RULEMAKING AND
PUBLIC HEARING

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN
that a rulemaking and public hearing will be
held in the Commission Conference Room,
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Mexico, commencing in executive session
at 8:00 o’clock a.m. on Tuesday, May 18,
2004. The public session will begin at
10:00 o’clock a.m. on Tuesday, May 18,
2004. The Commission will consider adop-
tion of proposed amended rule for incorpo-
ration into the Rules Governing Horse
Racing in New Mexico No. 15.2.5.14
NMAC (regarding protests); 15.2.1.9
NMAC (regarding proceedings before the
stewards); 15.2.6 NMAC (attachment); and
15.2.1.9 NMAC (regarding proceedings by
the Commission).

Copies of these proposed rules
may be obtained from India Hatch, Agency
Director, New Mexico Racing Commission,
300 San Mateo N.E., Suite 110,
Albuquerque, New Mexico 87108, (505)
841-6400. Interested persons may submit
their views on the proposed rules to the
Commission at the above address and/or
may appear at the scheduled meeting and
make a brief verbal presentation of their
view.

Anyone who requires special
accommodations is requested to notify the
Commission of such needs at least five days
prior to the meeting.

India Hatch
Agency Director

Dated: April 26, 2004

NEW MEXICO
DEPARTMENT OF
TRANSPORTATION

THE NEW MEXICO DEPARTMENT
OF TRANSPORTATION

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING

The New Mexico Department of
Transportation (NMDOT) will hold a public
hearing for the purpose of receiving oral
and written public comment on proposed
amendments to 18.21.3 NMAC, Traffic
Control Signage, Requirements For Signs
On Gas, Food, Lodging, Camping and
Attraction, Traveler Information Signs.

The hearing is scheduled on June
16th, from 1:00 p.m. to 4:00 p.m. at the
New Mexico Department of Transportation,
Training Room, located at 1120 Cerrillos
Road, in Santa Fe, New Mexico. Please
contact Charles Remkes to request a copy of
the rule.

The hearing will be held before a
hearing officer appointed by the Secretary

of the NMDOT. Interested persons may
also present their views by written state-
ments submitted on or before June 16th, to
Charles Remkes, NMDOT, P.O. Box 1149,
Santa Fe, New Mexico 87504-1149, (505)
827-0285.

Any individual with a disability
who is in need of an auxiliary aid or service
to attend or participate in the hearings, or
who needs copies of the proposed rule in an
accessible form may contact Charles
Remkes at least ten days before the hearing.

End of Notices and
Proposed Rules Section
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Adopted Rules

NEW MEXICO
DEPARTMENT OF
AGRICULTURE

This is an amendment to 21.17.45 NMAC,
Section 8.

21.17.45.8 ASSESSMENT:

A. The committee assess-
ment rate is set forth at [{2-deHars+$42)] 6
dollars ($6) per land acre of irrigated cotton
and 6 dollars ($6) per land acre for dryland
cotton to be collected each annum from cot-
ton producers in the control district. The
control committee may annually set an
incentive for early payment of the assess-
ment.

B. Payment of the assess-
ment levied by a local control committee
against a cotton producer will be due and
payable when the cotton producer receives
an assessment statement from the control
committee or their authorized agent.

C. The number of acres
used in calculating the assessment amount
due will be the number of land acres the cot-
ton producer has certified with the farm
service agency, or if the cotton acreage is
not certified by the farm service agency the
number of land acres used in calculating the
assessment amount due shall be determined
by other methods set by the control com-
mittee or their authorized agent. Any cotton
acreage is subject to verification by the con-
trol committee.

D. Failure to comply with
payment of assessment to the committee or
their authorized agent may result in the
recording of a lien on the cotton crop and/or
property in the county clerk’s office where
the property is located. The lien will remain
in effect until foreclosure or balance subject
to the lien is paid in full. Interest may be
assessed at a rate of 8)2 percent per annum
on the balance unpaid after 30 days.
[21.17.45.8 NMAC - N, 02/28/2001; A,
05/14/2004]

district. The control committee may annu-
ally set an incentive for early payment of
the assessment.

B. Payment of the assess-
ment levied by a local control committee
against a cotton producer will be due and
payable when the cotton producer receives
an assessment statement from the control
committee or their authorized agent.

C. The number of acres
used in calculating the assessment amount
due will be the number of land acres the cot-
ton producer has certified with the farm
service agency, or if the cotton acreage is
not certified by the farm service agency the
number of land acres used in calculating the
assessment amount due shall be determined
by other methods set by the control com-
mittee or their authorized agent.

D. Failure to comply with
payment of assessment to the committee or
their authorized agent may result in the
recording of a lien on the cotton crop and/or
property in the county clerk’s office where
the property is located. The lien will remain
in effect until foreclosure or balance subject
to the lien is paid in full. Interest may be
assessed at a rate of 8 }2 percent per annum
on the balance unpaid after 30 days.
[21.17.46.8 NMAC - N, 02/14/2001; A,
05/14/2004]

NEW MEXICO
DEPARTMENT OF
AGRICULTURE

This is an amendment to 21.17.46 NMAC,
Section 8.

21.17.46.8 ASSESSMENT:

A. The committee assess-
ment rate is set forth at [$2-deHars<$42)] 6
dollars ($6) per land acre of irrigated cotton
and [6-deHars{$6)] 4 dollars ($4) per land
acre for dryland cotton to be collected each
annum from cotton producers in the control

NEW MEXICO
ENVIRONMENTAL

IMPROVEMENT BOARD
OCCUPATIONAL HEALTH AND
SAFETY BUREAU

TITLE 11 LABOR
WORKERS’ COMPENSATION
CHAPTER 5 OCCUPATIONAL
HEALTH AND SAFETY

PART 6 CONVENIENCE
STORES

AND

11.5.6.1 ISSUING AGENCY:
New Mexico Environmental Improvement
Board.

[11.5.6.1 NMAC - N, 6/1/04]

11.5.6.2 SCOPE: All conven-
ience store employers and employees.
[11.5.6.2 NMAC - N, 6/1/04]

11.5.6.3 STATUTORY
AUTHORITY: NMSA 1978, Sections 50-
9-7, 50-9-13, and 74-1-8.

[11.5.6.3 NMAC - N, 6/1/04]

11.5.6.4
Permanent.
[11.5.6.4 NMAC - N, 6/1/04]

DURATION:

11.5.6.5 EFFECTIVE DATE:
June 1, 2004, unless a later date is cited at
the end of a section.

[11.5.6.5 NMAC - N, 6/1/04]

11.5.6.6 OBJECTIVE: To
establish standards related to the occupa-
tional health and safety of employees in the
convenience store industry.

[11.5.6.6 NMAC - N, 6/1/04]

11.5.6.7 DEFINITIONS:
General: Unless otherwise specified, the
following definitions, in addition to those
contained in 11.5.1.12 NMAC and the state
act, are applicable to this part.

A. “American society for
testing materials standard D3935” means
the American society for testing materials
classification standards for transparent
polycarbonate bullet-resistant materials.

B. “B rated” means a safe
box industry standard, which, at a mini-
mum, conforms to the specifics of a one-
fourth inch body and a one-half inch door
constructed of steel or an equivalent materi-
al.

C. “Controlled access
area” means an enclosure of the service
counter area with transparent polycarbonate
or other bullet-resistant material that meets
American society for testing materials or
underwriters laboratory standards.

D. “Convenience store”
means any business that is primarily
engaged in the retail sale of convenience
goods, or both convenience goods and gaso-
line, and employs one or more employees
during the normal operating hours of the
establishment. This term does not include:
gasoline service stations, grocery stores, or
supermarkets. This term includes all busi-
nesses with separate structures on their
premises that are engaged in the retail sale
of convenience goods or both convenience
goods and gasoline separate from their pri-
mary business.

E. “Depository or time
lock safe” means a B or higher rated safe
box equipped with an electronic or manual-
ly programmed time lock, or drop slot, that
prevents unauthorized access.

F. “Environmental engi-
neering controls” means an established
store floor plan adopted or developed by the
employer to reduce theft or robbery by
measures, which include, but are not limit-
ed to, cash register placement in plain view
of customers, properly functioning indoor
and outdoor lighting, and proper placement
of security cameras.

G “Pass-through window”
means a manually operated mechanical
pass-through trough, front-loading deposit
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door, or other similar device that is encased
in a transparent polycarbonate window or
other bullet-resistant material that meets
American society for testing materials stan-
dard D3935, or underwriters laboratory
standard 752.

H. “Security surveillance
system” means a VHS or digital camera
surveillance system that is capable of
recording and retrieving a clear video or
digital recorded image.

L “Security alarm sys-
tem” means any device or series of devices,
including, but not limited to, a signal system
interconnected with a radio frequency
method such as cellular, private radio sig-
nals, or other mechanical or electronic
device used to notify law enforcement or a
private security agency of an unlawful act in
progress.

J. “Underwriters laborato-
ries 752 rated” means the underwriters lab-
oratory standards for transparent polycar-
bonate bullet-resistant materials.

K. “Service counter”
means, at a minimum, the counter space
designated by the employer to include the
service transaction area of the money regis-
ter(s) and the surrounding perimeter.

L. “Signage” means
posters, placards, neon lights, or logos,
positioned in the convenience store win-
dows and doors.

M. “Training curriculum”
means the instruction manual or pamphlet
adopted or developed by the employer con-
taining security policies, safety and security
procedures, and personal safety and crime
prevention techniques.

[11.5.6.7 NMAC - N, 6/1/04]

11.5.6.8 SECURITY
REQUIREMENTS: All convenience
stores shall be equipped with the following
security devices and standards:

A. Exterior  Lighting:
The employer shall provide and maintain
exterior lighting during all evening and
nighttime operating hours that ensures clear
visibility of the parking areas, walkways,
building entrances and exits, and gasoline
pump areas.

B. Employee Training:

(1) The employer shall provide
each employee, at the time of his or her ini-
tial appointment, and by periodic review not
to exceed three-month intervals, crime pre-
vention and safety training in accordance
with a written training curriculum. The
training curriculum may include computer-
based training. Training shall be conducted
in a language that is understood by the
employee. The employer shall conduct
training, or designate a knowledgeable rep-
resentative to conduct training, in accor-
dance with the written training curriculum

that includes but is not limited to:

(a) an overview of the potential
risk of assault;

(b) operational procedures, such
as cash handling rules, that are designed to
reduce risk;

(c¢) proper use of security meas-
ures and engineering controls that have
been adopted in the workplace;

(d) behavioral strategies to defuse
tense situations and reduce the likelihood of
violence, such as techniques of conflict res-
olution and aggression management;

(e) specific instructions on how to
respond to a robbery and how to respond to
attempted shoplifting; and

(f) emergency action procedures
to be followed in the event of a robbery or
violent incident.

(2) Store specific training shall be
conducted by the employee’s immediate
supervisor.

(3) Current employees shall
receive training within ninety days of the
effective date of this regulation.

(4) All employers shall prepare
training documentation for each employee
and have employees sign a statement indi-
cating the date, time, and place they
received their safety training. Employers
shall maintain documentation of an employ-
ee’s training for a period of at least twelve
months, or six months after termination of
an employee’s employment. All training
documentation, including training curricula,
shall be kept on the convenience store
premises and made available on request by
the Department.

C. Late night security
measures:

(1) In addition to the other securi-
ty requirements of this part, convenience
stores operating between the hours of 5:00
p-m. and 5:00 a.m. shall employ at least one
of the following security measures:

(a) two employee shift: the
employer shall employ a minimum of two
employees during the operating hours of
5:00 p.m. to 5:00 a.m.; or, shall substitute
the second employee requirement by
employing security personnel on the prem-
ises;

(b) controlled access area: the
employer shall provide a controlled access
area by means of a secured safety enclosure
of transparent polycarbonate or other bullet-
resistant material that meets American
society for testing materials standard D3935
or underwriters laboratory standard 752;

(¢) pass-through window(s): the
employer shall provide a pass-through win-
dow of transparent polycarbonate or other
bullet-resistant material that meets
American society for testing materials stan-
dard D3935 or underwriters laboratory stan-
dard 752 that restricts access to and encom-

passes the service counter area, providing
an enclosure that extends not less than five
feet above the service counter; or

(d) alternative operation: between
the hours of 5:00 p.m. and 5:00 a.m., the
employer shall close the store and prohibit
all sales transactions but allow employees to
perform duties such as store stocking, main-
tenance, cleaning and other non-sales trans-
action duties. Signs shall be conspicuously
posted on all entryways stating the store is
closed.

D. Limits on  Store
Window Signage: The employer shall
maintain door and window signage so that a
clear and unobstructed view of the service
counter and cash register exists from out-
side the building.

E. Security Surveillance
System:

(1) The employer shall provide
each convenience store with a fully opera-
tional VHS or digital security surveillance
system that, at a minimum, shall:

(a) record a continuous unob-
structed view of the service counter area, all
entryways and exits, parking areas, walk-
ways, building entrances and exits, and
gasoline pump areas during all operating
hours; and

(b) include a high resolution
black and white or color screen monitor
with on screen date and time capabilities.

(2) The employer shall:

(a) conduct a monthly mainte-
nance inspection and make all necessary
repairs to ensure the proper operation of the
security surveillance system, and, in the
event of an extended mechanical malfunc-
tion that exceeds an eight hour period, pro-
vide alternative security that may include
closure of the premises;

(b) maintain documentation, for a
period of at least twenty-four months, of all
inspections, servicing, alterations, and
upgrades performed on the security surveil-
lance system. All documentation shall be
kept on the convenience store premises and
made available on request by the depart-
ment; and

(¢) maintain a VHS or digital
library of all in-store transactions recorded
by the security surveillance system during
normal operating hours of the convenience
store for a period of no less than twenty
business days.

F. Security Alarm
System:

(1) The employer shall provide
and maintain in each convenience store a
fully operational security alarm system with
a working personal panic alarm for each
employee that, when activated, notifies law
enforcement or a private security agency
when an unlawful act is in progress.

(2) The employer shall:
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(a) conduct a monthly mainte-
nance inspection and make all necessary
repairs to ensure the proper operation of the
alarm system, and, in the event of an
extended mechanical malfunction that
exceeds an eight hour period, provide alter-
native security that may include closure of
the premises; and

(b) maintain documentation for a
period of at least twenty-four months of all
inspections, servicing, alterations, and
upgrades performed on the security alarm
system; all documentation shall be kept on
the convenience store premises and made
available on request by the department.

(3) The security alarm activators
shall be located in a location accessible to
the employees and be available to the
employees as a portable device that can be
carried on their person.

G Depository or Time
Lock Safe:

(1) The employer shall:

(a) provide at least one B or high-
er rated depository or time lock safe in each
store;

(b) utilize each depository or time
lock safe to ensure controlled access to
cash;

(¢) conduct a monthly mainte-
nance inspection and make all necessary
repairs to ensure the proper operation of the
depository or time lock safe system, or, in
the event of an extended mechanical mal-
function that exceeds an eight hour period,
provide alternative security that may
include closure of the premises; and

(d) maintain documentation, for a
period of at least twenty-four months, of all
inspections, servicing, alterations, and
upgrades performed on the depository or
time lock safe; all documentation shall be
kept on the convenience store premises and
made available on request by the depart-
ment.

(2) The location of the depository
time lock safe may be determined by the
employer but shall be located within the
service counter area.

H. Cash Management:
The employer shall not have more than fifty
dollars in the cash register at any time.

L Required Signs:

(1) The employer shall conspicu-
ously post a notice in English and in
Spanish in the convenience store that con-
tains, at a minimum, the following informa-
tion:

(a) there is a safe in the store;

(b) employees do not have access
to the safe;

(c) there is an active security
alarm system;

(d) there is an active surveillance
system; and

(e) there is no more than fifty dol-

lars in the cash register.

(2) Employers will not be cited by
the department for providing employees
access to a time lock or other safe.

J. Pay Phones: Any out-
side pay phones located on convenience
store premises shall be located on the out-
side perimeter of the property, in clear view
of the service counter area. The owner shall
provide adequate lighting to the pay phone
area.

K. Unobstructed View of
Sales Area: The employer shall ensure an
unobstructed view throughout the store
from the service counter area. This may be
accomplished by different means, including
mirrors and video monitors.

[11.5.6.8 NMAC - N, 6/1/04]

11.5.6.9 to 11.5.6.20
[RESERVED]

11.5.6.21 COMPLIANCE
PROVISION: Unless otherwise provided,
compliance with the sections of this part
shall be achieved within ninety days of its
effective date.

[11.5.6.21 NMAC - N, 6/1/04]

11.5.6.22 CONSTRUCTION:
This regulation shall be liberally construed
to carry out the purposes of the
Occupational Health and Safety regulations
and Act.

[11.5.6.22 NMAC - N, 6/1/04]

11.5.6.23 SEVERABILITY: If
any provision or application of this regula-
tion is held invalid, the remainder, or its
application to other situations or persons,
shall not be affected.

[11.5.6.23 NMAC - N, 6/1/04]

11.5.6.24 ENFORCEMENT
AUTHORITY: Department representa-
tives shall be responsible for the enforce-
ment of this regulation.

[11.5.6.24 NMAC - N, 6/1/04]

11.5.6.25 REFERENCES IN
OTHER REGULATIONS: Any reference
to the Convenience Store regulations or
11.5.6 NMAC in any other rule shall be
construed as a reference to this regulation.
[11.5.6.25 NMAC - N, 6/1/04]

11.5.6.26 COMPLIANCE
WITH OTHER REGULATIONS:
Compliance with this regulation does not
relieve a person from the obligation to com-
ply with any other applicable federal, state,
or local regulations.

[11.5.6.26 NMAC - N, 6/1/04]

11.5.6.27 SAVINGS CLAUSE:
Future amendments: no future amendment

to 11.5.6 NMAC shall affect any adminis-
trative or judicial enforcement action pend-
ing on the effective date of the amendment.
[11.5.6.27 NMAC - N, 6/1/04]

HISTORY OF
[RESERVED]

11.5.6 NMAC:

NEW MEXICO GAMING
CONTROL BOARD

This is an amendment to 15.1.2 NMAC,
Section 9, effective 5/14/04.

15.1.2.9 REQUESTS FOR
DISCLOSURE OF CONFIDENTIAL
INFORMATION:

A. Nothing in this rule

may be construed as requiring the board to
create any document or compilation of any
confidential information for the purpose of
responding to a request for disclosure.

B. Any person seeking
access to confidential information in the
board’s possession may file a request for
disclosure by the board. The request must
be in writing, must state the purpose of the
request and the proposed use of the infor-
mation, and must be sufficient to adequate-
ly identify and limit the documents or infor-
mation sought. A separate request must be
filed for each applicant or licensee about
whom information is sought. The proce-
dure for requesting confidential information
described herein does not apply to informa-
tion subject to disclosure pursuant to the

Inspection of Public Records Act, Section
14-2-1 et seq NMSA.

C. Within 10 working days
of receipt of the request, the board will
make a preliminary assessment whether the
request satisfies the requirements of
Subsection 15.1.2 9(B). If the request fails
to satisfy the requirements of Subsection
15.1.2 9(B), the board will deny the request
on the basis of the deficiencies and will
return the request to the person seeking the
information with an explanation of the defi-
ciencies. No further action will be required
of the board.

D. Within 15 working days
of receipt of the request, if the request meets
the requirements of Subsection 15.1.2 9(B),
the board will send a consent form and a
copy of the request to the relevant applicant
or licensee. The applicant or licensee must
return the consent form to the board indicat-
ing the applicant’s or licensee’s consent or
refusal to consent to disclosure of all or part
of the requested information. Failure of the
licensee or applicant to return the consent
form within 10 working days of the date
mailed by the board to the applicant or
licensee will be deemed refusal of consent
to the disclosure of the requested informa-
tion.
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E. The applicant’s or
licensee’s refusal to consent to disclosure of
the requested information is final and pre-
cludes the board from disclosing the
requested information, except upon court
order as set forth in Section 60-2E-42 of the
act.

F. If the disclosure request
is approved by the applicant or licensee, the
board will permit inspection of the request-
ed material as soon as practicable but in no
event later than three days after the date
approval of the disclosure was received.
Before permitting inspection, the board will
redact any information that reveals financial
institution account numbers, social security
numbers, and any other information protect-
ed from disclosure by state or federal law.
The board may charge a reasonable fee for
copying any of the documents subject to the
request.

G Any person may, at any
time, seek a court order for release of the
requested information pursuant to Section
60-2E-42 of the act.

H. The board, upon its
own motion, may seek the release of confi-
dential information by following the proce-
dures outlined in this section and all its sub-
parts.

L. That information
described as nonconfidential in Subsection
15.1.2.8(B) and in Section 15.1.2.10 is not
subject to the disclosure procedures
described in this rule.

[11/30/98; 15.1.2.9 NMAC - Rn, 15 NMAC
1.2.9, 1/31/02; A, 5/14/04]

NEW MEXICO GAMING
CONTROL BOARD

This is an amendment to 15.1.5 NMAC,
Sections 10, 17, 21, effective 5/14/04.

15.1.5.10 APPLICATIONS,
STATEMENTS, AND NOTICES -
FORM AND GENERAL REQUIRE-
MENTS:

A. Every application,
statement, and notice required to be filed
under the act or this rule must be submitted
on forms supplied or approved by the board
and must contain such information and doc-
uments as specified.

B. The applicant must file
with the application all supplemental forms
provided by the board. Such forms require
full disclosure of all details relative to the
applicant’s antecedents, immediate family,
habits and character, criminal record, busi-
ness activities, financial affairs and business
associates for the ten-year period immedi-
ately preceding the filing date of the appli-
cation.

C. Upon request of the

board, the applicant must further supple-
ment any information provided in the appli-
cation. The applicant must provide all
requested documents, records, supporting
data, and other information within the time
period specified in the request, or if no time
is specified, within 30 days of the date of
the request. If the applicant fails to provide
the requested information within the
required time period as set forth in the
request or this rule, the board may deny the
application unless good cause is shown.

D. An applicant must sub-
mit evidence satisfactory to the board that
the applicant is sufficiently capitalized to
conduct the business proposed in the appli-
cation. In determining whether an applicant
is sufficiently capitalized, the board will
consider such things as the applicant’s
annual financial statements and federal tax
returns for the preceding three years,
whether the applicant has adequate financ-
ing available to pay all current obligations,
and whether the applicant is likely to be
able to adequately cover all existing and
foreseeable obligations in the future.

E. All information
required to be included in an application
must be true and complete as of the date of
board action sought by the applicant. If
there is any change in the information con-
tained in the application, the applicant must
file a written amendment in accordance
with this rule.

F. The application and any
amendments must be sworn to or affirmed
by the applicant before a notary public. If
any document is signed by an attorney for
the applicant, the signature must certify that
the attorney has read the document and that,
to the best of the attorney’s knowledge,
information and belief, based on diligent
inquiry, the contents of the documents sup-
plied are true.

G The applicant must
cooperate fully with the board and any
agent of the board with respect to back-
ground investigation of the applicant,
including, upon request, making available
any and all of its books and records for
inspection. The board will examine the
background, personal history, financial
associations, character, record and reputa-
tion of the applicant, including an applicant
seeking a finding of suitability, to the extent
the board determines is necessary to evalu-
ate the qualifications and suitability of the
applicant.

H. The board will auto-
matically deny the application of any appli-
cant that refuses to submit to a background
investigation as required pursuant to the act
and this rule.

L Neither the state, the
board, any agency with which the board
contracts to conduct background investiga-

tions, or the employees of any of the fore-
going, may be held liable for any inaccurate
information obtained through such an
investigation.

J. All new applications
submitted to the New Mexico gaming con-
trol board shall be completed within 120
days of receipt of the application, which
time may be extended by the board upon
good cause. Failure to complete the appli-
cation within such time period shall result in
the forfeiture of all licensing fees. Applicant
shall be required to re-submit a new appli-
cation with licensing fees should the appli-

cant still wish to pursue licensure.
[11/30/98; 15.1.5.10 NMAC - Rn, 15

NMAC 1.5.10, 3/31/00; A, 2/14/02; A,
5/14/04]

15.1.5.17
WORK PERMIT:

A. Application for a work
permit must be made, processed, and deter-
mined in the same manner as set forth in the
act or this rule for other applications. No
person may be employed as a gaming
employee unless the board has first
approved the application for such a permit.

B. The applicant must sub-
mit his or her fingerprints in duplicate on
fingerprint cards and his or her photograph
in duplicate. The fingerprints will not be
accepted unless the fingerprints were taken
under the supervision of, and certified by, a
state police officer, a county sherift, munic-
ipal chief of police, or sworn peace officer,
or, upon board approval, another entity pro-
viding the services of a certified identifica-
tion technician. The photographs must be
no smaller than 2” x 3” and must be satis-
factory to the board. The photographs also
must have been taken no earlier than three
months before the date the application for
work permit was filed.

C. In addition to grounds
for denial of an application described in the
act and this rule, the board may deny the
application if the applicant has had a work
permit revoked in any jurisdiction or has
committed any act that is grounds for revo-
cation of a work permit under the act or this
rule.

APPLICATION FOR

D. A work permit issued to
a gaming employee must identify the man-
ufacturer’s, distributor’s, or gaming opera-
tor’s license under which the permit is
issued and must have clearly imprinted on
the permit a statement that the permit is
valid for gaming purposes.

E. A work permit issued
by the board is not an endorsement or clear-
ance by the board, but is merely verification
that the individual has furnished his or her
fingerprints and photograph to the board as
required by this rule.

F. A work permit expires
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unless renewed in accordance with this title
or if the employee is not employed as a
gaming employee for more than 90 days.
G. A work permit is prop-
erty of the state of New Mexico. Any gam-
ing employee whose employment is termi-
nated for any reason [#aust]_shall surrender
his or her work permit to the board upon ter-
mination. _A licensee shall notify the board,
in_writing, of a work permit termination
within three (3) business days of the termi-

nation.

H. Any otherwise quali-
fied person may obtain a work permit to
work as a gaming employee for a nonprofit
gaming operator licensee and is not required
to be a member of the nonprofit organiza-
tion. A person holding a work permit may
provide services to the nonprofit gaming
operator licensee on a paid or volunteer
basis.

I The holder of a work
permit must submit an application for a new
work permit if the employee changes
employers and the new employer is an
applicant or licensee of the board. The
employee may not begin working for the
new employer until the employee has
obtained a new work permit.

J. Upon the receipt of a
completed application, an applicant shall be
provided a provisional gaming license
which shall be terminated upon the issuance
of a permanent work permit or the written

determination to deny the work permit.
[11/30/98; 15.1.5.17 NMAC - Rn & A, 15

NMAC 1.5.17, 3/31/00; A, 10/15/00; A,
2/14/02; A, 5/14/04]

15.1.5.21
FEES:

APPLICATION

A. The applicant must pay,
in the amount and manner prescribed by this
rule, all license fees and fees and costs
incurred in connection with the processing
and investigation of any application submit-
ted to the board.

B. Applicants must submit
the following nonrefundable fees with an
application for licensure or other approval:

(1) manufacturer’s license,
$10,000;

(2) distributor’s license, $5,000;

(3) gaming operator’s license for
racetrack, $25,000;

(4) gaming operator’s license for
nonprofit organization, $100;

(5) approval of application to
install pre-approved modification to a
licensed gaming machine filed by gaming
operator licensee, $25;

(6) gaming machine license, $100
per machine;

(7) work permit, $25;

(8) certification of finding of suit-
ability, $25 for each person requiring inves-

tigation; and

(9) approval of amended gaming
operator license, $50 for amended license
due to addition or deletion of five or fewer
machines; $250 for all other amended
licenses.

C. In addition to any non-
refundable license or approval fee paid, the
applicant must pay all supplementary inves-
tigative fees and costs, as follows:

(1) an applicant for a manufactur-
er’s license, distributor’s license, or gaming
operator’s license for a racetrack must pay,
in advance, an amount equal to the license
fee as a deposit on fees and costs of the
investigation. Upon completion of the
investigation and determination of the actu-
al fees and costs, the board will refund over-
payments or charge the applicant for under-
payments in an amount sufficient to reim-
burse the board for actual fees and costs;

(2) all other applicants must reim-
burse the board in an amount sufficient to
cover actual fees and costs of the investiga-
tion upon completion of the investigation;
and

(3) all applicants must fully reim-
burse the board within 30 days of receipt of
notice of actual fees and costs incurred by
the board for any underpayment or other
amount owed by the applicant.

D. Investigative fees are
charged at the rate of $50 per hour for each
hour spent by investigators of the board or
the board’s agents in conducting an investi-
gation. In addition to fees, costs to be paid
by the applicant include transportation,
lodging, meals, and other expenses associ-
ated with traveling, which expenses will be
reimbursed based on state mileage and per
diem rules, and office expenses, document
copying costs, and other reasonable expens-
es incurred. Checks must be made payable
to the New Mexico gaming control board.

E. In addition to any non-
refundable application and supplementary
investigation fees and costs, licensed manu-
facturers and distributors must pay a gam-
ing device inspection fee in an amount not
to exceed the actual cost of the inspection.
The manufacturer or distributor must pay
the estimated cost of the inspection in
advance. Upon completion of the inspec-
tion and determination of the actual cost,
the board will refund overpayments or
charge the manufacturer or distributor for
underpayments in an amount sufficient to
reimburse the board for the actual cost. The
manufacturer or distributor must fully reim-
burse the board within 30 days of receipt of
notice of underpayment. Lab fees are
charged at the rate of $50 per hour for each
hour spent by the board’s technical person-
nel to inspect or test a gaming device.

F. The board may refuse
to take final action on any application

unless all license, approval, and investiga-
tion fees and costs have been paid in full.
The board may deny the application if the
applicant refuses or fails to pay all such fees
and costs. In addition to any other limita-
tions on reapplication, the applicant will be
debarred from filing any other application
with the board until all such fees and costs
are paid in full.

G. If the board determines
at any time during the application process
that the applicant is not qualified, or cannot
qualify, to hold the license or other approval
sought, the board will notify the applicant,
in writing. The board will discontinue
investigation and processing of the applica-
tion and will issue a final, written order
denying the application.

H. The maximum fee for
processing any application will not exceed
$100,000, regardless of actual costs of sup-
plemental investigations.

L The board may contract
with any state board or agency to conduct
any investigation required or permitted to
be conducted under the act or board regula-
tions, as determined necessary by the board.

J. Neither the license or
approval fees nor any other fees or costs
arising in connection with the application or
investigation will be refunded or waived on
the grounds that the application was denied
or withdrawn or that processing was other-
wise terminated.

K. Gaming machine
licensing fees may be pro-rated if the

license is granted within three months of
December 31.

[11/30/98; 15.1.5.21 NMAC - Rn, 15
NMAC 1.5.21, 3/31/00; A, 10/15/00; A,
2/14/02; A, 5/14/04]

NEW MEXICO GAMING
CONTROL BOARD

This is an amendment to 15.1.7 NMAC,
Section 20, and 26, effective 5/14/04.

15.1.7.20 DISPLAY OF
RULES OF PLAY:

A. The rules of play for a
gaming device [sust] shall be displayed
on the face or screen of the gaming device
or capable of display at the player’s option
through use of an easily-accessible help
screen.

B. The rules of play
[#ast] shall be evaluated by the independ-
ent testing laboratory designated by the
board and [sast] shall be approved by the
board. The board may reject the rules if
the board determines that the rules are
incomplete, conflicting, confusing, or mis-
leading.

C. The rules of play
[#est] shall be kept under glass or other



304

New Mexico Register / Volume XV, Number 9 / May 14, 2004

transparent substance.

D. The rules of play [#rey]
shall not be altered without prior approval
from the board.

E. Except for posting of
odds pursuant to Section 15.1.10.21 NMAC

and the display of the rules of play, stickers
or other removable devices [se¥] shall not

be placed on the gaming device face unless
their placement is approved [e++eguired] by
the board.

[11/30/98; 15.1.7.20 NMAC - Rn, 15
NMAC 1.7.20, 3/31/00; A, 5/14/04]

15.1.7.26 THEORETICAL
PERCENTAGE PAYOUT REQUIRE-
MENTS:

A. During the expected

lifetime of the gaming machine, the gaming
machine [sust] shall not pay out less than
80% f{rer—mere—than—96%—of—the—ameonnt
wagered).

B. The theoretical payout
percentage must be determined using stan-
dard methods of the probability theory. The
percentage must be calculated using the
highest level of skill where player skill
impacts the payback percentage.

C. A gaming machine
must have a probability of obtaining the sin-
gle highest posted maximum payout of
more than 1 in 50,000,000.

[11/30/98; 15.1.7.26 NMAC - Rn, 15
NMAC 1.7.26, 3/31/00; A, 1/31/02; A,
5/14/04]

NEW MEXICO GAMING
CONTROL BOARD

This is an amendment to 15.1.8 NMAC,
Sections 9, 13, 14, 18, and 21, effective
5/14/04.

15.1.8.9
RECORDS:

A. Each licensee must
keep accurate, complete, legible, and per-
manent records, in the manner required or
approved by the board and in accordance
with generally accepted accounting princi-
ples, pertaining to revenue that is taxable or
subject to fees under the act. Each licensee
that keeps permanent records in an electron-
ic format must provide to the audit and
compliance services division, upon request,
a detailed index of computer records in a
format satisfactory to the board.

B. Each licensee must use
double-entry accounting and maintain
detailed subsidiary records, including the
following:

(1) detailed records of revenues,
expenses, assets, liabilities, and equity of
the gaming establishment;

(2) gaming machine analysis
reports that compare, by each machine,

ACCOUNTING

actual hold percentages to theoretical hold
percentages;

(3) the records required either by
the board’s minimum standards for internal
control systems or, if the board determines
that the licensee’s system is at least equiva-
lent to the board’s minimum standards, the
records required by the licensee’s system of
internal control;

(4) journal entries prepared by the
licensee and its independent accountant;
and

(5) any other records that the
board specifically requires to be main-
tained.

C. If a licensee fails to
keep adequate gaming revenue records, the
board may compute the amount of taxable
revenue upon the basis of an audit conduct-
ed by the audit and compliance services
division, on the basis of any information
within the board’s possession, upon statisti-
cal analysis, or upon any other basis
deemed reasonable by the board.

D. Non-profit licensees are
required to have a designated gaming
accountant, who shall be found suitable as a
key person by the board. The gaming
accountant shall have a reasonable amount
of experience in accounting/bookkeeping.
In the event that the designated gaming
accountant cannot provide monthly finan-
cial statements and books acceptable to the
board, the board may require the non-profit
licensee to contract with a qualified inde-
pendent bookkeeper. The independent
bookkeeper is not required to be found suit-
able as a key executive or to obtain a work
permit so long as the bookkeeper duties are
limited to preparing the gaming books and
financial statements and not signing gaming
forms.

[12/31/98; 15.1.8.9 NMAC - Rn & A, 15
NMAC 1.8.9, 10/15/00; A, 5/14/04]

15.1.8.13 STANDARD FINAN-
CIAL STATEMENTS FOR NON-PROF-
ITS:

State:]

A. Non-profit _ licensees
shall prepare monthly financial statements
covering all financial activities of the
licensees’ gaming operations for submission
to the board. Gaming financial statements
include monthly and year to date profit and
loss statements and balance sheets.

B. The monthly financial
statements shall be prepared using a double
entry accounting system.

C. Non-profit _licensees
shall prepare financial statements in accor-
dance with the uniform chart of accounts
prescribed by the board.

D. Non-profit _licensees
shall submit their financial statements to the
board no later than the 28th day of the fol-
lowing month. Fach financial statement
shall be signed by the preparer, who thereby
attests to the completeness and accuracy of
the data provided.

E. In the event that a non-
profit licensee fails to submit monthly gam-
ing financial statements to the board, the
board may require the non-profit licensee to
provide annual CPA audited financial state-
ments.

F. Non-profit _ licensees
shall submit copies of their federal income
tax returns (Form 990) to the board within

30 days of filing with the internal revenue
service.

[12/31/98; 15.1.8.13 NMAC - Rn, 15
NMAC 1.8.13, 10/15/00; A, 5/14/04]

15.1.8.14 TAX
AUDITED FINANCIAL
MENTS; OTHER LICENSEES:
A. [Heenseessmust-submit
f i c e .

RETURNS;
STATE-
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returns-with-theJnternal-Revente-Serviee:|
Racetrack gaming operator., distributor, and
manufacturer licensees shall submit copies
of their federal income tax returns to the

board within 30 days of filing their returns
with the internal revenue service. If a

licensee files an “application for automatic
extension of time to file U.S. income tax
return” with the internal revenue service

the licensee shall submit a copy of the
request for extension within 30 calendar

days of submitting such request to the inter-
nal revenue service.

B. [Eeeh—tHeensee—must

. e b aekivii 5;
the-Heensee’s-establishment-for-the-two-pre-
eeding—business—years:|Racetrack gaming
operator, _distributor, and manufacturer
licensees shall submit annually two copies
of their audited financial statements with
comparative figures from the prior year
covering all financial activities of the
licensee to the board no later than 120 days

after the close of the licensee’s fiscal year
end.

C. Each licensee [w+H]
shall engage an independent certified public
accountant who fw#H] shall audit the finan-
cial statements in accordance with feeneral-

-aeeeptedauditingstandards—The—finan

—the—two—yeatr—period| auditing standards
generally accepted in the United States of
America. The financial statements shall be
prepared in conformity with accounting

principles generally accepted in the United
States of America.

D. In the event of a license
termination or change in business entity, the
licensee or former licensee will, not later
than 90 days after the event, submit to the
board two copies of its financial statements,
or if required by the board, audited financial
statements, covering the period from the
end of the period covered by the previous
financial statement to the date of the event.
If a license termination or change in busi-
ness entity occurs within 90 days after the
end of a business year for which a financial
statement has not been submitted, the
licensee may submit financial statements
covering both the business year and the
final period of business rather than separate
statements.

E. If a licensee changes its
business year, the licensee must prepare and
submit to the board financial statements
covering the period from the end of the pre-
vious business year to the beginning of the
new business year, submitted within 90

days after the end of the period. Such finan-
cial statements must be audited if required
by the board. With board approval, the
licensee may incorporate the financial
results of the period in the financial state-
ments for the new business year.

F. The licensee shall sub-
mit to the board a copy of any audit and
review findings reports and management
advisory letters with the audited financial
statements and independent auditor’s report

on compliance with minimum internal con-
trol standards. The licensee [#ust} shall

submit audit and review reports and man-
agement advisory letters within H5] 30
days of receipt.

G The board may request
additional information and documents from
either the licensee or the licensee’s inde-
pendent certified public accountant, directly
or through the licensee, regarding the finan-
cial statements or services performed by the
accountant. Failure to submit the requested
information or documents constitutes an
unsuitable method of operation.

[12/31/98; 15.1.8.14 NMAC - Rn, 15
NMAC 1.8.14, 10/15/00; A, 5/14/04]

15.1.8.18 NONPROFIT
LICENSEES; SEPARATE OPERATING
ACCOUNTS:

A. FA—nenprefit—ersaniza-
Hon—samins—operater] Nonprofit licensees|
stst] shall establish and maintain a sepa-
rate operating account exclusively for the

deposit of all gaming [eeeiptsnotreqrired
.S ] . ;

aeeewnt] funds. The account [must shall be
in a [bewk] financial institution that is
licensed by the state, in a national bank with
an office in the state, or in another financial
institution acceptable to the board. The
bank or other financial institution [#re¥]
shall not be an affiliate of the nonprofit
[eteanizationsamingoperator| licensee.

B. The operating account
is subject to the following restrictions and
requirements:

) [a-l-l—gam-mg—r-eee-n-pfs—ﬁef

transfer-aecount-rast-be-promptiy-depesit-
ed—into—the—operatine—aeceonnt| all net rev-
enue after replenishment of imprest funds
shall be deposited into the gaming operating
account;

(2) a nonprofit gaming licensee
who does not prepare and file a correct
financial statement shall deposit all gaming
funds into their gaming operating account
after each drop and count; determination of
this requirement should be made by the
board or their designee; once the deposit is
made, a check is written back to the cashier

cage and/or vault (if applicable) for replen-

ishment;

(3) at the end of the month, the

required charity and educational funds shall
be transferred from the operating account
into the charity account;

(4) at the end of the month, the
required gaming tax shall be transferred
from the operating account into the gaming
tax account;

[®)] (5) the nonprofit [erganize
Hongamine-operator] licensee [arust] shall

maintain detailed records of all deposits
into, and withdrawals and disbursements
from, the operating account;

[(3)] (6) monies in the operating
account, with the exception of charity fund
transfers, discretionary fund transfers and

gaming tax fund transfers, [sust} shall be
used exclusively for the payment of allow-

able gaming expenses [end—echaritable—er
#te]; and

D] (1) gaming [reeeipis—taay]
funds shall not be commingled with any
other monies of the nonprofit organization
[eamins-operater] licensee.

C. Commingling of gam-
ing [reeeipts] funds and other monies of the
nonprofit [ercenizetion—camine—operator]
licensee and use of any monies in the oper-
ating account for any purpose other than the
payment of allowable gaming expenses
[end—charitable—er—edueational—purpeses],
charity and educational fund transfers. dis-

cretionary fund transfers, and gaming tax
fund transfers as identified in this title con-

stitute unsuitable methods of operation.

D. Non-profit _ licensees
shall establish and maintain a separate char-
ity and education bank account exclusively
for the deposit of all required charitable and
educational funds. The account shall be in
a financial institution that is licensed by the
state, a national bank with an office in the
state. or in another financial institution

accepted by the board. The bank or other
financial institution shall not be an affiliate

of the non-profit organization gaming oper-
ator licensee.
E. The charitable and edu-

cation account is subject to the following
restrictions and requirements:

(1) non-profit licensees shall
deposit the required charity/educational

ercentage of net revenue (gross revenues
less jackpot payouts) into their charity/edu-
cational account by the end of each month;

(2) the non-profit licensee shall
maintain detailed records of all deposits
into, and withdrawals, and disbursements
from, the charity/educational account unless
an exemption is granted by the board.;

(3) monies in the charity/educa-
tional account shall be used exclusively for
charitable and educational payments as set
forth in this title; and

(4) charitable/educational funds
shall not be commingled with any other
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monies of the non-profit gaming licensee.
[12/31/98; 15.1.8.18 NMAC -Rn, 15

NMAC 1.8.18, 10/15/00; A, 5/14/04]

15.1.8.21 SLOT ACCOUNT-
ING SYSTEM; RACETRACKS: A slot
accounting system shall be required for all
racetracks licensed after September 1, 2003.
A racetrack in operation as of September 1,
2003, is not required to obtain a slot
accounting system. If a racetrack in opera-
tion, prior to September 1, 2003, has imple-
mented a slot accounting system, the race-

track shall maintain a slot accounting sys-
tem.

[15.1.8.21 NMAC - N, 5/14/04]

NEW MEXICO GAMING
CONTROL BOARD

This is an amendment to 15.1.10 NMAC,
Sections 7, 13, 17, 20, 21, 22, 23, 28, 32,
45, and 46, effective 5/14/04.

15.1.10.7 DEFINITIONS:
Unless otherwise defined below, terms used
in this rule have the same meanings as set
forth in the Gaming Control Act:

A. “act” means the
Gaming Control Act;
B. “additional payout”

means a supplemental payout that is not
reflected in the gaming machine pay table
(e.g., double jackpot);

C. “affiliate” means a cor-
poration that is related to another corpora-
tion by shareholdings or other means of
control; a subsidiary, parent. or sibling cor-
poration;

[&] D. “allocate” means the
transfer of an allocating racetrack’s right to
operate a number of its authorized gaming
machines to the receiving racetrack;

[B<] E. “allocation agree-
ment” means a written contract between an
allocating racetrack and a receiving race-
track;

[#] E.  “allocating racetrack”
means a racetrack gaming operator licensee
that has allocated or is proposing to allocate
anumber of its authorized gaming machines
to a receiving racetrack pursuant to a valid
allocation agreement;

[] G. “allowable gaming
expenses” means the following bona fide
expenses in reasonable and customary
amounts: (a) purchase prices of non-cash
prizes; (b) security and surveillance expens-
es; (¢) independent accountant’s fees; (d)
license fees, including renewals and gaming
machine license fees; (e) utilities attributa-
ble to the licensed premises; (f) installment
payments to an independent administrator
or lease payments for licensed gaming
machines; (g) gaming device repair and

maintenance; (h) gaming employee salaries
and employment taxes; (i) gaming supplies;
(j) approved management fees; and (k)
licensed premises repair and maintenance;

[&] H. “balance of net take”
means the amount of net take remaining
after the gaming operator licensee pays the
gaming tax, income and other applicable
taxes, and allowable gaming expenses as set
forth in this rule;

[H:] L.  “charitable purposes”
means activities that promote, directly or
indirectly, the well-being of the public at
large or the benefit of an indefinite number
of persons in the state; the term “charitable
purposes” does not include operating
expenses of the organization;

[E]J. “credit slip” means a
cash-out ticket for winnings earned on a
gaming machine that provides for credit
play;

[&] K. “educational purpos-
es” means activities or uses that develop the
capabilities of individuals by formal
instruction;

[I] L. “gaming credit”
means an accumulation of awards on a gam-
ing machine display screen rather than from
the dispensing of winnings from a hopper;
one gaming credit equals the denomination
of the game being played;

[E=] M. “independent admin-
istrator” means (a) a bank licensed by the
state of New Mexico or a national bank with
an office in New Mexico; or (b) an insur-
ance company admitted to transact business
in New Mexico with a best insurance rating
of “A+” or other equivalent rating; and (c)
one that is not an affiliate of the gaming
operator licensee;

[M=] N. “receiving racetrack”
means a racetrack gaming operator licensee
that is proposing to receive, or has received
pursuant to a valid allocation agreement,
allocated gaming machines from an allocat-
ing racetrack;

[A:] O. “management con-
tractor” means any person that has entered
into a management contract with a gaming
operator licensee; a management contractor
may not be an affiliate of the licensee;

[©:] P. “nonprofit operator
licensee” means a qualified nonprofit
organization that has obtained a gaming
operator’s license pursuant to the provisions
of the act and board regulations;

[B] Q. “periodic payments”
means a series of payments that are paid at
least annually and includes annuities;

[Q-] R. “person” means a legal
entity or individual;

[R:] S. “promotion” means a
short-term program designed to stimulate
participation in gaming activities by patrons
through advertising and the award of cash
and non-cash prizes; “promotion” includes

the gift of nominal value items, such as T-
shirts and mugs;

[S<] T. “representative copy”
means a reproduction of the intended adver-
tising in substantially the same form as the
final advertising for the promotion;

[¥] U. “state” means the state
of New Mexico;
[B+] V. “this title” means Title

15, Chapter 1 of the state administrative
code;

[¥] W.  “trust” means an irrev-
ocable fiduciary relationship in which one
person is the holder of the title to property
subject to an equitable obligation to keep or
use the property for the benefit of another.
[12/31/98; 15.1.10.7 NMAC - Rn & A, 15
NMAC 1.10.7, 3/31/00; A, 04/30/02; A
5/14/04]

15.1.10.13 REPORTS OF VIO-
LATIONS: Each licensee [w+H] shall
immediately notify the board’s enforcement
division by telephone and in writing of the
discovery of any violation or suspected vio-
lation of the act, rules promulgated under
the act, or of any other state or federal gam-
ing law.

[12/31/98; 15.1.10.13 NMAC - Rn, 15
NMAC 1.10.13, 3/31/00; A, 5/14/04]

15.1.10.17 GAMING BY OWN-
ERS, DIRECTORS, OFFICERS, KEY
EXECUTIVES, WORK PERMITEES
OR TECHNICIANS:

A. None of the following
members of a nonprofit operator licensee,
or of any affiliate of the licensee, [#e]
shall play any gaming device made avail-
able to members and auxiliary members by
that licensee or on a gaming establishment
that is owned or operated in whole or in part
by that licensee:

(1) the officer holding the highest
rank;

(2) officers, members or auxiliary
members who have (a) check-writing
authority or other access to any account in
which gaming receipts may be deposited;
or (b) other financial or decision-making
responsibility over any gaming activity;

(3) key executives, such as the
gaming manager; and

(4) any person who has access to
software or an area within the internal struc-
ture of any gaming machine or associated
equipment in which the functioning of the
gaming machine may be altered or manipu-
lated.

B. No officer, director,
owner, or key executive of a racetrack gam-
ing operator licensee, or of any affiliate of
the licensee, [me¥| shall play any gaming
device made available to the public by that
licensee or on a gaming establishment that
is owned or operated in whole or in part by
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that licensee.

C. Except for the purpose
of servicing the gaming device, no techni-
cian [#ey] shall play any gaming device
located at a gaming establishment that is
operated by the technician’s employer or by
any licensee for which the technician or the
technician’s employer provides services.

D. No person holding a
work permit shall play any gaming device

while on duty as a gaming employee.
[12/31/98; 15.1.10.17 NMAC - Rn & A, 15

NMAC 1.10.17, 3/31/00; A, 12/28/01; A,
5/14/04]

15.1.10.20 ADDITIONAL PAY-
OUTS; PROMOTIONS:
[P A. Additional payouts and

promotions shall be conducted in a manner
that promotes responsible gaming. All
advertising (any printed, television, news-
papers, posters, direct mail, etc., excluding
radio) shall include an appropriate responsi-
ble gaming message and toll free telephone

number for compulsive gambling assis-
tance. The gaming operator licensee [srast}

shall notify the board in writing at least ten
business days before the beginning date for
the proposed additional payouts. The writ-
ten notice must include a description of the
proposed additional payouts (e.g., double
jackpots for all dollar gaming machines),
the proposed effective dates for the addi-
tional payouts, which may not exceed 90
days without written approval from the
board, the times and conditions necessary
for additional payouts to occur, the license
numbers of the gaming machines offering
the additional payouts, and the dollar value
of the additional payouts. The same infor-
mation [saust] shall be clearly posted on the
gaming premises in a clearly visible loca-
tion during the effective dates of the addi-
tional payout program.

stve-gambling-assistanee:|

[E<] B. The gaming operator
licensee [sawst]_shall notify the board in
writing at least ten business days before the
beginning date of a promotion. The written
notice [#aust] shall include a description of
the promotion, a representative copy of all
advertising related to the promotion, the
proposed beginning and ending dates of the
promotion, and a description and dollar
value of cash and non-cash prizes or pro-
motional items to be awarded. The gaming
operator licensee also [#ust] shall notify the
board immediately in writing if there is any
change in the beginning or ending date of a

promotion.

[A=] C. The value of additional
payouts and substantial cash or non-cash
prizes awarded as part of a promotion and
based on gaming machine wagers may be
deducted from gaming machine revenue
provided the gaming operator licensee com-
plies with all applicable requirements of this
section. The cost of advertising, promo-
tional materials, reimbursements to patrons,
and promotions involving gifts of nominal
value may not be deducted from gaming
machine revenue. [A—geamins—operater

: i It o I
The racetrack gaming operator licensee
shall notify the board in writing (using the
form approved by the board) at least ten
business days before the beginning date of
the proposed additional payout promotion
that will be conducted by the licensee. The
written notification shall include a descrip-
tion of the proposed additional payout pro-
motion (e.g.. double jackpots for all dollar
gaming machines). the proposed effective
dates (beginning and ending dates) for the
additional payouts, which shall not exceed
90 days without written approval from the
board. the times and conditions necessary
for additional payouts to occur, the license
numbers of the gaming machines offering
the additional payouts, and the dollar value
of the additional payouts. The rules or any
special conditions of how the additional
payout promotion shall be conducted shall
be written on the notification. The same
information shall be clearly posted on the
gaming premises in a clearly visible loca-
tion during the effective dates of the addi-
tional payout promotion

D. The racetrack gaming
operator licensee shall notify the board in
writing (using the form approved by the
board) at least ten business days before the
beginning date of the proposed promotion
that shall be conducted by the licensee that
is not an additional payout and whether or
not a patron is required to make a wager on
the gaming machine (e.g.. enter name in a
drawing for cash or prizes. participate in a
game for cash or prize that does not involve
using gaming machine, etc.). The written
notification shall include a description of
the proposed promotion, the proposed
effective dates (beginning and ending dates)
for the promotion, which shall not exceed
90 days without written approval from the
board. and a description and dollar value of
cash and non-cash prizes or promotional
items to be awarded. The licensee’s written
notice must include a representative copy of
all advertising (printed. television, newspa-
pers, posters, direct mail, etc., excluding
radio) related to the promotion. The rules or
any special conditions of how the promo-

tion will be conducted shall be written on
the notification. The same information

shall be clearly posted on the gaming prem-
ises in a clearly visible location during the
effective dates of the promotion. The
licensee also shall notify the board immedi-
ately in writing if there is any change in the
beginning and end dates of the promotion or
there are any changes or modifications as to
how the promotion shall be conducted.
[&] E. The licensee also shall
notify the board immediately in writing if
there is any change in the beginning and end
dates of the promotion or there are any

changes or modifications as to how the pro-
motion shall be conducted. Player tracking

systems [#wast} shall be approved by the
board in accordance with rules governing
approval of associated equipment. A gam-
ing operator licensee fast} shall delete a
player’s name from the system immediately
upon the player’s request. Names deleted
from the player tracking system at the play-
er’s request [#ay} shall not be repro-
grammed into the system except upon
express authorization by the player.

F. The board’s receipt of
notice of a proposed additional payout or
promotion does not constitute endorsement
of the proposed additional payout or promo-
tion or a guarantee by the board that any
additional payouts will be made or that pro-
motional items will be awarded.

G. The board is not
required to approve or disapprove the pro-
posed additional payouts or promotion,
except for extensions of effective dates.
The board, however, may direct the gaming
operator licensee to cancel, modify or dis-
continue the additional payouts or promo-
tion if the board determines the additional
payouts or promotion is contrary to law or
otherwise contrary to the public health,
safety, morals, or general welfare.

H. Failure to give the
board notice of a proposed additional pay-
out or promotion as required in this rule, or
failure to cancel, discontinue or modify
those activities as directed by the board,
may subject the gaming operator licensee to
fines or other disciplinary action.

L Nothing in this rule per-
mits the award of an additional payout,
cash, or non-cash prize the value of which
exceeds jackpot limits established by the act
or these rules.

[12/31/98; 15.1.10.20 NMAC - Rn & A, 15
NMAC 1.10.20, 3/31/00; A, 12/28/01; A,
5/14/04]

15.1.10.21 DETERMINATION
AND POSTING OF ODDS:
A. The gaming operator

licensee [#ust] shall post the odds of win-

ning [e#] in a conspicuous place on the face
of each gaming machine or in a conspicuous



308

New Mexico Register / Volume XV, Number 9 / May 14, 2004

place immediately adjacent to the gaming
machine. Failure to post odds for any gam-
ing machine [w#H] shall subject the licensee
to disciplinary action.

(1) The odds must be posted in a
manner which is clearly legible.

(2) If the odds are posted adjacent
to_the gaming machine, the posting must
clearly identify the gaming machine to
which it applies.

B. The odds to be posted
on a gaming machine [w#H] shall be the
odds of any player achieving a winning out-
come from the games available on that gam-
ing machine. For example, if the odds are
that a player will win something from the
particular gaming machine 20% of the time,
a notice containing the words “The odds of
winning are 1 in 5” should be posted as
required in this section.

[12/31/98; 15.1.10.21 NMAC - Rn, 15
NMAC 1.10.21, 3/31/00; A, 5/14/04]

15.1.10.22 SECURITY:

A. Gaming operator
licensees must implement and maintain
security measures that will ensure safe and
honest operation of the gaming establish-
ment.

i - Security person-
nel [sus shall possess and maintain valid
[tdentifieationt work permit cards at all
times while on duty.

C. A sufficient number of
security personnel must be on duty and in
appropriate areas to ensure that gaming
activities are conducted safely, honestly,
and in compliance with the law. If the board
determines at any time that security meas-
ures are inadequate, the board may require
that the licensee provide additional security
measures to the board’s satisfaction.
Failure to maintain adequate security meas-
ures is an unsuitable method of operation.
[12/31/98; 15.1.10.22 NMAC - Rn, 15
NMAC 1.10.22, 3/31/00; A, 12/28/01; A,
5/14/04]

15.1.10.23 SURVEILLANCE
SYSTEMS:
A. Each gaming operator

licensee [#wst] shall install, maintain and
continuously operate a surveillance system
at its licensed gaming establishment. The
purpose of the surveillance system is to
assist the gaming operator licensee and the
state in safeguarding the licensee’s assets, in
deterring, detecting and prosecuting crimi-
nal acts, and in maintaining public confi-
dence and trust that licensed gaming activi-

ty is conducted honestly and free of crimi-
nal elements and activity.

B. The board, in its sole
discretion, may exempt a gaming operator
licensee from the requirements of this sec-
tion. Unless exempted, failure of the
licensee to install, maintain and continuous-
ly operate an adequate surveillance system,
as determined by the board, constitutes an
unsuitable method of operation.

C. Within 60 days after fil-
ing its application, each applicant for a
gaming operator’s license [swast] shall sub-
mit a written surveillance system plan to the
board. The plan [#sst] shall be in a form
approved or required by the board and
[must] shall include descriptions of all
equipment utilized by the surveillance sys-
tem, a blueprint or diagram that shows all of
the areas to be monitored and the placement
of surveillance equipment in relation to the
activities being observed, a description of
the procedures used in the operation of the
surveillance system, and any other informa-
tion required by the board. The plan [srast]
shall be approved before a gaming operator
license [wHbe] is issued.

D. Before implementing
any changes to a surveillance system plan,
the licensee [#wst] shall submit the pro-
posed changes to the board for approval. If,
after reviewing the gaming operator
licensee’s proposed changes, the board
determines that the proposed plan is not
adequate, the board [wH] shall notify the
gaming operator licensee in writing. The
gaming operator licensee [#aust] shall revise
the proposed plan and submit it to the board
for approval or request a hearing within 30
days after receipt of the board’s written
notice. Failure to submit a revised plan for
board approval constitutes an unsuitable
method of operation, unless a hearing has
been requested in accordance with this sub-
section.

E. A licensee [srust| shall
notify the board immediately of any failure
of the surveillance system to continuously
monitor the gaming premises or to other-
wise operate properly. The board may
require temporary suspension of gaming
activities until the surveillance system is
restored.

F. A racetrack licensed

after September 1, 2003, shall provide at
least one entrance to the surveillance room
that is not located on the game room floor.
Any racetrack gaming operator licensee
who substantially remodels the gaming
premises shall provide at least one entrance
to the surveillance room that is not on the
gaming room floor.

[12/31/98; 15.1.10.23 NMAC - Rn, 15
NMAC 1.10.23, 3/31/00; A, 12/28/01; A,
5/14/04]

15.1.10.28 PATRON DISPUTES

(NON-PROFITS/RACETRACKS
ONLY):

A. In the event a dispute
arises with a patron concerning payment of
alleged winnings, the gaming operator
licensee [saust] shall notify the patron in
writing. at the time of the dispute, that the
patron has a right to contact the board
regarding the dispute.

B. A gaming operator
licensee [mrast-immediately| shall notify the
board within 48 hours of the time the dis-
pute arises if the licensee refuses to pay
alleged winnings to a patron, and the licens-
ee and the patron are unable to resolve the
dispute to the patron’s satisfaction, or the
dispute involves $500 or more. The board
[w+H] shall conduct whatever investigation
it deems necessary and [w+H] shall deter-
mine whether payment should be made. An
agent of the board may conduct the investi-
gation and report to the board for a final
decision.

C. Within 30 days of
receipt of notice of the dispute, the board
[w+H] shall notify the licensee and patron in
writing of the board’s decision regarding the
dispute.

D. It is a violation of this
rule for a gaming operator licensee to fail
[#araediately] to notify the board of a dis-
pute within 48 hours or to notify a patron at
the time of the dispute of the patron’s rights
or to fail to pay the patron after an adverse
decision by the board.

[12/31/98; 15.1.10.28 NMAC - Rn, 15
NMAC 1.10.28, 3/31/00; A, 5/14/04]

15.1.10.32 USE OF GAMING
RECEIPTS BY NONPROFIT OPERA-
TOR LICENSEE:

A. A nonprofit operator
licensee may utilize up to 65% of net take,
after payment of the gaming tax and income
taxes, to pay allowable expenses in reason-
able amounts for conducting gaming activi-
ties on its licensed premises. If the non-
profit operator licensee has entered into a
valid lease or other arrangement for furnish-
ing gaming machines, the 65% maximum
shall be distributed as follows:

(1) up to 40% of net take for pay-
ment to licensed distributors pursuant to a
lease or other arrangement for furnishing a
gaming machine; and

(2) for payment of other allow-
able gaming expenses, an amount equal to
the difference between 65 % of net take less
the amount paid to the distributor as
described above.

B. The percentage set
forth in this section constitutes the maxi-
mum amount that may be paid annually for
allowable gaming expenses from net take.
No other expenses related to or arising out
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from net take or gaming revenues, including
but not limited to supplies, fees for manage-
ment and other services, and repairs to and
maintenance of licensed premises and gam-
ing devices.

C. [lr—ne-event-may—a] A
nonprofit operator licensee shall not under
any circumstances pay to any distributor
licensee the percentage payment allowed in
this section until the gaming tax and other
applicable taxes have been paid and provid-
ed all taxes and fees are current.

D. [Ne] A nonprofit opera-
tor licensee or distributor licensee [#rey]
shall not enter into a contract, written or
oral, in which the distributor’s compensa-
tion or other payment is based on a percent-
age of net take for furnishing gaming
machines under a lease or other arrange-
ment until the contract has been reduced to
writing and approved by the board.

E. The nonprofit operator
licensee [#ust] shall distribute at least 60%
of the balance of net take to charitable or
educational purposes, which purposes do
not include gaming expenses. All funds
required to be spent for charitable or educa-
tional purposes must be expended each year
within 120 days after close of licensee’s fis-
cal year end. The maximum 40% remaining
after such distribution may be used for other
expenses at the discretion of the nonprofit
operator licensee, provided none of those
expenses [hes—beer] shall be incurred to
compensate a licensed distributor for the
furnishing of gaming machines.

F. All distributions for
charitable and educational expenses shall be
made no later than 120 days after the close

of the nonprofit licensee’s fiscal year end.
[12/31/98; 15.1.10.32 NMAC - Rn & A, 15

NMAC 1.10.32, 3/31/00; A, 7/31/02; A,
5/14/04]

15.1.10.45 NONPROFIT CON-
TRACTS:
A. A _nonprofit gaming

operator licensee shall submit any contract
or lease agreement between the nonprofit
gaming operator licensee and any other
licensee to the board for review not less
than 30 calendar days before the contract or
lease agreement goes into effect. The term
“contract or lease agreement” shall include
any amendment of an existing contract or
lease agreement.

B. Any contract or lease
agreement submitted for review shall
include copies of any ancillary agreement.

C. The contract or lease
agreement shall be deemed approved unless
the board disapproves the contract or lease
agreement in writing prior to the effective
date of the contract or lease agreement. The
board shall disapprove a contract or lease

tract or lease agreement was not submitted
in compliance with this rule or if it directly
or_indirectly permits another licensee to
manage or otherwise control the nonprofit
gaming operator licensee.

D. The factors that may be
considered by the board to be indicia of

direct or indirect management or control
include, but are not limited to:

(1) whether the amount and terms
of any loans made to the nonprofit gaming
operator licensee. including the principal
amount, interest rate, monthly payment and
re-payment period. are disproportionate to

the assets of the nonprofit gaming operator
licensee or create an excessive debt to

income ratio;

(2) whether the terms and condi-
tions of any gift. donation or other benefit
conferred to the non-profit gaming operator
licensee permit another licensee to exercise
any direct or indirect management or con-
trol over the day-to-day operations of the
nonprofit gaming operator licensee;

(3) whether the contract or agree-
ment contains a provision that calls for
automatic renewal of the contract or agree-
ment without notice,

(4) whether the term of the con-
tract or agreement is greater than five (5)
years,

(5) whether any other term or
condition of the lease agreement or contract
permits any licensee to effectively exercise
direct or indirect management or control
over any of the day-to-day operations of the

nonprofit gaming operator licensee.
[15.1.10.45 NMAC - N, 5/14/04]

15.1.10.46
DISTRIBUTOR/MANUFACTURER
PARTICIPATION IN SLOT REVENUE;
RACETRACK OPERATORS:

A. A distributor licensee

may receive a percentage of net take from a
particular gaming machine as a payment
pursuant to a lease or other arrangement for
furnishing the gaming machine to a race-

track gaming operator in an amount as
agreed to by the parties, but in no event

more than 40% of net take.

B. A manufacturer licens-
ee may receive a percentage of net take
from a particular gaming machine as a pay-
ment pursuant to a lease or other arrange-
ment for furnishing the gaming machine to

aracetrack gaming operator in an amount as
agreed to by the parties, but in no event

more than 40% of net take.
[15.1.10.46 NMAC - N, 5/14/04]

CONTROL BOARD

This is an amendment to 15.1.13 NMAC,
Section 10, effective 5/14/04.

15.1.13.10 LATE RENEWAL OF
LICENSE:
A. The board may, in its

discretion, accept and process a renewal
application filed after the deadline estab-
lished in section 15.1.13.8 above. Any such
application, however, will be subject to a
late renewal fee of $250 plus $10 per day
for each additional day the renewal applica-
tion is late.

B. To allow sufficient pro-

cessing time by the board, no renewal
application will be accepted by the board
within [45] 45 days of the expiration date of
the license, regardless of whether the licens-
ee pays late fees. Any licensee who fails to
submit a complete renewal application [+5]
45 days before the expiration date of his or
her license will be required to file a full
application for licensure and pay all appli-
cable fees and investigation costs if that per-
son desires to engage in the conduct of gam-
ing activities.
[12/31/98; 15.1.13.10 NMAC - Rn & A, 15
NMAC 1.13.10, 3/31/00; Repealed,
1/31/02; 15.1.13.10 NMAC - Rn,
15.1.13.11 NMAC, 1/31/02; A, 5/14/04]

NEW MEXICO GAMING
CONTROL BOARD

This is an amendment to 15.1.14 NMAC,
Sections 7, 8, 9, 10, 12, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18,
19, and 20, effective 5/14/04.

15.1.14.7 DEFINITIONS:
Unless otherwise defined below, terms used
in this rule have the same meanings as set
forth in the Gaming Control Act:

A. “act” means the
Gaming Control Act;
B. “disciplinary action”

means an action by the board that limits,
conditions, suspends or revokes a license,
registration, finding of suitability or prior
approval issued by the board, or an assess-
ment of a fine by the board, or any combi-
nation of the foregoing;

C. “party” means each
person named or admitted as a party to a
proceeding before the board or duly
appointed hearing examiner;

D. “person” means a legal
entity or individual;

E. “petitioner” means the
board or [e—persen—whe—fHes—a—request—for
heartng-before-the-beard] the board’s repre-

sentative;
F. “respondent” means a
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licensee or person to which an approval has
been granted and who is the subject of a
complaint issued by the board;

G. “state” means the state
of New Mexico.
[12/31/98; 15.1.14.7 NMAC - Rn, 15
NMAC 1.14.7 5/31/00; A, 5/14/04]

15.1.14.8 PUBLIC HEAR-
INGS; LOCATION; HEARING EXAM-
INER:

A. All hearings held pur-
suant to Section 60-2E-32(B) of the act will
be conducted by a hearing examiner duly

appointed by the board.
B. Except for telephonic

hearings. the location of the hearing [w+H]
shall be in Albuquerque unless either party
makes a written request to have the hearing
conducted in the place or area affected.

C. All hearings held pur-
suant to the act [w#H] shall be open to the
public.

D. The hearing [maust]
shall be recorded on audiotape or other
means of sound reproduction, or by a certi-
fied court reporter.

E. Any hearing provided
for in this rule may be held telephonically,
in the interest of a speedy resolution.
[12/31/98; 15.1.14.8 NMAC - Rn & A, 15
NMAC 1.14.8, 5/31/00; A, 7/31/02; A,
5/14/04]

15.1.14.9
LICENSEE:

A. The board may sum-
mon any licensee, or its agents or employ-
ees, to appear to testify before the board or
its agents concerning the conduct of a
licensee or any of the licensee’s agents or
employees. All such testimony [w4+H] shall
be given under oath and may cover any mat-
ter the board determines is relevant to the
discharge of its duties.

B. Any person who is
summoned to appear before the board or its
agents has the right to be represented by
legal counsel. Any testimony taken may be
used by the board as evidence in any pro-
ceeding or matter then before it or which
may later come before it. Failure to appear
and testify at the designated time and place,
unless excused by the board, constitutes
grounds for the revocation or suspension of
any license held by the person summoned,
his or her principal, or employer.
[12/31/98; 15.1.149 NMAC - Rn, 15
NMAC 1.14.9, 5/31/00; A, 5/14/04]

SUMMONING OF

15.1.14.10 INITIATION OF
HEARING; CONTENTS OF COM-
PLAINT; SERVICE, ANSWER:

A. If after investigation the
board determines that a license, registration,
finding of suitability or other prior approval

by the board should be limited, conditioned,
suspended or revoked, or that a fine should
be assessed, the board [#H] shall initiate a
hearing by issuing a complaint.

B. The complaint [sH]
shall consist of a written statement that
describes the acts or omissions with which
the respondent is charged and the specific
statutes or rules that the respondent is
alleged to have violated or other grounds for
the complaint.

C. The board [w+H] shall
serve the complaint, together with a sum-
mary of evidence in the board’s possession
and a transcript of testimony at any inves-
tigative hearing conducted in the matter,
upon the licensee. Service [waust] shall be
made by registered or certified mail or by
personal service. Proof of service may be
provided by a certificate or affidavit of serv-
ice signed by the person effecting service
and which specifies the date and manner of
service.

D. The summary of evi-
dence is confidential and [#e¥| shall not be
disclosed to any person other than the
respondent until public hearing.

E. The respondent [#ust]
shall file a written answer with the board
within 30 days of service of the complaint.
[12/31/98; 15.1.14.10 NMAC - Rn, 15
NMAC 1.14.10, 5/31/00; A, 5/14/04]

15.1.14.12 [DPEROSTHHONS]
DISCOVERY; SUBPOENAS:
A. The board may, subject

to the rules of privilege and confidentiality
recognized by law, require the furnishing of
information, the attendance of witnesses,
and the production of books, records, papers
or other objects necessary and proper for the
purposes before it, and may take the deposi-
tion of witnesses, including parties.

B. The board may issue
subpoenas requiring the attendance and tes-
timony of witnesses and the production of
any evidence, including books, records, cor-
respondence or documents, relating to any
matter in question in the proceeding.
Subpoenas to compel any person to appear
at a deposition or at a hearing on the merits
of the matter [saust] shall be served no later
than 10 calendar days before the deposition
or hearing unless good cause is shown by
the party requesting the subpoena.

C. The subpoena [#rust]
shall state with reasonable specificity the
nature of the evidence required to be pro-
duced, the time and place of the hearing or
deposition, the nature of the inquiry or
investigation, and the consequences of fail-
ure to obey the subpoena. The subpoena
[#mst] shall be signed and attested to by the
board or its designee.

D. Witnesses summoned
[w4H] shall be paid the same fees for atten-

dance and travel as in civil actions in the
district court unless otherwise provided for
by law.

E. Any party to the pro-
ceeding may request issuance of a subpoena
by the board in connection with the pro-
ceeding. The board [w+H] shall issue the
subpoena upon written application to the
board. The subpoena will show on its face
the name and address of the party at whose
request the subpoena was issued.

F. Any witness summoned
may petition the board to vacate or modify
the subpoena served on the witness. The
board [sast] shall give prompt notice to the
party, if any, who requested service of the
subpoena. The board may grant the petition
in whole or in part if, after the investigation
it deems appropriate, the board determines
that:

(1) the testimony or evidence to
be produced does not reasonably relate to
any matter in question;

(2) the testimony or evidence to
be produced is unreasonable or oppressive;

(3) the subpoena was not issued a
reasonable period of time in advance of the
time when evidence is requested; or

(4) any other reason justifies
vacating or modifying the subpoena.

G In _any enforcement
action, the respondent and the board may
conduct discovery in accordance with the
New Mexico rules of civil procedure for the
district courts. except that interrogatories
shall be limited in number to 20 including
all discrete subparts. unless, upon motion
and for good cause shown. the hearing
examiner grants a party leave to file addi-

tional interrogatories.
[12/31/98; 15.1.14.12 NMAC - Rn, 15

NMAC 1.14.12, 5/31/00; A, 5/14/04]

15.1.14.14
DENCE:
A. The respondent may be
represented by any person licensed to prac-
tice law in the state. [er-by-any-otherperson
avtherized-bytew=] An individual respon-

dent may represent himself.
B. The rules of evidence

as applied in the courts do not apply in these
proceedings. Any relevant evidence may be
admitted, and such evidence [w+H] shall be
sufficient in itself to support a finding if it is
reliable, regardless of the existence of any
statutory or common law rule that might
make admission of such evidence improper
in a civil action. Irrelevant, immaterial, or
unduly repetitious evidence may be exclud-
ed at a party’s request or on the hearing
examiner’s own initiative.

C. Documentary evidence
may be received in evidence in the form of
true copies of the original.

D. Documentary and other

PROCEDURES; EVI-
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physical evidence may be authenticated or
identified by any reasonable means that
shows that the matter in question is what its
proponent claims it to be.

E. The experience, techni-
cal competence and specialized knowledge
of the hearing examiner, the board, or its
staff may be used in the evaluation of evi-
dence. Evidence on which the board may
base its decision is limited to the following:

(1) all evidence, including any
records, investigation reports, and docu-
ments in the board’s possession, of which it
desires to avail itself as evidence in making
a decision, that is offered and made a part of
the record of the proceeding;

(2) testimony and exhibits intro-
duced by the parties; and

(3) official notice of any fact of
which judicial notice may be taken and
other facts within the board’s specialized
knowledge; whenever the hearing examiner
takes official notice of any fact, the noticed
fact and its source must be stated at the ear-
liest possible time before or during the hear-
ing, and any party must be given, on timely
request, an opportunity to show the con-
trary.

F. The record will include
all briefs, proposed findings and exceptions
and must show the ruling on each finding,
exception or conclusion presented.

G A party to a
[telephenie] hearing [srust] shall submit to
the hearing examiner and to all other parties
to the hearing all documents to be intro-
duced at the hearing no later than five days
from the scheduled hearing date to insure
that the hearing examiner and other parties
receive the documents before the hearing.
[12/31/98; 15.1.14.14 NMAC - Rn & A, 15
NMAC 1.14.14, 5/31/00; A, 5/14/04]

15.1.14.15 CONDUCT OF
ENFORCEMENT HEARING:
A. In addition to the proce-

dures prescribed by the act, the following
procedures [w4#] shall apply, when appro-
priate:

(1) the board will present its
opening statement on the merits. The
respondent then will be permitted to make
an opening statement on defense;

(2) the board will present its case
in chief in support of the complaint;

(3) upon conclusion of the
board’s case in chief, the respondent will
present its case in defense;

(4) upon conclusion of the
respondent’s case, the board may present
rebuttal evidence;

(5) the board will present its clos-
ing argument, the respondent will present
answering argument, and the board may
present rebuttal argument. Thereafter, the
matter will be submitted for recommenda-

tion by the hearing examiner.

B. The hearing examiner
may ask questions of witnesses and may
request or allow additional evidence at any
time as determined appropriate by the hear-
ing examiner.

[12/31/98; 15.1.14.15 NMAC - Rn, 15
NMAC 1.14.15, 5/31/00; A, 5/14/04]

15.1.14.16 CONTINUANCES:
The hearing examiner [w##H] shall not grant
a continuance except for good cause shown.
A motion to continue a hearing [#aust] shall
be made at least 10 calendar days before the
hearing date.

[12/31/98; 15.1.14.16 NMAC - Rn, 15
NMAC 1.14.16, 5/31/00; A, 5/14/04]

15.1.14.17 DEFAULT; PROCE-
DURE FOR RECOMMENDATION OF
DEFAULT:

A. Failure of the respon-
dent either to file an answer to the com-
plaint or to appear at the hearing on the mer-
its personally or by telephone, [H—given
without having obtained a continuance,
[w4H] shall constitute an admission on all
matters and facts contained in the complaint
filed with respect to the respondent and
[w#H] shall be deemed a waiver of the right
to an evidentiary hearing on the matter.

B. If the respondent fails
to file an answer to the complaint, the peti-
tioner shall file a motion requesting the
hearing examiner to recommend to the
board that default judgment be entered
against respondent.

(1) _The respondent shall file a
response to the motion and shall request a
hearing on the motion to recommend
default judgment within 10 calendar days of
the date the motion is served. Failure of the
respondent to file a response and to request
a hearing shall constitute consent to the
granting of the motion.

(2) If the respondent timely files a
response to the motion, the hearing examin-
er shall hear the matter. The hearing exam-
iner may deny the motion and allow the
respondent additional time to answer the
complaint if an accident, illness or other
good cause prevented the respondent from
timely answering the complaint.

C. If a party fails to appear

at a hearing on the merits personally or by
telephone [¥—sueh—eases—the—beard] the

hearing examiner may hear the evidence of
witnesses who appear, and make a recom-
mendation to the board based upon such

evidence. Upon recommendation of the
hearing examiner the board may proceed to

consider the matter and dispose of it on the
basis of the [ewidenee] record before it.

[B:] D. If an accident, illness,
or other good cause prevents the [petitionet|

respondent from requesting a continuance
or appearing at the hearing, the [petses]
respondent may, within 15 days of the date
of the hearing, apply to the board to reopen
the proceeding. Upon finding sufficient
cause, the board [w+H] shall immediately fix
a time and place for the hearing and give the
[petitioner]| respondent notice as required
under this rule.

[12/31/98; 15.1.14.17 NMAC - Rn & A, 15
NMAC 1.14.17, 5/31/00; A, 5/14/04]

15.1.14.18 RECOMMENDED
ACTION; FINAL DECISION:
A. At the request of the

hearing examiner or upon motion by either
party granted by the hearing examiner, and
before the hearing examiner recommends
action by the board, the parties may submit
briefs including findings of fact and conclu-
sions of law for consideration by the hear-
ing examiner. The hearing examiner has the
discretion to request briefs or grant a motion
to submit briefs on any point of law deemed
appropriate by the hearing examiner. Briefs
submitted [sawst] shall include supporting
reasons for any findings or legal conclu-
sions and citations to the record and to rele-
vant law. Should the hearing examiner
request briefs or grant a party’s motion to
submit briefs, the hearing [wH] shall be
continued until the hearing examiner has
given the briefs sufficient consideration and
brings the hearing to a close. The hearing,
however, [#aust] shall be completed no later
than 45 days from the date of continuance.

B. The hearing examiner
[##] shall prepare a written decision con-
taining his or her recommendation of action
to be taken by the board. The hearing exam-
iner’s recommendation may include any, or
any combination, of the following:

(1) revocation of the license or
approval,

(2) suspension of the license or
approval,

(3) limitation or conditioning of
the license or approval; and

(4) imposition of a fine not to
exceed $25,000 for the first violation and
$50,000 for each subsequent violation.

C. Notice of the hearing
examiner’s recommended action [#est]
shall be served on the parties within 30 days
of the conclusion of the hearing on the mat-
ter. Service [saust] shall be made by regis-
tered or certified mail.

D. The board [w4H] shall
accept, reject or modify the hearing exam-
iner’s recommendation by majority vote.
The final decision or order [w+H] shall be
issued in writing and [w#H] shall include a
statement of findings and conclusions and
the reasons therefore, on all material issues
of fact, law or discretion involved, together
with the specific action taken, including
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limiting, conditioning, suspending, or
revoking any license or imposing a fine, or
any combination thereof. The board [#e¥]
shall not impose any sanction or order
except within the board’s jurisdiction or as
authorized by law.

E. The final decision or
order [w4H] shall be public and [w+H] shall
become a part of the record.

[12/31/98; 15.1.14.18 NMAC - Rn, 15
NMAC 1.14.18, 5/31/00; A, 7/31/02; A,
5/14/04]

15.1.14.19 EX PARTE COMMU-
NICATIONS:
A. No party or representa-

tive of any other person [se¥] shall com-
municate off the record with the hearing
examiner or any board member except upon
notice and opportunity to all parties to par-
ticipate.

B. Neither the hearing
examiner nor any member of the board
[mey] shall communicate off the record
with any party or representative of any party
in connection with any issue of fact or law
related to a proceeding under this rule
except upon notice and opportunity to all
parties to communicate.

C. Notwithstanding  the
provisions of Subsections A and B of
15.1.14.19 NMAC, a party may submit
information to the board in confidence
when such information is required by law or
the rules of the board or required by a sub-
poena issued by the board to be made or
transmitted to the board. However, infor-
mation ruled by the board as nonconfiden-
tial or information described as nonconfi-
dential in board rule Subsection B of
15.1.2.8 NMAC is subject to the prohibition
on ex parte communications.

D. Notwithstanding  the
provisions of Subsections A and B of
15.1.14.19 NMAC, ex parte communica-
tions are permitted, where circumstances
require, for procedural or administrative
purposes or emergencies that do not deal
with substantive matters or issues on the
merits if the board member or hearing
examiner reasonably believes that no party
will gain an advantage as a result of the ex
parte communication.

E. Upon receipt of a com-
munication knowingly made or caused to be
made by a party to a board member or hear-
ing examiner in violation of this section, the
board member or hearing officer may, to the
extent consistent with the interests of justice
and the policy of the underlying statutes,
require the party to show cause why its
claim or interest in the proceeding should
not be dismissed, denied, disregarded or
otherwise adversely affected on account of
the violation of this section.

F. This section does not

preclude:

(1) the hearing examiner or any
member of the board from consulting with
board counsel concerning any matter before
the board, except any matter relating to a
proceeding in which board counsel is repre-
senting the state; or

(2) any party from conferring
with the hearing examiner or board counsel
concerning procedural matters that do not
involve issues of fact or law related to the
proceeding.

[12/31/98; 15.1.14.19 NMAC - Rn, 15
NMAC 1.14.19, 5/31/00; A, 2/14/02; A,
5/14/04]

15.1.14.20 TELEPHONIC
HEARINGS:
A. Any party requesting a

telephonic hearing [swast] shall do so within
10 working days of the date of the notice.
When the parties agree to conduct the hear-
ing by telephone, notice of the telephonic
hearing [swast] shall be made to all parties
and [swast] shall include all necessary tele-
phone numbers.

B. Any party that has
agreed to a telephonic hearing but subse-
quently requests an in-person hearing
[#wst] shall do so in writing to the hearing
examiner no later than 10 days before the
scheduled date of the hearing. The request
[mmst] shall specifically state the reasons
the requesting party believes an in-person
hearing is necessary, including, at a mini-
mum, the issues in question, the expected
conflicting testimony, and how an in-person
hearing would significantly advance the
hearing examiner’s fact-finding ability. The
hearing examiner’s decision to grant or
deny the hearing [#sst] shall be issued in
writing and [sast] shall include the specif-
ic reasons for granting or denying the
request. If the hearing examiner grants the
request, the hearing [w+#H] shall be resched-
uled to a time convenient for all parties. If
the hearing examiner denies the request, the
telephonic hearing [w+#H] shall proceed as
scheduled.

C. The location or loca-
tions of the parties during the hearing
[#wst] shall have a speaker telephone and
facsimile machine available so that all may
hear the proceedings and documents may be
transmitted between witnesses and the hear-
ing examiner.

D. The [Stete—wiH] peti-
tioner shall initiate the telephone call. The
respondent is responsible for ensuring that
the telephone number to the respondent’s
location for the telephonic hearing is accu-
rate and that the respondent is available at
that telephone number at the time the hear-
ing is to commence. Failure to provide the
correct telephone number or failure to be
available at the commencement of the hear-

ing [wiH] shall be treated as a failure to
appear and [w#] shall subject the respon-
dent to a default judgment.

E. The in-person presence
of some parties or witnesses at the hearing
does not prevent the participation of other
parties or witnesses by telephone with prior
approval of the hearing examiner.
[12/31/98; 15.1.14.209 NMAC - Rn, 15
NMAC 1.14.20, 5/31/00; A, 5/14/04]

NEW MEXICO GAMING
CONTROL BOARD

This is an amendment to 15.1.15 NMAC,
Sections 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16,
17, 18, and 19, effective 5/14/04.

15.1.15.7 DEFINITIONS:
Unless otherwise defined below, terms used
in this rule have the same meanings as set
forth in the Gaming Control Act:

A. “act” means the
Gaming Control Act.
B. “agent” means any

member or employee of the board or any
other person authorized to act on the board’s
behalf.

C. “party” means each
person named or admitted as a party to a
proceeding before the board or its duly
appointed hearing examiner.

D. “person” means a legal
entity or individual.
E. [“petitioner2| “appel-

lant” means a person aggrieved by an
action of the board. who files a request for
hearing before the board.

F. [ “respondent?]
“appellee” means the board, [atHeenseer&
persen-to-which-siapprovat-has-beengrant-
ed—by—the—beard—or—other—person—whe—is

required-to-respond-to-aeomplaintissued-by
the-petitioner| an agent of the board or the

board’s representative.
G “state” means the state

of New Mexico.
[12/31/98; 15.1.15.7 NMAC - Rn, 15
NMAC 1.15.7, 5/31/00; A, 5/14/04]

15.1.15.8 PUBLIC HEAR-
INGS; LOCATION; HEARING EXAM-
INER:

A. All hearings held pur-
suant to Section 60-2E-59 of the act [w#H]
shall be conducted by a hearing examiner
duly appointed by the board.

B. Except for telephonic
hearings, hearings [w4H] shall be conducted
in Albuquerque or, upon written request by
an aggrieved person, in the place or area
affected.

C. All hearings held pur-
suant to Section 60-2E-59 of the act [w#H]
shall be open to the public.
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D. The hearing [srust]
shall be recorded on audiotape or other
means of sound reproduction, or by a certi-
fied court reporter.

E. Any hearing provided
for in this rule may be held telephonically,
in the interest of a speedy resolution.
[12/31/98; 15.1.15.8 NMAC - Rn & A, 15
NMAC 1.15.8, 5/31/00; A, 7/31/02; A,
5/14/04]

15.1.15.9 REQUEST FOR
REVIEW OF BOARD ACTION:
A. Any person aggrieved

by an action of the board or one of its agents
may request a hearing for the purpose of
review of such action. The [petittonersrast]
appellant shall file the request for hearing
within 30 days of the date the action is
taken. The request [#rust] shall include the
following:

(1) a statement of the facts rele-
vant to the review of the action;

(2) a statement of the provision of
the act and the rules promulgated under the
act that are relevant to the review of the
action;

(3) a statement of the arguments
that the [petitterer] appellant considers rel-
evant to the review of the action; and

(4) any other evidence considered
relevant.

B. The board will schedule
the hearing as soon as practicable but in any
event no later than 60 days from the date it
receives the [petittener:s] appellant’s
request for hearing. The hearing examiner
may extend the 60 day time upon motion for
good cause shown, or the parties may
extend the 60 day time period by mutual
agreement. The board will issue notice of
the hearing, which will include:

(1) a statement of the time, place
and nature of the hearing;

(2) a statement of the legal
authority and jurisdiction under which the
hearing is to be held;

(3) a short and plain statement of
the matters of fact and law asserted;

(4) notice to any other parties to
give prompt notice of issues controverted in
fact or law; and

(5) all necessary telephone num-
bers if a telephonic hearing will be conduct-
ed.

C. All parties [w+H] shall
be given the opportunity to respond and
present evidence and argument on all rele-
vant issues.

[12/31/98; 15.1.15.9 NMAC - Rn & A, 15
NMAC 1.15.9, 5/31/00; A, 5/14/04]

15.1.15.10 RECORD OF PRO-
CEEDING:
A. The record of the pro-

ceeding [w+H] shall include:

(1) all pleadings, motions, and
intermediate rulings;

(2) evidence received or consid-
ered;

(3) a statement of matters official-
ly noticed;

(4) questions and offers of proof,
objections and rulings thereon;

(5) proposed findings and conclu-
sions; and

(6) any action recommended by
the hearing examiner.

B. A party may request a
transcription of the proceedings. The party
requesting the transcript [w#H] shall bear the
cost of transcription.

[12/31/98; 15.1.15.10 NMAC - Rn, 15
NMAC 1.15.10, 5/31/00; A, 5/14/04]

15.1.15.11 [BEPOSTHFONS]
DISCOVERY; SUBPOENAS:
A. The board may, subject

to the rules of privilege and confidentiality
recognized by law, require the furnishing of
information, the attendance of witnesses,
and the production of books, records, papers
or other objects necessary and proper for the
purposes before it, and may take the deposi-
tion of witnesses, including parties.

B. The board may issue
subpoenas requiring the attendance and tes-
timony of witnesses and the production of
any evidence, including books, records, cor-
respondence or documents, relating to any
matter in question in the proceeding.
Subpoenas to compel any person to appear
at a deposition or at a hearing on the merits
of the matter [#ust] shall be served no later
than 10 calendar days before the deposition
or hearing unless good cause is shown by
the party requesting the subpoena.

C. The subpoena [srust]
shall state with reasonable specificity the
nature of the evidence required to be pro-
duced, the time and place of the hearing or
deposition, the nature of the inquiry or
investigation, and the consequences of fail-
ure to obey the subpoena. The subpoena
[must] shall be signed and attested to by the
board or its designee.

D. Witnesses summoned
[w#H] shall be paid the same fees for atten-
dance and travel as in civil actions in the
district court unless otherwise provided for
by law.

E. Any party to the pro-
ceeding may request issuance of a subpoena
by the board in connection with the pro-
ceeding. The board [w#] shall issue the
subpoena upon written application to the
board. The subpoena [+#] shall show on
its face the name and address of the party at
whose request the subpoena was issued.

F. Any witness summoned
may petition the board to vacate or modify
the subpoena served on the witness. The

board [#ust] shall give prompt notice to the
party, if any, who requested service of the
subpoena. The board may grant the petition
in whole or in part if, after the investigation
it deems appropriate, the board determines
that:

(1) the testimony or evidence to
be produced does not reasonably relate to
any matter in question;

(2) the testimony or evidence to
be produced is unreasonable or oppressive;

(3) the subpoena was not issued a
reasonable period of time in advance of the
time when evidence is requested; or

(4) any other reason justifies
vacating or modifying the subpoena.

G In any administrative
appeal, the appellant and the board may
conduct discovery in accordance with the
New Mexico rules of civil procedure for the
district courts, except that interrogatories
shall be limited in number to 20, including
all subparts, unless, upon motion and for
good cause shown, the hearing examiner
grants a party leave to file additional inter-

rogatories.
[12/31/98; 15.1.15.11 NMAC - Rn, 15

NMAC 1.15.11, 5/31/00; A, 5/14/04]

15.1.15.12
DENCE:

A. Any party may be rep-
resented by a person licensed to practice
law in the state. [er-by—any—other—person
eutherized-bytaw]. An individual appellant

may represent himself.
B. The rules of evidence

as applied in the courts do not apply in these
proceedings. Any relevant evidence may be
admitted, and such evidence [w#] shall be
sufficient in itself to support a finding if it is
reliable, regardless of the existence of any
statutory or common law rule that might
make admission of such evidence improper
in a civil action. Irrelevant, immaterial, or
unduly repetitious evidence may be exclud-
ed at a party’s request or on the hearing
examiner’s own initiative.

C. Documentary evidence
may be received in evidence in the form of
true copies of the original.

D. Documentary and other
physical evidence may be authenticated or
identified by any reasonable means that
shows that the matter in question is what its
proponent claims it to be.

E. The experience, techni-
cal competence and specialized knowledge
of the hearing examiner, the board, or its
staff may be used in the evaluation of evi-
dence.

PROCEDURES; EVI-

F. Evidence on which the
board may base its decision is limited to the
following:

(1) all evidence, including any
records, investigation reports, and docu-
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ments in the board’s possession, of which it
desires to avail itself as evidence in making
a decision, that is offered and made a part of
the record of the proceeding;

(2) testimony and exhibits intro-
duced by the parties; and

(3) official notice of any fact of
which judicial notice may be taken and
other facts within the board’s specialized
knowledge. Whenever the hearing examin-
er takes official notice of any fact, the
noticed fact and its source must be stated at
the earliest possible time before or during
the hearing, and any party must be given, on
timely request, an opportunity to show the
contrary.

G. The record will include
all briefs, proposed findings and exceptions
and must show the ruling on each finding,
exception or conclusion presented.

H. A party to a
[telephonte] hearing [waust] shall submit to
the hearing examiner and to all other parties
to the hearing all documents to be intro-
duced at the hearing no later than five days
from the scheduled hearing date to insure
that the hearing examiner and other parties
receive the documents before the hearing.
[12/31/98; 15.1.15.12 NMAC - Rn & A, 15
NMAC 1.15.12, 5/31/00; A, 5/14/04]

15.1.15.13 CONDUCT OF PRO-
CEEDING:
A. Unless the hearing

examiner reasonably determines that a dif-
ferent procedure is appropriate, the hearing
[#rast] shall be conducted in accordance
with the procedures set forth in this rule.

B. In addition to any pro-
cedures described by the act, the following
procedures [w4H] shall apply:

(1) the [petitterer| appellant may
present an opening statement on the merits

and the [respendent]| appellee may make a
statement of the defense or reserve the state-
ment until presentation of its case;

(2) after the opening statements,
if made, the [petittener-wiH] appellant shall
present its case in chief in support of its
petition;

(3) upon conclusion of [petition-

ers| appellant’s case in chief, the [respen-
dent| appellee may move for dismissal of

the petition. The hearing examiner may
suspend the hearing and refer the motion to
the board, which [#rust] shall grant, deny, or
reserve decision on the motion, with or
without argument, as soon as practicable
but in no event later than its next regularly
scheduled board meeting;

(4) if no motion to dismiss is
made, or if the board denies or reserves
decision on the motion, the [respendesnt
wwiH] appellee shall present its case in
defense;

(5) upon conclusion of the

[respendents| appellee’s case, the [petition-
e¥| appellant may present rebuttal evidence;

(6) after presentation of the evi-
dence by the parties, the [petittoner] appel-
lant may present a closing argument. The
[respendent]| appellee then may present its
closing argument, and the [petitiones]
appellant may present a rebuttal argument;
and

(7) thereafter, the matter [wH]
shall be submitted for recommendation by
the hearing examiner.

[12/31/98; 15.1.15.13 NMAC - Rn, 15
NMAC 1.15.13, 5/31/00; A, 5/14/04]

15.1.15.14 BURDEN OF
PROOF: The [petitioner] appellant bears
the burden of showing by a preponderance
of the evidence that the decision made by
the board or an agent of the board should be
reversed or modified.

[12/31/98; 15.1.15.14 NMAC - Rn, 15
NMAC 1.15.14, 5/31/00; A, 5/14/04]

15.1.15.15 CONTINUANCES:
The hearing examiner [w+#H] shall not grant
a continuance except for good cause shown.
A motion to continue a hearing [#ast] shall
be made at least 10 calendar days before the
hearing date.

[12/31/98; 15.1.15.15 NMAC - Rn, 15
NMAC 1.15.15, 5/31/00; A, 5/14/04]

15.1.15.16 DEFAULT; PROCE-
DURE FOR RECOMMENDATION OF
DEFAULT:

A. Failure of [e—respen-
dent| the appellee to [fHe-anenswerto-the

eomplaint] schedule a hearing within 60
days. unless the 60 day time period is
extended, or of any party to appear at the
hearing on the merits personally or by tele-
phone,[#sivenprior-approval-by—the-hear

me—exarmer;] without having obtained a
continuance may constitute a default and an

admission on all matters and facts alleged
by the opposing party and shall be deemed
a waiver of the right to an evidentiary hear-
ing on the matter. The hearing examiner
may proceed to consider the matter, and the
board may dispose of it, on the basis of the
evidence before it.

B. If the appellee fails to
schedule a hearing within 60 days. the
appellant shall file a motion requesting the
hearing examiner to recommend to the
board that default judgment be entered
against the appellee.

(1) The appellee shall file a
response to the motion and shall request a
hearing on the motion to recommend
default judgment within 10 calendar days of
the date the motion is served. Failure of the
appellee to file a response and to request a
hearing shall constitute consent to the grant-
ing of the motion.

(2) If the appellee timely files a
response to the motion, the hearing examin-
er shall hear the matter. The hearing exam-
iner may deny the motion and allow the
appellee additional time to schedule a hear-
ing on the merits if an accident, illness or
other good cause prevented the appellee
from timely scheduling a hearing.

C. If a party fails to appear
at a hearing on the merits personally or by
telephone the hearing examiner may hear
the evidence of witnesses who appear, and
make a recommendation to the board based
upon such evidence. Upon recommenda-
tion of the hearing examiner the board may

proceed to consider the matter and dispose
of it on the basis of the record before it.

[B=] D. If an accident, illness,
or other good cause prevents any party from
requesting a continuance or appearing at the
hearing, the [pessen| party may, within 15
days after the date of the hearing, apply to
the board to reopen the proceeding. Upon
finding sufficient cause, the board [wiH]
shall immediately fix a time and place for
the hearing and give the [petittoner] oppos-
ing party notice as required under this rule.
[12/31/98; 15.1.15.16 NMAC - Rn & A, 15
NMAC 1.15.16, 5/31/00; A, 5/14/04]

15.1.15.17 RECOMMENDED
ACTION; FINAL DECISION:
A. At the request of the

hearing examiner or upon motion by either
party granted by the hearing examiner, and
before the hearing examiner recommends
action by the board, the parties may submit
briefs including findings of fact and conclu-
sions of law for consideration by the hear-
ing examiner. The hearing examiner has the
discretion to request briefs or grant a motion
to submit briefs on any point of law deemed
appropriate by the hearing examiner. Briefs
submitted [srast] shall include supporting
reasons for any findings or legal conclu-
sions and citations to the record and to rele-
vant law. Should the hearing examiner
request briefs or grant a party’s motion to
submit briefs, the hearing [w#H] shall be
continued until the hearing examiner has
given the briefs sufficient consideration and
brings the hearing to a close. The hearing,
however, [sast] shall be completed no later
than 45 days from the date of continuance.

B. Not more than 30 days
after completion of the hearing, the hearing
examiner [w+H] shall prepare a written deci-
sion containing his or her recommendation
of action to be taken by the board. The rec-
ommendation may propose to sustain, mod-
ify, or reverse the initial decision of the
board or its agent.

C. Notice of the hearing
examiner’s recommended action [#rust]
shall be served on the parties as promptly as
possible but in no event later than 15 days
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after the date of the hearing on the matter.
Service [arast] shall be made by registered
or certified mail.

D. The board [##] shall
accept, reject or modify the hearing exam-
iner’s recommendation by majority vote.
The final decision or order [w+H] shall be
issued in writing and [w#H] shall include a
statement of findings and conclusions and
the reasons therefor, on all material issues
of fact, law or discretion involved, together
with the specific action taken to sustain,
modify, or reverse the initial decision of the
board or its agent.

E. The final decision or
order will be public and [+H] shall become
a part of the record.

[12/31/98; 15.1.15.17 NMAC - Rn, 15
NMAC 1.15.17, 5/31/00; A, 7/31/02; A,
5/14/04]

15.1.15.18 EX PARTE COMMU-
NICATIONS:
A. No party or representa-

tive of any other person [se¥] shall com-
municate off the record, orally or in writing,
with the hearing examiner or any board
member except upon notice and opportuni-
ty to all parties to participate.

B. Neither the hearing
examiner nor any member of the board
[mey] shall communicate off the record,
orally or in writing, with any party or repre-
sentative of any party in connection with
any issue of fact or law related to a pro-
ceeding under this rule except upon notice
and opportunity to all parties to communi-
cate.

C. Notwithstanding  the
provisions of Subsections A and B of
15.1.15.18 NMAC, a party may submit
information to the board in confidence
when such information is required by law or
the rules of the board or required by a sub-
poena issued by the board to be made or
transmitted to the board. However, infor-
mation ruled by the board as nonconfiden-
tial or information described as nonconfi-
dential in Subsection B of 15.1.2.8 NMAC
is subject to the prohibition on ex parte
communications.

D. Notwithstanding  the
provisions of paragraphs Subsections A and
B of 15.1.15.18 NMAC, ex parte communi-
cations are permitted, where circumstances
require, for procedural or administrative
purposes or emergencies that do not deal
with substantive matters or issues on the
merits if the board member or hearing
examiner reasonably believes that no party
will gain an advantage as a result of the ex
parte communication.

E. Upon receipt of a com-
munication knowingly made or caused to be
made by a party to a board member or hear-
ing examiner in violation of this section, the

board member or hearing officer may, to the
extent consistent with the interests of justice
and the policy of the underlying statutes,
require the party to show cause why its
claim or interest in the proceeding should
not be dismissed, denied, disregarded or
otherwise adversely affected on account of
the violation of this section.

F. This section does not
preclude:

(1) the hearing examiner or any
member of the board from consulting with
board counsel concerning any matter before
the board, except any matter relating to a
proceeding in which board counsel is repre-
senting the state; or

(2) any party from conferring
with the hearing examiner or board counsel
concerning procedural matters that do not
involve issues of fact or law related to the
proceeding.

[12/31/98; 15.1.15.18 NMAC - Rn, 15
NMAC 1.15.18, 5/31/00; A, 2/14/02; A,
5/14/04]

15.1.15.19 TELEPHONIC
HEARINGS:
A. Any party requesting a

telephonic hearing [sust] shall do so within
10 working days of the date of the notice.
When the parties agree to conduct the hear-
ing by telephone, notice of the telephonic
hearing [suast] shall be made to all parties
and [sest] shall include all necessary tele-
phone numbers.

B. Any party that has
agreed to a telephonic hearing but subse-
quently requests an in-person hearing
[#ust] shall do so in writing to the hearing
examiner no later than 10 days before the
scheduled date of the hearing. The request
[mrast] shall specifically state the reasons
the requesting party believes an in-person
hearing is necessary, including, at a mini-
mum, the issues in question, the expected
conflicting testimony, and how an in-person
hearing would significantly advance the
hearing examiner’s fact-finding ability. The
hearing examiner’s decision to grant or
deny the hearing [#ust] shall be issued in
writing and [#stst] shall include the specif-
ic reasons for granting or denying the
request. If the hearing examiner grants the
request, the hearing [w+H] shall be resched-
uled to a time convenient for all parties. If
the hearing examiner denies the request, the
telephonic hearing [w#H] shall proceed as
scheduled.

C. The location or loca-
tions of the parties during the hearing
[must] shall have a speaker telephone and
facsimile machine available so that all may
hear the proceedings and documents may be
transmitted between witnesses and the hear-
ing examiner.

D. The  [State——wiH]

appellee shall initiate the telephone call.

The [petittorer] appellant is responsible for
ensuring that the telephone number to the

[petittoner’s| appellant’s location for the
telephonic hearing is accurate and that the

[petitioner]| appellant is available at that
telephone number at the time the hearing is
to commence. Failure to provide the correct
telephone number or failure to be available
at the commencement of the hearing [w#]
shall be treated as a failure to appear and
will subject the petitioner to a default judg-
ment.

E. The in-person presence
of some parties or witnesses at the hearing
does not prevent the participation of other
parties or witnesses by telephone with prior
approval of the hearing examiner.
[15.1.15.19 NMAC - N, 5/31/00; A,
5/14/04]

NEW MEXICO GAMING
CONTROL BOARD

This is an amendment to 15.1.17 NMAC,
Section 6, 9, and 10, effective 5/14/04.

TITLE 15 GAMBLING AND
LIQUOR CONTROL

CHAPTER 1 GAMES AND GAM-
ING GENERAL PROVISIONS

PART 17 SCHEDULE
O F{RENALFIESFVIOLATIONS
UNDER THE GAMING CONTROL
ACT WHICH PENALTIES COULD BE
ASSESSED

15.1.17.6 OBJECTIVE: The
objective of this rule is to establish [aniferm

standardsfor-fines-and penatties-thatmay-be

schedule of violations in which to cite under
the Gaming Control Act which penalties
could be assessed.

[12/31/98; 15.1.17.6 NMAC - Rn, 15
NMAC 1.17.6, 3/31/00; A, 5/14/04]

15.1.17.9 SCHEDULE [OF

HNES-AND-PENAEHHES] OF VIOLA-
TIONS:
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Hettorray-tlsotelidestspenstofrorreveo- | (Code3H0%]. $55000-fine-(Code328].
eation—of—the—tHeense—or—denial—of Heense (11) Operating or permitting the (29) Commingling of gaming
renewak| operation of more than maximum number | receipts with other monies of nonprofit

[B34 A. Licensing violations | of gaming machines allowed [—$5;800—te | organization gaming operator licensee [—
include. $10;000-fire-(Code-34+-]. $500-to-$7500-fine-(Code329)-].

(1) Engaging in gaming activity
without valid license [—$+0;006-t6-$25;006
fine(Code26H)].

(2) Possession of illegal gaming
device [—$500-te-$1:000-fne-(Code202)].

(3) Failure to apply for certifica-
tion of finding of suitability [—$506—te
$1:000-fine(Code263)].

(4) Employing persons without
work permits or key person certifications
[—$500-te-$15600-fire(Code204):-].

(5) Expired work permit [—$250
to-$500-fine{Code205)-|.

(6) Unlicensed gaming machine
[—$4:660-te-$5;000-finre-(Code206%-].

(7) Selling, offering to sell, or dis-
tributing a gaming device to other than a
gaming operator licensee [—$4+0;006—te
$25;000-fine(Code267].

(8) Purchasing, leasing, or other-
wise receiving a gaming machine from
other than an authorized licensee [—$5;0060
to-$10;000-Fre-(Code20%)].

(9) Association with distributor or
manufacturer with revoked license [—
$1:000-te-$5;000-fine-tCode209-].

(10) Unauthorized transfer of
license |[—$5-000-te-$+0-000-(Code240)-].

[&] B. Operating violations
include.

(1) Permitting play on an unau-
thorized gaming machine [—$55680—te
$10;000-fine(Code364)-].

(2) Permitting play of an unautho-
rized game [—$4:000-t0-$5;000-Fne(Code
3025-].

(3) Possessing or installing a
gaming machine at other than an authorized
location [—$2;:500—te—$1+0;000—fne—(Code
303%-].

(4) Engaging in dishonest or
deceptive practices involving gaming activ-
ity [—$5;060-t0-$16;000-fine-(Code-304x].

(5) Public nuisance [—$55000-te
$10;000-fine(Code-365)].

(6) Minor playing a gaming
machine [—$55000—te—$10;000—Fne—(Code

306%-].

(7) Unauthorized person on
licensed premises [—$2;500-te-$7506-f#e
Code-367].

(8) Unauthorized person playing
a gaming machine [—$5;000—te—$1+0;000
He{Code30%%].

(9) Sale, service, delivery or con-
sumption of alcoholic beverage on licensed
premises [—$55000-te—$1+0;000—fine—(Code
3095-].

(10) Operating or permitting the
playing of gaming machine on unauthorized

days or times [—$2;506—te—$5:600—fine

(12) Failure to pay winnings or
award prizes [—$5000—te—$5;000—fne
Cede342y-].

(13) Failure to maintain adequate

security [—$4:600—te—$5;000—fire—(Code

3435].
(14) Unauthorized or improper
use of tokens [—$500-te-$1:000-fine(Code

4],

(15) Unauthorized or improper
disposition of tokens [—$500-te-$1:000-fe
Code-345y].

(16) Unauthorized or improper
disposal of gaming device [—$580—te
$15000-fine(Code31+6)].

(17) Unauthorized modification
of gaming device where the modification
changes the manner of operation from that
approved by the board or from that repre-
sented to patrons [—$4:060-te-$5:000-fne
code34H].

(18) Knowingly associating with,
employing, or assisting, directly or indirect-
ly, persons or businesses of disreputable
character [—$5;000-te—$1+0;000-fine—(Code
3485-].

(19) Employing a person who has
been denied, or failed or refused to apply
for, a gaming license, work permit or find-
ing of suitability in any jurisdiction [—
$5;000-te-$10;000-fine(Code319)-].

(20) Failing to comply with all
federal, state and local laws and rules gov-
erning gaming activity, including payment
of fees and taxes due [—$55600-te-$+0;000
fine-(Code320x].

(21) Conducting, operating, or
dealing with any cheating game or device
[—55:000-te-$+1H0:000-Fre{Code 3245 ]

(22) Unauthorized modification
of licensed premises [—$6060—te—$5;600
fine-(Code322)].

(23) Facilitating, participating in,
or allowing the issuance of any loans or
extending credit to a gaming patron for
gaming purposes [—$5000-+t6-$5;000-finre
Code323%].

(24) Misleading or deceptive pay-
off schedule [—$500-te-$1;000-fne(Code

3245-].

(25) Failure to make payments in
accordance with payoff schedule [—$4;606
t0-$5;000-fine (Cede325)].

(26) Failure to install or maintain
adequate surveillance system [—[$+;600-te
$5;000-fine-(Code326)].

(27) Insufficient funds in gaming
tax transfer account [—$5;000-te—$+0;000
finetCode327].

(28) Failure to comply with mini-
mum accounting standards [—$40660—te

(30) Failure to maintain minimum
bankroll required or to notify board of defi-
ciencies [—$+;006-to—$10;000—fine—(Code
330%].

(31) Failure to request excluded
person to leave or to prohibit entry on
licensed premises or to properly notify
board of excluded person on licensed prem-
ises [—$5;000-t0-$10;000-firel(Code33H)].

(32) Failure to implement or
maintain adequate internal controls for
gaming operations [—$+;600—te—$1+0;600
fine(Code332)].

(33) Unlawful or unauthorized
operation of progressive system [—$5;600
to-$10;000-fine (Cede333)].

(34) Unlawful or unauthorized
promotion or additional payout [—$256—
$5;000-fine(Code334-].

(35) Shipment of unapproved
gaming device [—$+;000—S5:000—fne
Code335x].

(36) Unauthorized change in min-
imum internal controls [—$256—$2-506
fine(Code336)].

(37) Engaging in other unsuitable
method of operation [—$45066-te—$1+0;006
fine(Code337].

[B<] C. Miscellaneous
tions include.

(1) Interference with investiga-
tion, including denying the board or its
agent or other authorized person access to,
or inspection of, a gaming establishment
[—$16;060-t0-$25;000-fine-(Code40H)-].

(2) Providing false or misleading
information to the board or the board’s

agent [—$0600—te—$1+0;000—fine—(Code

402y].

(3) Failure to file required report
or disclose information [—$560-te-$+6-600
fine-(Code463)].

(4) Failure to renew license while
continuing to conduct licensed activity [—
£5500-te-31;000-fine-(Code404].

(5) Unlawful gaming operations

contract [—$4:000—t0—$5;000—Fire—(Code

405y:].

(6) ATM on licensed premises [—
$500-te-$1;006-fine(Code466}].

(7) Failure to implement or main-
tain compulsive gambling assistance plan
[—$4;006-te-$55000-fine (Code407-].

(8) Failure to disclose gaming

contracts [—$4:000—te—$5;000—fine (Code

4083].
(9) Failure to retain required

records [—$560—te—$2-500—fine—(Code
469y,

viola-

(10) Felony conviction of licens-
ee, employee or other agent of licensee [—
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F5-000-+0-525-000-fine{Code~H0)-|.

(11) Failure to be in possession of

work permit [—$256—+e—$500—Fine—(Code

4.

(12) Failure to post gaming
license [—$250-te-$500-fine-(Code<4H2y-].

(13) Failure to post required signs
[—$250-te-$500-fine(Code—-4H3)].

(14) Failure to provide required
notice [—$256-te-$1;000-fne-(Code4H4x-].

(15) Failure to comply with gam-
ing machine registration, transport, posses-
sion and use requirements by public post-
secondary educational institution or a trade
show vendor [—$4006—te—$5;000—fne
Code-4H3)].

(16) Other violation [—$250—te
$10;000-fine-(Code-999].
[12/31/98; 15.1.17.9 NMAC - Rn & A, 15
NMAC 1.17.9, 3/31/00; A, 1/31/02; A,
7/31/02; A, 10/31/02; A, 5/14/04]

15.1.17.10

[RESERVED
[12/31/98; 15.1.17.10 NMAC - Rn, 15
NMAC 1.17.10, 3/31/00; Repealed,
5/14/04]
NEW MEXICO GAMING
CONTROL BOARD

This is an amendment to 15.1.18 NMAC,
Section 12, effective 5/14/04.

15.1.18.12 COMPULSIVE
GAMBLING FUNDS DISTRIBUTION:
A racetrack gaming operator shall spend all
funds required by statute to fund or support
programs for the treatment and assistance of
compulsive gamblers each year within 120
days after the close of the licensees fiscal

year.
[15.1.18.12 NMAC - N, 5/14/04]

NEW MEXICO GAMING
CONTROL BOARD

This is an amendment to 15.1.19 NMAC,
Sections 9, and 10, effective 5/14/04.

15.1.19.9 VERIFICATION OF
WINNINGS; REPORTING PROCE-
DURES:

A. When the [eny} win-

ning patron seeks payment of winnings in
the amount [exeesst of $1,200.00 or more,
the gaming operator licensee [sast]_shall
verify the winnings in accordance with
approved minimum internal control stan-

dards.

B. Upon verification of the
validity of the winnings, and before pay-
ment of the winnings, the gaming operator
licensee must ensure that the winning
patron completes a form provided or
approved by the board to report the win-
nings.

C. The form must include
the following information and must be com-
pleted in full:

(1) the name, address, telephone
number, and social security number of the
winning patron;

(2) the exact amount of the win-
nings;

(3) the date the winnings were
won; and

(4) the name, address, telephone
number, and gaming operator license num-
ber of the gaming operator.

D. In addition to providing
the information required in Subsection C of
15.1.19.9 NMAC above, the winning patron
must sign and date the following state-
ments, under penalty of perjury:

(1) a statement declaring, to the
best of the winning patron’s knowledge and
belief, that the winning patron does not owe
and is not delinquent in child support pay-
ments in any state; and

(2) a statement attesting to the
accuracy of the information provided.

E. After the winning
patron completes the form, the gaming
operator licensee [swst] shall verify the
identity of the winning patron and the infor-
mation provided by the winning patron on
the form against at least one of the follow-
ing forms of photograph identification:
[cheelcne—the—form—asainst—at—teast—twe
M’ } ; o
. . . ’

£y  throf i
graph

(1) [wahd-driverstieense—issted
by-amy-state:] valid driver licensee issued by
any state in the United States of America;

(2) [mitery—identifieation-eards}
valid identification card issued by any state
in the United States of America:;

(3) [etsrent—passpert;y] valid
employment card issued by any state in the
United States of America:;

(4) [seetat—seeunrity—eardd valid
military identification card and/or military
dependent identification card.;

(5) [identifiention—eard—issted-by

o ] valid
passport issued by the United States gov-
ernment and/or other country recognized by
the United States government; and

(6) [majorerediteard:] valid alien
resident identification card.

F. The gaming operator
licensee must also verify the social number

provided by the winning patron on the form
against one of the following documents:

(1) winning patron’s social secu-
rity card; or

(2) by having patron complete
IRS form W-9.

[#:] G.  Upon verification of the
information provided by the winning
patron; the gaming operator licensee may
pay the winnings.

[&] H. If a winning patron
refuses to provide any of the information
required by this rule, or fails or refuses to
complete the reporting form, the gaming
operator licensee must withhold the win-
nings until such time as the information is
provided.

[4/30/99; 15.1.19.9 NMAC - Rn, 15 NMAC
1.19.9, 10/15/00; A, 1/31/02; A, 7/31/02; A,
5/14/04]

15.1.19.10 DISTRIBUTION OF
REPORTING FORM:
A. The gaming operator

licensee must provide a copy of the report-
ing form to the winning patron and retain a
copy for the gaming operator’s records.

B. The gaming operator
licensee must provide, on a weekly basis,
copies of all such reporting forms to the
director of child support enforcement or his
designee.

C. Reports of winnings
may not be made to the department by tele-
phone.

D. The gaming operator
licensee is [wet] required to report to the
department in any week in which the gam-
ing operator licensee makes [ #e-payments
of winnings in the amount [exeess] of
$1,200.00 or more.

prierentr|

[4/30/99; 15.1.19.10 NMAC - Rn, 15
NMAC 1.19.10, 10/15/00; A, 1/31/02; A,
7/31/02; A, 5/14/04]

NEW MEXICO GAMING
CONTROL BOARD

This is an amendment to 15.1.20 NMAC,
Section 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, and 12, effective
5/14/04.

15.1.20.7 DEFINITIONS:
Unless otherwise defined below, terms used
in this rule have the same meanings as set
forth in the Gaming Control Act:

A. “act” means the New
Mexico Gaming Control Act;
B. “board” means the

gaming control board or its designee;
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C. “ [ dHseipHaary]

enforcement action” means an action by
the board that limits, conditions, suspends
or revokes a license, registration, finding of
suitability or prior approval issued by the
board, or an assessment of a fine by the
board, or any combination of the foregoing;

D. “fee” includes all
license, approval, and investigative costs,
all gaming taxes, all payments for charitable
and educational purposes and all payments

for compulsive gaming and horseman’s
purses, and any fines that have been

imposed by the board;

E. “fine” means any mon-
etary penalty assessed by the board for a
violation of the act after an administration
hearing has been held or as negotiated
between the board and the applicant or
licensee in settlement proceedings;

F. “gaming tax” means
the excise tax imposed pursuant to Section
60-2E-47 of the act;

G. “willfully”
knowingly or purposefully.
[4/30/99; 15.1.20.7 NMAC - Rn & A, 15
NMAC 1.20.7, 10/15/00; A, 5/14/04]

means

15.1.20.8 BASIS FOR
ISSUANCE OF AN EMERGENCY
ORDER:

A. The board or any board
member may issue, in accordance with this
rule, an emergency order to do any one or
more of the following:

(1) suspend, limit or condition a
license, registration, finding of suitability or
work permit; a fine may be imposed as a
condition of continued operation of the
license;

(2) take other action in relation to
the licensee, including disabling gaming
devices, ordering the licensee to cease all
gaming activities or involvement in gaming
activities, and stopping the movement of
gaming devices;

(3) require a gaming operator
licensee to exclude an individual licensee
from the premises of the gaming operator
licensee’s gaming establishment; or

(4) require a gaming operator
licensee not to pay an individual licensee
any remuneration for services or any prof-
its, income or accruals on his investment in
the licensed gaming establishment.

B. The board or any board
member may issue an emergency order only
when [the-beard-believes| there is probable
cause to believe that:

(1) a licensee has willfully failed
to report, pay or truthfully account for and
pay any fee imposed by the provisions of
the Act or willfully attempted in any manner
to evade or defeat any fee or payment of a
fee;

(2) a licensee or gaming employ-

ee has cheated at a game; or

(3) the emergency order is neces-
sary for the immediate preservation of the
public peace, health, safety, morals, good
order or general welfare.

C. For  purposes of
Subsection B 0f 15.1.20.8 NMAC, failure to
pay the gaming tax by the fifteenth of the
month following the month in which the
taxable event occurs constitutes willful fail-
ure to pay the gaming tax.

D. Within ten days of the
issuance of the emergency order by an indi-
vidual board member, the board shall meet
in special session to consider whether the
emergency order should remain in place or

be stayed until an administrative hearing is
held.

[4/30/99; 15.1.20.8 NMAC - Rn & A, 15
NMAC 1.20.8, 10/15/00; A, 2/14/02; A,
5/14/04]

15.1.20.9 CONTENTS OF
EMERGENCY ORDER: The emergency
order [#wst] shall include the specific
grounds upon which the order is issued, a
statement of facts that constitute the alleged
emergency requiring the action, and the spe-
cific [disetphnary| enforcement action to be
taken.

[4/30/99; 15.1.20.9 NMAC - Rn, 15 NMAC
1.20.9, 10/15/00; A, 5/14/04]

15.1.20.10 SERVICE OF EMER-
GENCY ORDER; EFFECT:
A. The board [#ust] shall

effect personal service of the emergency
order as follows:

(1) upon the licensee or resident
agent of the licensee or gaming employee;
or

(2) in cases involving registration
or findings of suitability, upon the person or
entity involved or resident agent of the enti-
ty involved.

B. Proof of service must
be provided by a certificate or affidavit of
service signed by the person effecting serv-
ice and specifying the date and time of serv-
ice.

C. The emergency order is
effective immediately upon issuance and
service as set forth in this rule. The emer-
gency order remains in effect until further
order of the board or final disposition of the
case.

[4/30/99; 15.1.20.10 NMAC - Rn, 15
NMAC 1.20.10, 10/15/00; A, 5/14/04]

15.1.20.11 COMPLAINT;
ADMINISTRATIVE HEARING:

A. Within five days after
the issuance of an emergency order, the
board [w4H] shall file and serve a complaint
upon the person or entity involved in accor-
dance with the provisions in 15.1.14

NMAC, except that the respondent [wwH]
shall have 10 days to file an answer with the
board.

B. The board will conduct
a hearing on the complaint no later than [268]
30 days after service of the complaint.
[4/30/99; 15.1.20.11 NMAC - Rn, 15
NMAC 1.20.11, 10/15/00; A, 5/14/04]

15.1.20.12 NONPAYMENT OF
FEES; SUSPENSION OF GAMING
LICENSE AND DISABLING OF GAM-
ING MACHINES:

A. The board may suspend
a gaming operator’s license and disable
gaming machines due to nonpayment of a
fee owed by the gaming operator licensee.

B. If the overdue fee is the
gaming tax, the board [wiH] shall contact
the taxation and revenue department by
telephone, letter or e-mail to verify that the
gaming operator licensee has not paid the
overdue fee.

C. Following verification
that the fee has not been paid, the board
[w+H] shall provide to the gaming operator
licensee written notice of the overdue fee.
The written notice [w#H] shall include a
demand for payment and [w#] shall be sent
by certified mail or personally delivered to
the licensee.

D. The gaming operator
licensee [#ust] shall pay the overdue fee in
full and submit proof of payment satisfacto-
ry to the board within five days of receipt of
the notice.

E. The board [wH] shall
issue an emergency order to suspend the
gaming operator’s license and to disable the
gaming machines if the gaming operator
licensee fails to submit to the board satis-
factory proof of full payment of the fee as
set forth above. The gaming operator’s
license [wH] shall be suspended and the
gaming machines [w#H] shall be disabled
upon service of the emergency order on the
gaming operator licensee.

F. Nothing in this Section
15.1.20.12 NMAC shall be construed as
prohibiting the board from taking any other
appropriate action in the emergency order in
addition to suspending the gaming opera-
tor’s license and disabling the gaming
machines, including imposing a fine against
the licensee as a condition of continued
operation of the license.

G. In addition to issuance
of an emergency order suspending the gam-
ing operator’s license and disabling the
gaming machines, the board may initiate
enforcement proceedings seeking to revoke,
limit, condition or further suspend the
license, or impose additional fines against
the gaming operator licensee, or both.

H. Provided the gaming
operator license has not been revoked, the
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board [#+H] shall issue an order to lift the
suspension and enable the gaming machines
upon proof satisfactory to the board that the
gaming operator licensee has:

(1) paid the overdue fee in full;

(2) paid any fines or other fees
assessed by the board or other agency in
connection with the overdue fee;

(3) completed any period of sus-
pension imposed on the license by the
board; and

(4) complied with any and all
other conditions imposed by the board.
[15.1.20.12 NMAC - N, 10/15/00; A,
2/14/02; A, 5/14/04]

NEW MEXICO GAMING
CONTROL BOARD

This is an amendment to 15.1.24.10
NMAC, effective 5/14/04.

15.1.24.10 MULTIPLE LINK-
AGE OF PROGRESSIVE GAMING
MACHINES:

A. There is no administra-

tive limit on the number of progressive
gaming machines that may be linked at a
gaming premises. Each linked gaming
machine must have the same probability of
hitting the combination or other event that
will trigger an award of the progressive
jackpot. Gaming machines that are part of
the linked system must have jackpot meters,
support multiple jackpots, and follow the
jackpot terminal protocol developed by the
board.

B. Linkage of progressive
gaming machines between racetrack opera-
tor licensees, with progressive systems or
gaming machines operated at tribal casinos
or casinos located outside of New Mexico,
or with gaming machines operated by any
other person, [is-expressiy-prohibited] shall

be electronically verifiable by the board.
[15.1.24.10 NMAC - N, 5/31/00; A,

5/14/04]
NEW MEXICO HUMAN

SERVICES DEPARTMENT
CHILD SUPPORT ENFORCEMENT
DIVISION

TITLE 8 SOCIAL SERVICES
CHAPTER 50 CHILD SUPPORT
ENFORCEMENT PROGRAM

PART 132 UNCLAIMED
CHILD, SPOUSAL OR MEDICAL SUP-
PORT

8.50.132.1 ISSUING AGENCY:
New Mexico Human Services Department -
Child Support Enforcement Division.
[8.50.132.1 NMAC - N, 05/14/04]

8.50.132.2 SCOPE: To the gener-
al public. For use by the human services
department and recipients of federal Title
IV services.

[8.50.132.2 NMAC - N, 05/14/04]

8.50.132.3 STATUTORY
AUTHORITY: Public Assistance Act,
Section 27-2-27 (A)(5) NMSA 1978. The
human services department is designated as
the single state agency for the enforcement
of child and spousal support obligations
pursuant to Title IV-D of the Social Security
Act (42 USC 651 et. seq.).

[8.50.132.3 NMAC - N, 05/14/04]

8.50.132.4
Permanent.
[8.50.132.4 NMAC - N, 05/14/04]

DURATION:

8.50.132.5 EFFECTIVE DATE:
May 14, 2004, unless a later date is cited at
the end of a section.

[8.50.132.5 NMAC - N, 05/14/04]

8.50.132.6 OBJECTIVE: To
establish regulations for the disposition of
unclaimed child, spousal or medical support
payments. The regulations here codify
present practices in accordance with federal
and state law and regulations.

[8.50.132.6 NMAC - N, 05/14/04]

8.50.132.7 DEFINITIONS: For
purposes relating to unclaimed -child,
spousal or medical support payments the
following definitions will apply.

A. "Apparent owner"
means a person whose name appears on the
records of the department as the person enti-
tled to property held, issued, or collected by
the department.

B. "Owner" means a per-
son who has a legal interest in property or
the person's legal representative.

C. "Child, spousal or med-
ical support payments" means money
(including a check, draft, deposit, interest,
overpayment, refund or credit), real or per-
sonal property, or other assets held, received
or seized pursuant to an order to pay child
support, spousal support (alimony) or med-
ical support.

D. "Unclaimed" means no
person to whom to deliver moneys or prop-
erties received or seized by the department
can be located or identified. "Unclaimed"
also means the custodial parent and
child(ren) are deceased and no claimant
comes forward after notice sent to the last
known address or last known employer of
the custodial parent and non-custodial par-
ent.

[8.50.132.7 NMAC - N, 05/14/04]

8.50.132.8 EFFORTS TO

LOCATE: Before property may be
declared unclaimed by the department, the
department shall make reasonable attempts
to locate the custodial parent; the non-cus-
todial parent. These attempts shall include:

A. If there is no case or
payee identified in the money or property
transmittal, the department shall:

(1) attempt to ascertain the case to
which property should be applied through
any documents accompanying payment;

(2) attempt to contact the person,
if any, listed on the mailing envelope by
phone; and

(3) mail notice of intent to declare
property unclaimed to the address, if any, on
the envelope in which money or property is
received without case identification.

B. If the custodial parent
has moved or property cannot be delivered
to the custodial parent’s last known address
on file with the department; utilize standard
locate resources to determine if a current
address or employer can be obtained for the
custodial parent and/or non-custodial par-
ent. If use of standard locate resources is
unsuccessful, the department shall mail
notice of intent to declare property
unclaimed to the custodial parent’s last
known employer’s address, if the address is
on file with the department.

[8.50.132.8 NMAC - N, 05/14/04]

8.50.132.9 NOTICE AND PUB-
LICATION OF LISTS OF ABAN-
DONED PROPERTY:

A. The department shall
establish and maintain a list of persons for
whom the department is searching to make
payment to for unclaimed support on its
website and shall post their names for a
period of one year. The list shall contain:

(1) the name of each person
appearing to be the owner of the property;

(2) the last known address or
location of each person appearing to be the
owner of the property;

(3) a statement that information
about the property and its return to the
owner is available to a person having a legal
or beneficial interest in the property, upon
request and proof of the persons right to
such property to the department.

B. The department is not
required to post or list unclaimed property
having a total value less than one hundred
dollars. Money not claimed and deemed as
“unclaimed property” will be processed in
accordance with applicable state and feder-
al regulations and guidelines, no earlier than
thirty six months after receipt.

[8.50.132.9 NMAC - N, 05/14/04]

8.50.132.10 RECOVERY BY
PERSON TO WHOM MONEYS ARE
OWED: The department may subsequent-
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ly make payment or return property to a per-
son reasonably appearing to be entitled to
payment. Upon a filing by the holder of
proof of payment and proof that the payee
was entitled to the payment, the department
shall promptly reimburse the holder. The
department shall require the claimant’s
social security number and proof of identity
together with such other evidence as may be
needed to establish the claimant’s rights to
such property.

[8.50.132.10 NMAC - N, 05/14/04]

8.50.132.11 CREDITING OF
DIVIDENDS, INTEREST AND INCRE-
MENTS TO OWNER'S ACCOUNT: If
property other than money was delivered to
the department, the non-custodial parent is
entitled to receive credit for any income or
gain realized or accruing on the property at
or before liquidation or conversion of the
property into money less the cost of liquida-
tion or conversion. The department shall
not pay interest on any unclaimed money or
property.

[8.50.132.11 NMAC - N, 05/14/04]

8.50.132.12 FILING CLAIM
WITH DEPARTMENT; HANDLING
OF CLAIMS BY DEPARTMENT: A per-
son, claiming they are owed money or prop-
erty from the department under this rule,
may file a claim on a form prescribed by the
department and verified under oath or affir-
mation by the claimant.

A. Within thirty days after
a claim is filed, the department shall allow
or deny the claim and give written notice of
the decision to the claimant.

B. A person whose claim
has not been acted upon within thirty days
after its filing may immediately file an
administrative appeal to establish the claim.

C. A person adversely
affected by a decision of the department,
may within thirty days after notice of the
decision, file an administrative appeal in
accordance with Part 130 (Administrative
Hearings - 8.50.130 NMAC).

[8.50.132.12 NMAC - N, 05/14/04]

HISTORY OF 8.50.132 NMAC:

[RESERVED]

NEW MEXICO BOARD OF
NURSING

This is an amendment to Section 16.12.1.8
NMAC, effective 06-01-04. This action
amends this Section by removing unneces-
sary language due to changes in the role in
accordance with the current (NMAC) New
Mexico Administrative Code Requirements.

16.12.1.8 ADMINISTRATION:

A. Members of the board
are appointed by the governor and are
accountable to the governor for the enforce-
ment of the Nursing Practice Act, Section
61-3-1 et seq., NMSA, 1978.

(1) Rules are adopted by the
board to further define the Nursing Practice
Act and the functions of the board.

Ha)Reguestforexeeptionsto-the

exeeptons—te-therrles

(2) A code of conduct shall be
adopted by the board, and shall be reviewed
annually at a regularly scheduled meeting of
the board.

(3) The board shall meet at least
once every three months.

(a) A meeting notice resolution,
consistent with the Open Meetings Act,
Section 10-15-1 et seq., NMSA, 1978, shall
be adopted by the board and shall be
reviewed annually at a regularly scheduled
board meeting.

(b) A schedule of regular meeting
dates shall be approved by the board at a
regular meeting prior to the beginning of the
next calendar year, and shall be published in
the board’s fall/winter newsletter, and on
the board’s website.

(4) The board may appoint advi-
sory committees consisting of at least one
member who is a board member and at least
two members expert in the pertinent field of
health care to assist it in the performance of
its duties, Section 61-3-10, M. NMSA,
1978.

(a) Exception: no current board
members shall be appointed to an advisory
committee for the diversion program,
Section 61-3-29, B. NMSA, 1978.

(b) Members of advisory commit-
tees who fail to attend three consecutive
committee meetings shall automatically be
removed as a member of the committee.

(¢) Advisory committee members
may be reimbursed as provided in the Per
Diem and Mileage Act, Section 10-8-8
NMSA, 1978 for travel to a committee
meeting and/or function.

(i) Mileage may be paid
when there is a total of sixty (60) miles or
more traveled,

(i) Per diem may be
paid for overnight stays only upon prior
approval of the executive director or assis-
tant director.

(5) The board shall elect a chair-
man, vice-chairman and secretary annually.
The term of office begins with the meeting
subsequent to the election. Any member of
the board may serve as an officer of the
board.

(6) Board members shall not be
involved with the administration and/or
management of the board office.

(7) Board may appoint site visi-
tors who have expertise in the pertinent
field of education/health care to accompany
board staff on visits to educational pro-
grams, health care institutions/facilities, etc.
to assist it in the performance of its duties
and responsibilities. Site visitors may be
reimbursed as provided in the Per Diem and
Mileage Act, Section 10-8-1 to 10-8-8
NMSA, 1978, for travel to a committee
meeting and/or function.

(a) Mileage may be paid when
there is a total of sixty (60) miles or more
traveled, and

(b) Per diem may be paid for
overnight stays only upon prior approval of
the executive director or assistant director.

B. The board shall hire an
executive director who is accountable to the
board for the administration and manage-
ment of the board office, including but not
limited to the fiscal operation, records, hir-
ing and firing of personnel. The operation
of the board office shall be in accordance
with the state of New Mexico statutes and
rules.

(1) The executive director shall
not have the power to grant, deny or with-
draw approval for schools of nursing or to
revoke, suspend or withhold any license
authorized by the NPA.

(2) The executive director, or
designee, shall represent the board to the
public.

C. Honorarium: members
of the board and board staff, when speaking
on behalf of the board of nursing, may
accept an honorarium. The honorarium
shall be made in the name of the New
Mexico board of nursing and deposited in
the nursing fund with the state of New
Mexico.

D. Verification of
license/certificate

(1) Employers and other interest-
ed persons may request verification of the
status of a license/certificate.

(2) Verification of
relicensure/recertification status is available
immediately by phone and 24 hours on
board website.

(3) Requests for verification of
licensure/certification to other boards of
nursing should be submitted through the
NCSBN web based system.

E. Reimbursement for dis-
ciplinary witnesses and experts on behalf of
the state.

(1) Individuals subpoenaed as a
disciplinary witness for the state may be
reimbursed for mileage as provided for in
the Per Diem and Mileage Act, Section 10-
8-1to 10-8-8 NMSA, 1978, when sixty (60)
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miles or more are traveled to a disciplinary
hearing.

(2) Individuals who serve as an
expert witness for the state in a disciplinary
matter may be reimbursed by the board in
an amount not to exceed: two hundred dol-
lars ($200.00) for reviewing the file,
research and advisement in the matter, and
three hundred dollars ($300.00) for testify-
ing at a disciplinary hearing.

(3) The executive director may
approve additional reimbursement for the
review of files and testimony of expert wit-
nesses when such reimbursement is essen-
tial to the prosecution of the case.

F. Telephonic attendance
at board meetings by board members

(1) Pursuant to the provisions of
the Open Meetings Act, Section 10-15-1 C
NMSA, 1978, as amended, board members
may participant in a meeting of the board by
means of a conference telephone or similar
communications equipment.

(2) Board members participation
in meeting telephonically shall constitute
presence in person at the meeting.
Telephonic participation may only occur
when it is difficult or impossible for the per-
son to be physically present. That is, there
are circumstances beyond the member’s
control which make attendance in person
extremely burdensome.

(3) Each board member partici-
pating telephonically must be identified
when speaking and all participants must be
able to hear all other participants.

(4) Members of the public attend-
ing the meeting must be able to hear all
members of the board and members of the
public who speak during the meeting.

G. Use of fax: The board
of nursing may accept and send facsimile of
documents with the exception of communi-
cations related to participants of the diver-
sion program.

[1-1-98; 16.12.1.8 NMAC — Rn & A, 16
NMAC 12.1.8, 7-30-01; A, 11-16-01; A, 1-
2-04; A, 6-01-04]

NEW MEXICO BOARD OF
NURSING

This is an amendment to Section 16.12.2.10
NMAC, effective 06-01-04. This action
amends this Section by removing unneces-
sary language due to changes in the role in
accordance with the current (NMAC) New
Mexico Administrative Code Requirements.

16.12.2.10 LICENSURE
REQUIREMENTS FOR REGISTERED
AND PRACTICAL NURSES: Licensure
with the New Mexico board of nursing is
mandatory and is the responsibility of the
individual nurse, pursuant to the nursing

practice act. For states who are a part of the
nurse licensure compact, licensure in New
Mexico can only be issued to applicants
who declare New Mexico as their primary
state of residence.

A. Prerequisites for licen-
sure of RNs and LPNs by examination in
New Mexico.

(1) Completion of and eligible for
graduation from a board approved course of
study for the preparation of registered nurs-
es or practical nurses, or an acceptable level
of education as determined by the board or
graduation from a program which is equiv-
alent to an approved program of nursing in
the United States.

(a) RN and PN graduates from
non-U.S. nursing programs:

(i) may have an evalua-
tion of their nursing education credentials
sent to the New Mexico board directly from
a board recognized educational credential-
ing agency; or

(ii) may request an offi-
cial transcript sent to the New Mexico board
directly from the non- US nursing program;
if the transcript is not in English, a copy of
a translated transcript certified by a quali-
fied translator must be sent directly to the
New Mexico board.

(b) RN applicants educated in
non-U.S. nursing programs may submit a
copy, certified by a notary, of the commis-
sion of graduates of foreign nursing
school’s (CGFNS) examination certificate
in lieu of an evaluation of their educational
credentials; Puerto Rico applicants who are
graduates of NLNAC accredited registered
nurse programs are eligible to sit the
NCLEX-RN.

(2) Completion of the required
board of nursing application for licensure
by examination according to instructions
and including the required fee.

(3) Completion of NCLEX appli-
cation for the testing service according to
instructions.

B. Nationwide criminal
background check. Applicants for initial
licensure in New Mexico are subject to a
state and national criminal background
check at their cost.

(1) Submit two (2) full sets of fin-
gerprints, completed finger print certificate
form, signed authorization for criminal
background check and fee.

(2) Applications for exam or
endorsement will not be processed without
submission of fingerprints, finger print cer-
tificate form, authorization for criminal
background check form and fee.

(3) If the criminal background
check reveals a felony or violation of the
Nursing Practice Act, the applicant/licensee
will be notified to submit copies of legal
documents and other related information to

the board who will make the determination
if the applicant is eligible for licensure or if
disciplinary action will be taken.

C. Complete application
for licensure by examination, certification
of eligibility for graduation or official tran-
script and fee must be received by the board
office prior to being granted permission to
take the national licensing examination
(NCLEX). Certification of eligibility for
graduation or official transcript, indicating
date requirements for graduation from the
nursing program were met and certificate or
degree awarded or to be awarded, must be
received in the board office directly from
the registrar’s office.

D. Results of the examina-
tion shall be reported, by mail, to the indi-
vidual applicant within four (4) weeks fol-
lowing the applicant’s examination date.
Examination results shall be released to the
applicant’s nursing program, and boards of
nursing unless otherwise instructed, in writ-
ing, by applicant.

E. An initial license shall
be valid for two (2) years.
F. Applications containing

fraudulent or misrepresented information
could be the basis for denial or revocation
of licensure.

G If the licensure process
is not completed, the application becomes
null and void one (1) year after date of last
noted activity.

H. Permits-to-practice
may be issued for employment at a specific
institution(s) in New Mexico. Permits can
be faxed or mailed directly to the New
Mexico employing institution(s).

(1) To be eligible for a permit-to-
practice, the applicant must:

(a) complete the application
process to take the NCLEX within twelve
(12) weeks of graduation; the permit to
practice for RN and PN graduates of U.S.
schools may be issued for a period not to
exceed six months from the date of applica-
tion; permits to practice may not be issued
by New Mexico for employment at specific
institution(s) in compact states; permits to
practice will not be issued for applicants
who declare residency in other compact
states;

(b) RN and PN graduates from
non-U.S. nursing programs may be issued a
permit to practice in New Mexico for a peri-
od not to exceed six months from the date of
application;

(c) assure that prospective New
Mexico employer(s) submit a letter of intent
to employ to the board office, on agency let-
terhead, indicating the name of a specific
New Mexico employer and name and nurs-
ing license number of the RN who is
responsible for assuring direct supervision
by a registered nurse;
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(d) submit fingerprint cards and
documents and fee to initiate a state and
national criminal background check.

(2) Permits-to-practice cannot be
transferred or renewed.

(3) Written notification from
employer must be made to the board office
in case of lost or stolen permit-to-practice.

(4) Permits-to-practice shall be
valid until the examination results are dis-
seminated but shall not exceed the expira-
tion date on the permit.

(5) Candidates who were not suc-
cessful on the national licensure examina-
tion will receive the results as soon as they
are available.

(6) Applicants who hold a gradu-
ate permit and do not become licensed prior
to expiration date of the permit, may not
continue to practice as a graduate nurse or
graduate practical nurse.

L Applicants who fail the
examination may apply to retake the exam-
ination a maximum of eight (8) times per
year, but must wait forty-five (45) days to
retest.

(1) A fee will be charged by the
board for all reexaminations.

(2) Applicants for reexamination
must meet all NCLEX requirements for
retaking the examination.

J. National council licens-
ing examination.

(1) Applicants for licensure as
RN shall be required to pass the NCLEX
for RNs.

(2) Applicants for licensure as
PNs shall be required to pass the NCLEX
for PNs.

(3) Applicants observed giving
and/or receiving unauthorized assistance
during the taking of the national licensing
examination shall be referred to the board
by a sworn complaint.

K. Prerequisites for licen-
sure of registered nurses and licensed prac-
tical nurses by endorsement.

(1) Verification DIRECTLY from
the licensing authority which shall include:

(a) graduation from an approved
nursing program or an acceptable level of
education as determined by the board or a
nursing program which is equivalent to an
approved program of nursing in the United
States; and

(b) initial licensure by passing a
national licensure examination in English or
a state constructed licensure examination
prior to October 1986.

(2) Applicants from licensing
authorities which do not verify graduation
from a nursing education program, must
assure that a final transcript is sent to the
board of nursing DIRECTLY from the edu-
cational institution or custodian of records
verifying graduation from an approved

nursing program or equivalent, or

(3) RN and PN graduates from
non-U.S. nursing programs:

(a) may have an evaluation of
their nursing education credentials sent to
the New Mexico board directly from a
board recognized educational credentialing
agency or;

(b) may request an official tran-
script sent to the New Mexico board direct-
ly from the non- US nursing program. If the
transcript is not in English, a copy of a
translated transcript certified by a qualified
translator must be sent directly to the New
Mexico board.

(4) RN applicants educated in
non-U.S. nursing programs may submit a
copy, certified by a notary, of the commis-
sion of graduates of foreign nursing
school’s (CGFNS) examination certificate
in lieu of an evaluation of their educational
credentials. Puerto Rico applicants who are
graduates of NLNAC accredited registered
nurse programs are eligible to sit the
NCLEX-RN.

15} fCanadian-edueatedRN-and
ERN—appheants—wheo—took—the—Canadian

) (5) Complete and submit the
required application for licensure by
endorsement in accordance with all instruc-
tions, including the required fee.

) (6) Complete and submit two
full sets of fingerprints, finger print certifi-
cate form, the authorization for criminal
background check, and the fee in accor-
dance with all instructions found in
Subsection B of 16.12.1.10 NMAC.

L. Qualifications for licen-
sure as a RN or PN are pursuant to the nurs-
ing practice act.

(1) LPN applicants initially
licensed after July 1, 1969 must meet the
educational requirements.

(2) Military personnel, licensed as
LPNs by successful writing of the national
licensing examination prior to July 1, 1977,
may be licensed in New Mexico by
endorsement providing their DD-214 shows
the related civilian occupation to be “LPN.”

(3) Continuing education is not
required for initial licensure by endorse-
ment. CE requirements must be met at the
time of the first renewal.

(4) Disciplinary action taken or

pending against a nursing license in another
jurisdiction, or a conviction of a felony, may
result in denial of a license.

M. A permit-to-practice
may be issued to a New Mexico employ-
er(s), for an endorsee who has not declared
primary residence in a nurse licensure com-
pact state awaiting results of the national
licensing examination or the English equiv-
alent from another country. The following
must be submitted to the board:

(1) a completed endorsement
application and fee;

(2) two full sets of fingerprints,
fingerprint certification form, the authoriza-
tion for criminal background check and fee;

(3) written verification must be
received DIRECTLY from the licensing
authority: (a) that the applicant applied for
the licensing examination within twelve
(12) weeks of graduation and is eligible for
licensure, or (b) that the first licensing
examination after completion of nursing
education has been applied for or taken;

(4) assure prospective New
Mexico employer(s) submits a letter of
intent to employ, on agency letterhead, indi-
cating the name of the specific New Mexico
employing institution and name and nursing
license number of the RN who is responsi-
ble for assuring direct supervision by a reg-
istered nurse;

(5) meeting all other endorsement
requirements;

(6) a permit-to-practice shall be
valid from date of issuance until the appli-
cant’s examination results and licensure sta-
tus have been verified by the other state or
country, but shall not exceed twenty-four
(24) weeks from the date of graduation.

N. A temporary license
may be issued to an endorsee upon submis-
sion of:

(1) a completed endorsement
application and required fee;

(2) two full sets of fingerprints,
fingerprint certificate form, the authoriza-
tion for criminal background check and fee;

(3) the board will issue the tem-
porary license to the applicant;

(4) a temporary license is valid
for a period not to exceed six (6) months
from the date of application,_is non renew-
able and becomes null and void upon
issuance of a current license, expiration, or
withdrawal by board action;

(5) applicant is responsible for
assuring that all requirements have been
met and all documents have been received
prior to the expiration date of the temporary
license;

(6) the discovery of inaccurate or
false information, on the licensure applica-
tion, may be subject to recall of the tempo-
rary license by the board and denial of
licensure.
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0. An initial license shall
be valid for two (2) years.
P. If the licensure process

is not completed, the application becomes
null and void one (1) year after date of last
noted activity.

Q. In case of a medical
emergency (as defined in these rules), nurs-
es currently licensed to practice as a RN or
LPN in a jurisdiction of the United States
may practice in New Mexico without mak-
ing application for a New Mexico license
for a period not to exceed thirty (30) days.

R. Requirements for reli-
censure. Applicants for relicensure must
meet CE requirements as stated in these
rules, pursuant to the nursing practice act
[Section 61-3-24 NMSA 1978].

(1) Licensed nurses shall be
required to complete the renewal process by
the end of their renewal month every two
(2) years.

(2) A renewal application form
shall be mailed to the licensee at least six
(6) weeks prior to the end of the renewal
month.

(a) The renewal application form
may be accepted no more than sixty (60)
days prior to the expiration date of the
license.

(b) Failure to receive the applica-
tion for renewal shall not relieve the licens-
ee of the responsibility of renewing the
license by the expiration date.

(¢) If the license is not renewed
by the end of the renewal month, licensee
does not hold a valid license and shall not
practice nursing in New Mexico until the
lapsed licensed has been reactivated.

(d) Exception: if renewing, nurs-
es who are mobilized for active duty are not
required to renew their license while on
active duty, other than training, during a
military action. A copy of the mobilization
orders must be submitted to the board office
prior to expiration of the license. The
license extension shall end one month after
deployment is concluded. No reactivation
fee will be charged when the license is
renewed.

(3) Thirty (30) hours of approved
CE must be accrued within the 24 months
immediately preceding expiration of
license.

(a) Certified nurse practitioners
must complete a total of 50 hours of
approved CE each renewal.

(b) Certified RN anesthetists
must submit a copy of the recertification
card issued by AANA council on recertifi-
cation for renewal of the CRNA license.

(¢) Clinical nurse specialist must
complete a total of 50 hours of approved
continuing education each renewal.

(d) Exception: if renewing, nurs-
es mobilized for military action are not

required to meet the CE requirements while
on active duty, other than training, during a
military action. A copy of the mobilization
order must be submitted along with the
renewal application.

(4) Individuals who reside out-of-
state who do not hold primary residence in
a nurse licensure compact state, but wish to
maintain a current, valid New Mexico
license, must meet the same requirements
for licensure as licensees residing within the
state who have declare New Mexico as their
primary residence.

(5) Penalty: Failure of licensee to
meet the CE requirement for licensure shall
result in the license not being renewed, rein-
stated, or reactivated. When the CE require-
ment has been met, an application for licen-
sure may be submitted for consideration.

(6) Licenses are issued by mail
only.

S. Requirements for
reporting lost-stolen licenses/name-address
change, and requesting duplicate license.

(1) Lost/stolen license: Licensee
is required to give immediate, notification
to the board office of lost or stolen license.

(2) Address change: Immediate
notification of address change must be
made, to the board office.

(3) Name change: Nurse must
use name as it appears on current license;

(a) duplicate may be requested
upon change of name, or;

(b) name may be changed when
license is renewed.

(4) Procedure for obtaining a
duplicate license.

(a) Submit a written request for a
duplicate license including the following
information: Licensee’s name, date of birth,
nursing license number, social security
number and address.

(b) Submit a copy of the legal
document required for name change (ONLY
recorded marriage certificate, divorce
decree or court order accepted).

(¢) Remit the required fee.

(d) Duplicate license may be reis-
sued, within a given renewal period, ONLY
upon return of the previously issued dupli-
cate.

(e) Duplicate licenses are issued
by mail only.

T. Reactivation/reinstate-
ment of a lapsed license must meet the
requirements for relicensure pursuant to the
nursing practice act and these rules. A reac-
tivated or reinstated license shall be valid
for two (2) years.

U. Inactive Status.
Licensee may request her/his license be
placed on inactive status during the renewal
cycle only; however, the licensee may not
function in a nursing capacity as a New
Mexico licensed nurse until the license is

reactivated.

(1) In order to place a license on
inactive statue, the licensee must, prior to
the expiration date of the current license
submit a completed renewal form and sub-
mit the inactive status fee.

(2) The license may remain in an
inactive status indefinitely.

(3) The inactive fee is charged
each time inactive status is requested fol-
lowing reactivation of the license.

[1-1-98; 16.12.2.10 NMAC — Rn & A, 16
NMAC 12.2.10, 7-30-01; A, 12-31-01; A,
04-01-02; A, 1-2-04; A, 6-01-04]

NEW MEXICO BOARD OF
NURSING

This is an amendment to Section 16.12.3.12
NMAC, effective 06-01-04. This action
amends this Section by adding new lan-
guage due to changes in the role in accor-
dance with the current (NMAC) New
Mexico Administrative Code Requirements.

16.12.3.12 MINIMUM  STAN-
DARDS FOR NURSNG PROGRAMS:

A. Administration and
organization.

(1) The nursing education pro-
gram shall be an integral part of a regional-
ly accredited institution authorized by this
state to confer credentials in nursing.

(2) The nursing programs shall
have status comparable with other academ-
ic units. There shall be an organizational
chart which identifies the relationships,
within and between the program and other
administrative areas of the parent institu-
tion.

(3) The administration of the par-
ent institution shall provide adequate finan-
cial support for the nursing program.

(4) The parent institution shall
designate a qualified, nursing director who
is licensed to practice as a registered nurse
in New Mexico. The nursing program direc-
tor shall have responsibility and authority
comparable with the administrative position
including but not limited to development,
implementation, evaluation, administration
and organization of the nursing program.

(5) Faculty, administration and
students shall have the opportunity to par-
ticipate in the governance of the nursing
program and the parent institution.

B. Curriculum.

(1) The mission of the nursing
unit shall be consistent with that of the par-
ent institution.

(2) The curriculum shall be devel-
oped, implemented, controlled and evaluat-
ed by the faculty within the framework of
the mission, goals and outcomes of the
nursing program.
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(3) The curriculum shall extend
over a period of time sufficient to provide
essential, sequenced learning experiences
which enable a student to develop nursing
competence and shall evidence an organ-
ized pattern of instruction consistent with
principles of learning and educational prac-
tice.

(4) Clinical experience shall pro-
vide opportunities for application of theory
and for achievement of the stated objectives
in a client care setting, and shall include
clinical learning experience to develop
nursing skills required for safe practice.
Student/faculty ratio in the clinical setting
shall be based upon the level of students,
the acuity level of the clients, the character-
istics of the practice setting and shall not
exceed 8:1. Clinical evaluation tools for
evaluation of students progress, perform-
ance and learning experiences shall be stat-
ed in measurable terms directly related to
course objectives.

(5) The curriculum shall provide
instruction in the discipline of nursing,
appropriate to the RN or PN level, across
the lifespan and include content relevant to
national and local health care needs.
Support courses shall be an integral part of
the nursing curriculum.

(6) A plan for curriculum and pro-
gram evaluation shall be in place.

C. Students: There shall be
written policy statements consistent with
those of the parent institutions which shall
be made available to the student. Students
shall be provided with opportunities to par-
ticipate in the development and revisions of
policies and procedures related to students
including but not limited to philosophy,
objectives, clinical sites, learning experi-
ences, and evaluation of the program.

D. Faculty requirements.

(1) The director of the nursing
program and all nursing program faculty
shall hold current licenses to practice as reg-
istered nurses in New Mexico or in a com-
pact state.

(2) Faculty shall meet the educa-
tional requirements of the parent institution
and those requirements shall be at least
comparable to other faculty members of like
status.

(3) Beginning on January 1, 2002,
all new nursing program directors and nurs-
ing faculty must meet the following require-
ments:

(a) the director shall hold a grad-
uate degree in nursing;

(b) nursing faculty shall hold a
graduate degree in nursing; faculty without
a graduate degree may be employed for one
year and then are required to complete a
graduate degree within the next five years;

(¢) nursing faculty who teach part
time shall hold a minimum of a bachelors

degree in nursing; faculty without a BSN
may be employed for one year and then are
required to be enrolled in a BSN completion

program;
(4) Personnel policies for nursing

faculty shall be the same as those in effect
for other faculty with the exception of:

(a) at least 80% of the director’s
assignment should be administrative; addi-
tional administrative time should be given
when preparing for accreditation, curricu-
lum revision and other such activities;

(b) nursing faculty workload shall
be calculated by teaching clock/contact
hour.

E. Resources: The parent
institution  shall provide sufficient
resources, services and facilities to operate
the nursing program.

[1-1-98; 16.12.3.12 NMAC - Rn & A, 16
NMAC 12.3.12, 7-30-01; A, 12-31-01; A,
1-2-04; A, 6-01-04]

NEW MEXICO BOARD OF
NURSING

This is an amendment to Sections 16.12.7.7
and 16.12.7.16 NMAC, effective 06-01-04.
This action amends these Sections by
removing unnecessary language and adding
new language due to changes in the role in
accordance with the current (NMAC) New
Mexico Administrative Code Requirements.

16.12.7.7 DEFINITIONS:

A. “Administrator”
means the operating officer of an agency.

B. “Board” means the
NM board of nursing.

C. “Certified medication

aide (CMA)” means a person who under
the supervision/direction of a registered
nurse, in licensed nursing facilities is per-
mitted to administer medications as out-
lined in these rules.

D. “Clinical preceptor”
means a licensed nurse at each participating
nursing facility that is physically present
and providing 1:1 direct supervision for the
clinical experience.

E. “CMA coordinator”
means a designated licensed nurse at each
participating nursing facility that is respon-
sible for coordination of the pilot medica-
tion aide program at the nursing facility,
oversight of the clinical preceptor, liaison
with the nurse educator and submission of
reports to the nurse educator.

F. “Curriculum” means
a detailed course outline, description, or syl-
labus, which includes objectives, content,
teaching-learning activities and evaluation
strategies.

G “Delegation of med-
ication administration means authorizing
and supervising licensed and certified staff

(certified medication aides) in the perform-
ance of medication administration.

H. “Medications” means
substances intended for use in diagnosis,
care, mitigation, treatment or prevention of
a disease.

L “Medication aide pro-
gram” means the formal program of study,
certification, continuing education, stan-
dards of functions, disciplinary action, and
minimum standards.

J “NPA”: means the
nursing practice act.
K. “Nurse educator”

means a registered nurse who is the pilot
program administrator and is developing
and teaching the pilot program at the select-
ed sited in New Mexico.

L. “Nursing facility”
means a facility that serves persons/resi-
dents that is licensed as a nursing facility by
the department of health fenrd-s—in-sabstan-
tal-complanee-therewith:|

M. “OTC medications”
means medications that are purchased over
the counter without a prescription. OTC
medications must be stored in original man-
ufacturer’s packaging and affixed with the
original manufacturer’s labeling.
Physician’s orders (see Paragraph 1 of
Subsection B of 16.12.5.10. NMAC) with
adequate instructions must be obtained
prior to the administration of OTC medica-
tions by the certified medication aide.

N. “Properly labeled
container” means a medication container
which includes the name, address and tele-
phone number of the pharmacy, the name of
the prescriber, the full name of the resident,
the date the order was filled, the brand and
generic name of the drug, the dosage of the
drug, strength of the drug, lot number, expi-
ration date, adequate instructions for use
and cautionary label as necessary.

0. “PRN” means instruc-
tion to give a medication as needed.
Requires judgment.

P. “Resident” means
admitted to and receiving care of treatment
in a department of health licensed nursing
facility.

Q. “Routine medication”
means a medication for which the frequen-
cy of administration, amount, strength, and
method of administration are specifically
fixed as determined by the physician or per-
son authorized to order medications in the
state of New Mexico. Routine does not
include medications for which the time of
administration, the amount, the strength of
dosage, the method of administration or the
reason for administration is left to judgment
or discretion.

R. “Supervision/direc-
tion” means initial verification of a person’s
knowledge and skills in the performance of
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a specific functions and/or activity followed
by periodic observation, direction and eval-
uation of that person’s knowledge and skills
as related to the specific function and/or
activity.

S. “ULA”
Uniform Licensing Act.
[16.12.7.7 NMAC - N, 1-2-04; A, 6-01-04]

means the

16.12.7.16 CHANGES REQUIR-
ING NOTIFICATION TO THE TASK
FORCE OR BOARD APPROVAL:

A. Once a trial medication
aide pilot program has been granted
approval by the board, there shall be no:

(1) major curriculum changes
and/or reorganization of the curriculum;

(2) major changes in the pro-
gram’s objectives or goals;

(3) changes in the required didac-
tic and/or clinical hours.

B. Changes requiring noti-
fication to the task force and board.

(1) Changes in the internal,
administrative or organizational plan of the
agency which affects the medication aide
pilot program.

(2) Changes in the licensure sta-
tus of the nursing facility.

(3) Changes in medications aide
program faculty.

C. The board shall deter-
mine whether a trial pilot program site
experiencing any or all of the changes
requiring notification may continue to par-
ticipate in the trail pilot program.

(1) A trial medication aide pilot
program site may be asked to cease opera-
tion when there is evidence of:

(a) substantial non-compliance
with the minimum standards for medication
aide pilot programs in this trial;

(b) disruptions in retaining quali-
fied nurse educators and/or clinical precep-
tors resulting in disorganization of the pro-
gram and breakdown of supervision and
teaching in the program;

(¢) failure to fremain—in—substan
tial—complianee—with] maintain licensure
requirements by the department of health;
[H . ;
veyHresHFveYSoF-Suspension-of Heensure:|

(d) non-compliance with the
medication aide pilot program’s stated phi-
losophy, objectives, policies, and curricu-
lum resulting in unsatisfactory student
achievement;

(e) failure to provide clinical
experience and/or supervision necessary to
achieve the objectives of the medication
aide pilot program;

(f) substantial non-compliance
with any portion of these rules.

(2) The medication aide pilot pro-
gram shall be advised, in writing, of the
board’s decision regarding continuing par-

ticipation in the program.
[16.12.7.16 NMAC - N, 1-2-04; A, 6-01-04]

NEW MEXICO BOARD OF
NURSING

This is an amendment to Section 16.12.8.10
NMAC, effective 6-01-04. This action
amends this Section by removing unneces-
sary language and adding new language due
to changes in the role in accordance with the
current (NMAC) New Mexico
Administrative Code Requirements.

16.12.8.10 STANDARDS OF
FUNCTIONS FOR THE MEDICATION
AIDE:

A. The purpose of this sec-
tion is to establish standards for the supervi-
sion/direction of medication aides; to iden-
tify basic functions for the medication aide
and to identify prohibited functions for the
medication aide.

B. Authorized functions of
the medication aide - medication aides who
have been certified by the NM board of
nursing may, under the supervision/direc-
tion of a registered nurse, administer routine
medications with the exception of intramus-
cular, intravenous, [e¥] subcutaneous, or
nasogastric medications.

(1) The medications must have
been ordered by a person authorized in this
state to prescribe them.

(2) The medications must be pre-
pared by the person who will administer it.

(3) The medication must be
removed from a previously dispensed, prop-
erly labeled container and verified with the
physician’s order.

(4) The student’s identity must be
verified before the medication is adminis-
tered.

(5) The actual act of swallowing
must be witnessed.

(6) The medication must be
recorded in the student’s chart or medica-
tion administration record including: the
name of the drug, dose administered, date
and time of administration, and any adverse
effect of the drug. The person who adminis-
ters the drug must affix their signature to the
chart according to facility policies.

(7) Drug administration errors
must immediately be reported to the regis-
tered nurse, by the medication aide.

(8) Adverse reactions must imme-
diately be reported to the registered nurse,
by the medication aide.

(9) Administer PRN medications
only after receiving authorization from an
SDE licensed registered nurse to administer
the PRN medication. Authorization is
required for each individual instance of
PRN administration of a medication. In
addition, to recording the information

required in Subsection B of paragraph (6) of
16.12.7.10 NMAC, the effectiveness of the
drug must also be recorded.

C. Prohibited functions of
the medication aide:

(1) shall not administer medica-
tion by intramuscular, intravenous or subcu-
taneous route;

(2) shall not take medication
orders;

(3) shall not alter medication
dosage as ordered by the prescriber;

(4) shall not perform any function
or service for students for which a nursing
license is required under the nurse practice
act;

(5) shall not administer medica-
tion without the supervision/direction of an
SDE licensed registered nurse.

D. Supervision/direction.

(1) An SDE licensed registered
nurse shall periodically provide supervi-
sion/direction to certified medication aides
administering medications as follows:

(a) instruction regarding medica-
tion, dose, time, route, method of adminis-
tration, documentation, and resident obser-
vation;

(b) a registered nurse shall be
available (on call) during school hours to
supervise medication aides as needed;

(¢) for the first six (6) months
after a medication aide begins administer-
ing medications, observe at least six (6) sep-
arate medication passes for each medication
aide, once per month, to ensure that med-
ications are properly prepared and adminis-
tered, and to verify that medications aides
are performing within their scope of prac-
tice; after the first six (6) months, the SDE
licensed registered nurse must observe each
CMA at least once every three (3) months
(quarterly); if a medication aide is not
administering medications regularly, the
nurse must determine an appropriate sched-
ule for observation not to be less than every
three (3) months;

(d) develop and institute a yearly
performance evaluation of each CMA; the
performance evaluation shall be based upon
the standards listed in Paragraph 1 of
Subsection A of 16.12.7.17 NMAC of these
rules; the performance evaluation shall also
include a review of the number of medica-
tion errors committed by the CMA; the per-
formance evaluation process shall be
reviewed and approved by the board.

(2) An SDE licensed registered
nurse shall monitor a school’s medication
aides, not less than once (1) every month to
include the following:

(a) review the student’s medica-
tion record;

(b) review all drug administration
errors and incident reports filed since the
SDE licensed registered nurse’s last review;
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(¢) review the controlled sub-
stance record, if applicable;

(d) meet with each medication
aide to review and discuss problems, diffi-
culties, or irregularities in administering
medications and to provide appropriate
instruction;

(e) meet with the school adminis-
trator to report, review, and discuss prob-
lems or irregularities occurring in medica-
tion administration;

(f) prepare and submit to the
school administrator, and the board of nurs-
ing, a written, signed report of findings,
observations, problems, irregularities, and
recommendations in medication administra-
tion;

(g) submit a written, signed report
of medication errors and other safety viola-
tions to the board of nursing and the admin-
istrator of the agency;

(h) submit a work schedule for
CMAs and the supervising nurse to the
board of nursing as requested.

(3) The SDE licensed registered
nurse assures the proper procurement, stor-
age, labeling and returning of medication
according to school/school district policies
and the guidelines established in the New
Mexico school health manual.

[16.12.8.10 NMAC - N, 1-2-04; A, 6-01-04]

NEW MEXICO PUBLIC
REGULATION
DEPARTMENT

INSURANCE DIVISION

This is an amendment to 13 NMAC 12.3,
Sections 1, 5 and 17. This action also
renumbers and reformats 13 NMAC 12.3 to
13.12.3 NMAC in accordance with the cur-
rent New Mexico Administrative Code
(NMAC) requirements, effective 5/14/04.

13.12.3.1 ISSUING AGENCY:
New  Mexico [State——Corporation
Commisston—Department—ofInsuranee;

Post—Offiee—Bo—269—Santa—Fe—NM
875041269 Public Regulation
Commission Insurance Division.

[7/1/97; 13.12.3.1 NMAC - Rn & A, 13
NMAC 12.3.1, 5/14/04]

13.12.3.5 EFFECTIVE DATE:
July 1, 1997, unless a later date is cited at
the end of a section [er-paragraph].

[7/1/97; 13.12.3.5 NMAC - Rn & A, 13
NMAC 12.3.5, 5/14/04]

13.12.3.17 CONDITIONS:

A. Policy provisions:
None of the insuring agreements, exclu-
sions or conditions of the policy shall apply
to the insurance afforded by this endorse-
ment except the conditions “[**]”,

“changes”, “assignment”, “cancellation”
and “declarations”.

B. Premium: If during the
policy period the number of insured motor
vehicles owned by the [*] or spouse or the
number of dealer’s license plates issued to
the [*] changes, the insured shall notify the
company during the policy period of any
change and the premium shall be adjusted in
accordance with the manuals in use by the
company. If the earned premium thus com-
puted exceeds the advance premium paid,
the insured shall pay the excess to the com-
pany; if less, the company shall return to the
insured the unearned portion paid by the
insured.

C. Proof of claim:

(1) As soon as practicable, the
insured or other person making claim shall
give to the company written proof of claim,
under oath if required, including full partic-
ulars of the nature and extent of the injuries,
treatment, and other details entering into the
determination of the amount payable under
the endorsement. The insured and every
other person making a claim under the
endorsement shall submit to examinations
under oath by any person named by the
company and subscribe the same, as often
as may reasonably be required. Proof of
claim shall be made upon forms furnished
by the company unless the company shall
have failed to furnish the forms within 15
days after receiving notice of claim.

(2) The injured person shall sub-
mit to physical examination by physicians
selected by the company when and as often
as the company may reasonably require and
he, or in the event of his incapacity his legal
representative, or in the event of his death
his legal representative or the person or per-
sons entitled to sue on his behalf, shall upon
request from the company execute authori-
zation to enable the company to obtain med-
ical reports and copies of records.

(3) The insured or other person
making claim for damage to property shall
file proof of loss with the company within
sixty days after the occurrence of loss,
unless such time is extended in writing by
the company, in the form of a sworn state-
ment setting forth the interest of the insured
and of all others in the property affected,
any encumbrances thereon, the actual cash
value thereof at time of loss, the amount,
place, time and cause of such loss, and the
description and amounts of all other insur-
ance covering such property. Upon the com-
pany’s request, the insured shall exhibit the
damaged property to the company.

D. Assistance and coop-
eration of the insured: After notice of
claim under this endorsement, the company
may require the insured to take such action
as may be necessary or appropriate to pre-
serve his right to recover damages from any

person or organization alleged to be legally
responsible for the bodily injury or property
damage; and in any action against the com-
pany, the company may require the insured
to join such person or organization as a
party defendant.

E. Notice of legal action:
If, before the company makes payment of
loss under the endorsement, the insured or
his legal representative shall institute any
legal action for bodily injury or property
damage against any person or organization
legally responsible for the use of a motor
vehicle involved in the accident, a copy of
the summons and complaint or other
process served in connection with such
legal action shall be forwarded immediately
to the company by the insured or his legal
representative.

F. Limits of liability:

(1) The company’s limit of bodily
injury liability for all damages, including
damages for care and loss of services, aris-
ing out of bodily injury sustained by one
person in any one accident shall not exceed
the amount specified for unknown
motorist/uninsured motorist coverage as
stated on the declarations page for bodily
injury to one person in any one accident.
Subject to this provision, the company’s
limit of liability for all such damages arising
out of bodily injury sustained by two or
more persons in any one accident shall not
exceed the amount specified for unknown
motorist/uninsured motorist coverage as
stated on the declarations page for bodily
injury to two or more persons in any one
accident.

(2) The company’s limit of prop-
erty damage liability shall not exceed the
amount specified for unknown
motorist/uninsured motorist coverage as
stated on the declarations page for all dam-
ages in excess of $250 arising out of injury
to or destruction of all property of one or
more insureds as the result of any one acci-
dent.

(3) Any amount payable under
this coverage because of bodily injury or
property damage sustained in an accident by
a person who is an insured under this cover-
age shall be reduced by:

(a) all sums paid on account of
such bodily injury or property damage by or
on behalf of the owner or operator of the
uninsured motor vehicle and any other per-
son or organization jointly or severally
liable together with such owner or operator
for such bodily injury or property damage
including all sums paid under bodily injury
liability;

(b) the amount paid and the pres-
ent value of all amounts payable on account
of such bodily injury under any worker’s
compensation law, disability benefits law or
any similar law;
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(c) the amount paid or payable to
such an insured under any policy of proper-
ty insurance.

(4) Any payment made under this
endorsement to or for any insured shall be
applied in reduction of the amount of dam-
ages which he may be entitled to recover
from any person insured under the bodily
injury liability coverage of the policy.

(5) The company shall not be
obligated to pay under this coverage that
part of the damages which the insured may
be entitled to recover from the owner or
operator of an uninsured motor vehicle
which represents expenses for medical serv-
ices paid or payable under the medical pay-
ments coverage of the policy.

G. Other insurance:

(1) With respect to bodily injury
to an insured while occupying a motor vehi-
cle not owned by the [*], the insurance
under this endorsement shall apply only as
excess insurance over any other similar
insurance available to such insured and
applicable to such automobile as primary
insurance, and this insurance shall then
apply only in the amount by which the limit
of liability for this coverage exceeds the
applicable limit of liability of the other
insurance.

(2) Except as provided in
Paragraph (1) of Subsection G of 13.12.3.17
NMAC, if the insured has other similar bod-
ily injury insurance available to him and
applicable to the accident, the damages for
bodily injury shall be deemed not to exceed
the higher of the applicable limits of liabili-
ty of this insurance and such other insur-
ance, and the company shall not be liable
for a greater proportion of any loss to which
this coverage applies than the limit of liabil-
ity under this endorsement bears to the sum
of the applicable limits of liability of this
insurance and the other insurance.

(3) With respect to property dam-
age, the insurance afforded under this
endorsement shall be excess insurance over
any other valid and collectible insurance
against the property damage.

H. Arbitration:

[ Mandatory—arbitration—H

tendent-ofinsuraneer
The insured and the company may agree to
arbitrate any claim or dispute arising under

this endorsement. The arbitration shall

comply with applicable law, including
Sections 66-5-301 through -303 NMSA

1978 regarding uninsured motorist’s insur-
ance and the Uniform Arbitration Act

Sections 44-7A-1 through 44-7A-32 NMSA
1978.

I Trust agreement: In
the event of payment to any person under
this endorsement:

(1) the company shall be entitled
to the extent of the payment to the proceeds
of any settlement or judgment that may
result from the exercise of any rights of
recovery of the person against any person or
organization legally responsible for the bod-
ily injury or property damage because of
which the payment is made;

(2) the person shall hold in trust
for the benefit of the company all rights of
recovery which he shall have against such
other person or organization because of the
damages which are the subject of a claim
made under this endorsement;

(3) the person shall do whatever is
proper to secure and shall do nothing after
loss to prejudice such rights;

(4) if requested in writing by the
company, the person shall take, through any
representative designated by the company,
action as may be necessary or appropriate to
recover the payment as damages from the
other person or organization, the action to
be taken in the name of the person; in the
event of a recovery, the company shall be

reimbursed out of the recovery for expens-
es, costs and attorneys’ fees incurred by it in
connection therewith;

(5) the person shall execute and
deliver to the company instruments and
papers as may be appropriate to secure the
rights and obligations of the person and the
company established by this provision.

J. Payment of loss by the
company: A amount due under this
endorsement is payable: (a) to the insured;
or (b) if the insured be a minor to his parent
or guardian; or (c) if the insured be
deceased to his surviving spouse; otherwise
(d) to a person authorized by law to receive
the payment or to a person legally entitled
to recover the damages which the payment
represents; provided, the company may at
its option pay any amount due under this
endorsement in accordance with division
(d).

K. Action against compa-
ny. No action shall lie against the company
unless, as a condition precedent thereto, the
insured or his legal representative has fully
complied with all the terms of this endorse-
ment.

L. Conformity with state
statutes. Any provision of this endorsement
which on its effective date is in conflict with
the statutes of the state of New Mexico is
hereby amended to conform to the mini-
mum requirements of the statutes.

[7/1/97; 13.12.3.17 NMAC - Rn & A, 13
NMAC 12.3.17, 5/14/04]

NEW MEXICO RETIREE
HEALTH CARE
AUTHORITY

This is an amendment to 2.81.6 NMAC,
Section 8, effective May 14, 2004.

2.81.6.8 REQUIREMENTS
FOR ENROLLMENT IN COVER-
AGES: An eligible retiree, spouse or
dependent shall be enrolled pursuant to
his/her actual status at the time of enroll-
ment or at any time thereafter when a
change in status occurs. A retiree may add
eligible dependents at the time of acquiring
them. A retiree may enroll himself/herself
only, and any eligible dependents, or no eli-
gible dependents. Each such enrollee's sta-
tus must be the same for all lines of cover-
age (i.e. single, two party or family). An eli-
gible spouse or dependent of a retiree may
not be enrolled unless the eligible retiree is
enrolled [previded—hewever—a| , except as
otherwise provided by court order pursuant

to the Mandatory Medical Support Act
(MMSA). A spouse or dependent of a

deceased eligible retiree receiving a sur-
vivor's pension benefit may enroll separate-
ly. Any eligible retiree, spouse or dependent



328

New Mexico Register / Volume XV, Number 9 / May 14, 2004

desiring to enroll for coverages shall meet
the following requirements:

A. Spouse and
Dependent Enrollment/ Medical
Insurability: An eligible retiree, spouse or
dependent may enroll without evidence of
medical insurability only during an estab-
lished open enrollment.

B. Eligible Retiree,
Spouse, Dependent Change in
Status/Enrollment: Where an eligible
retiree, spouse or dependent was receiving
or eligible to receive group health benefit
coverages through a third party and because
of a change in status they lose the coverage
and become ineligible for the coverage the
eligible retiree, spouse or dependent may be
enrolled without evidence of medical insur-
ability if enrolled during an established
open enrollment period. If the loss of cover-
age due to the change in status was not
caused by any neglect or wrong doing by
the eligible retiree, spouse or dependent,
they may enroll at any time so long as they
do so within 31 calendar days of the change
of status. If an eligible retiree is employed
by an employer offering its employees a
basic plan of benefits, the coverage provid-
ed by the NMRHCA plan shall be second-
ary regardless of whether the retiree enrolls
in his employer's plan.

C. Prohibition Against
Duplicate Coverage: An eligible retiree,
spouse or dependent is prohibited from hav-
ing duplicate coverage from the NMRHCA
for any line of coverage. An eligible retiree,
spouse or dependent is also prohibited from
having retiree coverage and dependent cov-
erage at the same time from the NMRHCA
for any line of coverage.

D. More than  One
Eligible Retiree in a Family: Where an
eligible retiree, spouse or dependent are all
three or two of them eligible retirees, either
may enroll into coverage as the eligible
retiree and the other be treated as an eligible
spouse or dependent.

E. Participation
Requirements for Eligible Retiree,
Spouse or Dependent Enrollment: An eli-
gible retiree, spouse or dependent is not per-
mitted to enroll for a particular line of cov-
erage unless the minimum participation
level as determined by the NMRHCA is
met.

F. Switching Coverage:
The eligible retiree, spouse or dependent
shall all select the same line or lines of cov-
erage and shall only be permitted to switch,
add or delete coverages during established
switch enrollment periods.

G. Dropping Coverage:
An eligible retiree, spouse or dependent
(except for dental or vision coverages) may
drop any line of coverage at any time at
their discretion. If they drop a line of cover-

age, they cannot re-enroll except as this rule
permits. Members of the same family shall
not be allowed to carry different lines of
coverage.

H. Dental or
Vision/Dropping Coverage: Once
enrolled in dental or vision coverages an eli-
gible retiree, spouse or dependent may drop
such coverages any time after enrollment.
However, once a NMRHCA participant
drops dental or vision coverage, that indi-
vidual may not reenroll in that line of cov-
erage for four years. The four year waiting
period does not apply to an involuntary loss

of coverage.
L. P r o p e r
Documentation: Proper documentation,

including evidence of medical insurability
where required, must be provided by the eli-
gible retiree, spouse or dependent seeking
coverage within thirty-one days of the
application for coverage. Coverage may be
rejected where adequate proof and docu-
mentation satisfactory to the NMRHCA is
not submitted in a timely manner. In the
event such documentation is not timely sub-
mitted, the coverage shall not be effective
and any contribution paid by the retiree,
spouse or dependent shall be returned with-
out interest.

J. Eligible Spouse
Dependent/Open Enrollment: During an
established period of open enrollment, eligi-
ble spouses and dependents may be enrolled
without evidence of medical insurability. A
new spouse or newborn dependent of an eli-
gible retiree is eligible for coverage from
date of birth or the date of marriage without
providing evidence of medical insurability
if the eligible retiree or spouse submits the
required contribution and proper documen-
tation within 31 calendar days of the birth or
marriage. Newly eligible dependents are
also eligible for coverage from the date that
a court order establishes their dependent
status without providing evidence of med-
ical insurability, if the eligible retiree sub-
mits the required contribution and proper
documentation within 31 calendar days of
the court order. In the event they fail to
enroll within this period of time, they may
not do so without providing evidence of
medical insurability unless they subse-
quently enroll during an established period
of open enrollment. Those persons consid-
ered to be a new eligible spouse or depend-
ent are persons becoming related to the eli-
gible retiree by marriage, a newborn child,
legal guardianship and other similar situa-
tions where the spouse or dependent
becomes a new family member and is oth-
erwise an eligible spouse or dependent
under these rules.

K. Eligible Retiree,
Dependent or Spouse/Same Coverage as
Eligible Retiree: The eligible spouse or

dependent has no greater coverage than the
eligible retiree participant and the eligible
spouse or dependent can maintain coverage
only to the extent that the eligible retiree
participant maintains his/her coverage.

L. Re-enrollment of
Eligible Dependent Student: In those sit-
uations in which the eligible retiree main-
tains dependent coverage on an eligible
dependent child under Section 4.F.3. of the
Act and the child student loses coverage
because the child no longer qualifies as a
full time student and at some later time the
child again becomes a full time student and
the student otherwise qualifies as an eligible
dependent, the child may re-enroll at a time
other than during an established period of
open enrollment as an eligible dependent,
without evidence of medical insurability if
notification and proper documentation is
provided within 31 days of the change in
status.

M. Certificate of
Eligibility: On certification by the execu-
tive director of the public schools insurance
authority, the executive director the public
employees retirement association, the exec-
utive director of the educational retirement
association or the certifying official desig-
nated by board rule of an independent pub-
lic employer or other public entity, eligible
retirees, spouses and dependents will be
permitted to enroll in coverages within 31
days without proof of medical insurability.
Certification shall be on a form approved by
the executive director of the NMRHCA.

N. Retirement
Documentation: Employees contemplat-
ing retirement are responsible for submit-
ting documentation prior to retirement so as
to assure no break in coverage occurs.

0. Prohibition of Split
Coverages: Retirees who have spouses
who are employed by employers who offer
or provide an employer benefits plan may
choose to be covered by the spouses
employers' plan of benefits or the retiree
may choose to be covered by the plan of
benefits offered by the NMRHCA.
Provided, however, the entire family shall
be required to select to be covered under
either the NMRHCA or the spouse employ-
er. Any responsibility for continued cover-
age under the Consolidated Omnibus
Budget Reconciliation Act of 1985
(COBRA) shall be the responsibility of
either the NMRHCA or the spouse employ-
er coverage selected.

P. Coverage After
Marriage Dissolution: Where there is a
dissolution of a marriage by decree which
results in either the former spouse no longer
being eligible for coverage, the spouse shall
be eligible only for such continuation of
coverage as is required by COBRA.
[6-15-98; 2.81.6.8 NMAC - Rn, 2 NMAC
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81.6.8, 12-30-02; A, 05-14-04]

NEW MEXICO RETIREE
HEALTH CARE
AUTHORITY

This is an amendment to 2.81.8 NMAC,
Sections 5, 10, & 11, effective May 14,
2004. This regulation was also renum-
bered and reformatted to comply with
current NMAC requirements.

2.81.8.5 EFFECTIVE DATE:

June 15, 1998, [cess—a—differentdate—s
eited-at—the—end—of-a—paregraph)| unless a

later date is cited at the end of a section.
[12-31-96, 6-15-98; 2.81.8.5 NMAC - Rn &
A, 2 NMAC 81.8.5, 05-14-04]

2.81.8.10 INDEPENDENT
PUBLIC EMPLOYERS PETITIONING
AFTER DECEMBER 31, 1997,
REQUIRED TO MAKE SIX MONTHS
OF APPROPRIATE EMPLOYER/
EMPLOYEE CONTRIBUTIONS
BEFORE ELIGIBLE FOR NMRHCA
PARTICIPATION: An independent pub-
lic employer that chooses to become a par-
ticipating employer after December 31,
1997, shall submit their opt-in ordinance or
opt-in resolution to the NMRHCA board
prior to the board's [enwaet] semi-annual
review meeting. Following acceptance by
the NMRHCA board, the employer shall
begin making employer and employee con-
tributions to the fund in an amount deter-
mined to be appropriate by the NMRHCA
board on the January 1 or July 1, immedi-
ately following the adoption of the ordi-
nance or resolution. On the following
January 1 or July 1, eligible retirees of those
participating employers and their eligible
dependents shall be eligible to receive
group health insurance coverage pursuant to
the provisions of the Retiree Health Care
Act.

[6-5-90, 12-31-96, 6-15-98; 2.81.8.10
NMAC - Rn & A, 2 NMAC 81.8.10, 05-14-
04]

2.81.8.11 NMRHCA BOARD
ANNUAL REVIEW MEETING: [Osee]
Twice a year, at the NMRHCA board's reg-
ularly-scheduled June [meeting] and
December meetings the board will review
the ordinances and resolutions of eligible
employers who are seeking NMRHCA par-
ticipation and accept those employers who
have met the requirements of the Retiree
Health Care Act and the NMRHCA board's
rules and regulations. The board in its dis-
cretion may reschedule [this-meeting] these

meetings.
12-31-96; 2.81.8.11 NMAC - Rn & A, 2

NMAC 81.8.11, 05-14-04]

End of Adopted Rules Section
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Other Material Related to Administrative Law

NEW MEXICO
COMMISSION OF

PUBLIC RECORDS
HISTORICAL RECORDS
ADVISORY BOARD

NOTICE OF REGULAR MEETING

“A regular meeting of the New Mexico
Historical Records Advisory Board has
been scheduled for Friday, May 21, 2004 at
9:00 AM. The meeting will be held at the
New Mexico State Records Center &
Archives, 1205 Camino Carlos Rey, Santa
Fe, New Mexico. If you are an individual
with a disability who is in need of a reader,
amplifier, qualified sign language inter-
preter, or any form of auxiliary aid or serv-
ice to attend or participate in the hearing or
meeting, please contact Darlene Torres at
the State Records Center and Archives at
least one week prior to the meeting, or as
soon as possible. Public documents, includ-
ing the agenda and minutes can be provided
in various accessible formats. Please con-
tact Darlene Torres at the State Records
Center and Archives if a summary or other
type of accessible format is needed.

A copy of the proposed agenda may be
obtained at the State Records Center and
Archives, 1205 Camino Carlos Rey, Santa
Fe, New Mexico 87505.

End of Other Related
Material Section
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