New Mexico Register / Volume XXXIV, Issue 12 / June 27, 2023

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULEMAKING

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that the New Mexico Higher Education Department (NMHED or Department) will hold a public video/telephonic rulemaking hearing on July 31, 2023. The hearing will begin at 9:30 a.m. and will be held via Microsoft Teams. The purpose of the hearing is to take public comment regarding proposed amendments to **5.7.34 NMAC, TEACHER PREPARATION AFFORDABILITY SCHOLARSHIP PROGRAM.**

Join via Microsoft Teams: https://teams.microsoft.com/l/meetupjoin/19%3ameeting_YWU0ZTk3ZTUtNWQxMy00NDdiLWJIY2MtOGFmMGY1Y2Q5YTNh%40thread.v2/0?con text=%7b%22Tid%22%3a%2204aa6bf4-d436-426f-bfa4-04b7a70e60ff%22%2c%22Oid%22%3a%22c327f958-5970-4536-8f6b-03d48b60d29e%22%7d

Or call in (audio only) +1 (505) 312-4308 Phone Conference ID: 132 646 448#

Purpose:

The purpose of the proposed amendment is to remove language that required half-time enrollment. The change is in alignment with updated eligibility criteria established by S.B.307, 56th Leg., 1st Sess. (N.M. 2023). In addition, the amendment expands eligibility to include licensed teachers who are enrolled or enrolling at an eligible institution in a graduate program in education or a degree related to their teaching specialty. This change is also in alignment with criteria established by S.B.307, 56th Leg., 1st Sess. (N.M. 2023).

Summary of proposed rule:

The amendment to Section 5.7.34.7 NMAC removes the definition of "Half-time". Subsequent definitions are renumbered and references to "Half-time" are removed from 5.7.34.8 NMAC and 5.7.34.11 NMAC. The amendments to 5.7.34.6 and 5.7.34.8 NMAC add language regarding eligibility for licensed teachers. In addition, amendments to 5.7.34.8 reorganize the eligibility requirements. The purpose of the reorganization is to clarify differing requirements for licensed teachers and individuals who have not yet earned appropriate educational credentials to be licensed as a teacher by the New Mexico Public Education Department.

Details for Obtaining a Copy, Public Hearing and Comments: The proposed rule is also posted on the NMHED website and may be accessed at http://www.hed.nm.gov under the "Events" section. To request that a copy of the proposed rule be sent to you by mail or e-mail, please contact HigherEd.Info@hed.nm.gov or (505)476-8411.

A public hearing will be held on July 31, 2023 from 9:30 a.m. until 10:00 a.m. via Microsoft Teams. Any person who is or may be affected by this proposed rule may participate. Interested persons may submit written comments to NMHED at 2044 Galisteo Street, Suite 4, Santa Fe, NM 87505 or HigherEd.Info@hed.nm.gov. Written comments must be received no later than 4:00 p.m. on July 28, 2023. Please note that any written or verbal comments received will become part of the rulemaking record, be posted to the New Mexico Sunshine Portal, and be accessible to the public. If submitting written comments by email, please indicate in the subject line the number and section of each rule(s) for which you are providing comments. Oral comments will also be accepted at the rule hearing, subject to time limitations.

Legal authority for this rulemaking can be found in Section 9-25-1 et seq. NMSA 1978 and Chapter 193, Laws of 2019.

Any person with a disability who is in need of a reader, amplifier, qualified sign language interpreter, or auxiliary aid or service to attend or participate in the hearing should contact (505) 476-8411 or email HigherEd.Info@hed.nm.gov ten (10) business days prior to the hearing.