New Mexico Register / Volume XXXIII, Issue 1 / January 11, 2022

This is an amendment to 16.22.25 NMAC, Section 8, and new Section 11 effective 02/10/2022.

16.22.25.8 APPLICATION FOR PRESCRIPTION CERTIFICATE:

A. An applicant for a prescription certificate shall submit a complete application on a form approved by the board. The applicant is responsible to ensure that the application is complete and timely and that all application fees are paid.

B. The application procedure, shall commence no sooner than 60 days and no later than 10 days prior to expiration of the conditional prescription certificate, whereby the applicant shall submit a non-refundable fee (see fee schedule at 16.22.13.8 of these regulations) established by the board and shall submit evidence satisfactory to the board that the applicant:

(1) has been issued a conditional prescription certificate and has successfully completed or anticipates successfully completing two years of prescribing psychotropic medication, as certified by the primary supervising [physician] independently licensed prescribing clinician pursuant to 16.22.24 NMAC of these regulations;

(2) holds an active and unrestricted license to practice psychology in New Mexico;

(3) has malpractice insurance as required in 16.22.24 NMAC, of these regulations; the psychologist shall submit to the board a copy of the declaration page of his malpractice insurance policy with the application.

C. Only a complete application will be considered. The board may request additional information from the applicant to verify or confirm the information in the application. [16.22.25.8 NMAC - Rp, 16.22.25.8 NMAC, 11/15/2006; A, 02/10/2022]

16.22.25.11 APPLICATION FOR CONDITIONAL PRESCRIPTION CERTIFICATE BY

APPLICANTS LICENSED TO PRESCRIBE IN OTHER AREAS: A person who has been licensed or certified as a prescribing psychologist by another state, territorial possession of the United States, District of Columbia, or another country, for a minimum of 2 years, may apply for a conditional prescription certificate and shall meet these requirements:

A. Psychology licensure. Applicant shall hold an active, unrestricted New Mexico license as a psychologist.

B. Psychopharmacology education. The applicant shall demonstrate completion of the required academic coursework to the satisfaction of the board.

C. New Mexico jurisprudence examination. The applicant shall demonstrate evidence of completion of a 3-hour training in New Mexico rules and laws applicable to prescribing psychologists, as offered by the state psychologist association of New Mexico (SPA), or the New Mexico psychological association (NMPA).

D. Additional supervision training. The RxP application committee shall make recommendations to the board concerning additional supervision and training that may be required. The board shall review the committee recommendations and determine the additional supervision and training required of the applicant in order to qualify for a conditional prescription certificate.

E. Supervision plan. The period of conditional supervised practice shall be determined by the board based on the applicant's education, training, and experience and shall not be less than three months or more than two years. The applicant shall submit to the psychopharmacology application committee a supervisory plan as outlined in Subsection H of 16.22.24.10 NMAC, of these regulations. The same requirements set forth in 16.22.24.10 NMAC, shall apply to the supervisory period.

F. Issuance of prescription certificate. The RxP application committee shall recommend to the board issuance of a conditional prescription certificate to the applicant who qualifies in accordance with these regulations. [16.22.25.11 NMAC – N, 02/10/2022]